Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Accelerated Schools

Private | 1-12 | 15 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Denver

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $350,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 13, 2014

Terrible does not fully describe the education (if you could call it that) in which Accelerated Schools of Denver provides.


Posted January 13, 2014

I didn't think my daughter was performing at our local public school, so I took her here. The school is awful, PLEASE DO NOT SEND YOU CHILD TO THIS SCHOOL, it was a waste of 24,000 and has left me in economic ruins.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2013

Accelerated Schools gave me the impression my student would be successful and cared for and for $24,000 per year I thought he would. Come to find out there is no agenda, the students have far too much freedom and earn grades simply for showing up to class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2012

My grandson (9) who lives in Chile was diagnosed ADD last summer but was unable to receive help there. He came to Denver for the month of February and returned a new person. The one-on-one help, the small classes, quality staff and particularly the reward system helped him achieve huge success in such a short time.He knows what he has to do and for the first time, loves school. I would bring him back again if necessary and recommend the school very highly. Kids who need help get it here! They don't slip through the cracks!!


Posted January 1, 2011

My 7 year old was struggling in public school for the beginning of his second grade year. With an Individual Education Plan (IEP) and an Advanced Learning Plan (ALP), he is considered to be Twice Exceptionally Gifted (2E). With some testing we discovered he had Central Auditory Processing challenges. Now 8 years old, he has attended Accelerated Schools for 2 months and is getting what he needs - help for his disability and challenged beyond what he already understands. He is completing 3rd grade studies, 4th grade math and 5th grade reading. With the daily field trips, daily report cards and the allowance system, he is engaged, motivated and is learning accountability. The staff is wonderful and more than willing to accommodate the work and curriculum to suit his needs. I never expected that we would have him attend private school, but we decided that we needed to provide him with a strong foundation, a positive school experience and increased confidence. For the one on one attention he receives, it is worth the investment. I have nothing but wonderful things to say about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2010

Great high school. You can finish it early wtihin 2 or 3 years. Why to waste time.? School does offer daily fun activities to mingle with the peers, but under adult supervision so no crazy staff. School is small, everyone knows each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 62%
Asian 27% N/A
Black 7% 5%
Two or more races 7% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 29%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2160 S Cook St
Denver, CO 80210
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 758-2003

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Denver Academy
Denver, CO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT