Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Colorado International School

Private | PK-2, 4, 6, 8 | 18 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Denver

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $201,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 29, 2013

I agree wholeheartedly with the parent comments dated September 22, 2012. Good concept. Childrens' welfare should be the No, 1 priority. However,there are problems with unfairness, favortism, bullying. Standards are not the same for everyone. No one to go to with concerns. So sad, when our children are so important to us. s
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2012

Our daughter, 3 years old, started at COIS last summer in the Mandarin program. We have had a great experience over the last six months at the school. Her teacher is warm, caring and loving. She can already count to ten in three languages. Learning occurs thru play, singing, interaction and teaching - it has captivated her interest very much and she is very proud of learning another language. Finally, it would not be possible to expose her to languages and cultures without an institution like COIS. As with most things, there are some areas that could improve - however, we are very happy at the school and would highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2012

My daugther is in the middle school program and she finally loves school again ! The school is amazing! The building is not very nice , but if you don't judge a book by its cover , you realize that what is going on inside the school is rare to find. Also she loves to be mixed with smaller kids , the atmosphere is caring and very highly recommeded for people that believe in education !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2012

As a parent, I am beyond disappointed in this school. The administration is absolutely horrible to deal with! Arbitrary decisions are frequently administered, regardless of previous discussions/arrangements. Professionalism at all levels is lacking, as well as nurturing and supporting leadership. Yes, the classes are small, however, prospective parents should question this very carefully. The classes are small because the school is not able to retain their students, especially in languages other in German (please note that this school is the only school in Colorado, to date, that offers German language immersion so these parents/students have no other school options). The' upper' level classes are mixed aged classes because there are not enough students in one particular age group to fill them. For example, you can have a kindergartner and second grader in a class together. Prospective parents should seriously question why there are very few students returning year to year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2012

My song, 4 yers old, just started in the Mandarin program. He LOVES his teacher and within 1 week of his first day, he is singing songs, counting and speaking short phrases in Chinese. His desire to learn has been piqued, and he asks how to say different words in Chinese almost daily! I am so excited to see how his interest to learn other cultures grows in the midst of such a caring environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2012

Colorado International School is a small school with small classes (6-8 children per class at elementary level) where you can get to know other parents easily and where children get individualized attention. This contrasts sharply with the 25-30 students per classroom model of public language immersion schools. COIS is a language immersion school where children do not just learn foreign languages as a separate subject, but also use them as a medium in other subjects such as math, science, history, etc. This means they are actually experiencing multilingual learning. Finally, it is the only school in the entire state of Colorado that offers German language immersion for children in K-8 on a full-time basis. I'm very happy with the education my 2 children are getting in the German program at COIS. In fact, this program is absolutely integral to them maintaining their German, not just in terms of spoken German, but in terms of reading and writing German as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

My children attend CoIS, and I am thrilled with the education that they are receiving. The teachers are fantastic! They work hard to give each child individual attention, giving the students the chance to learn at their own pace. Because of this individual attention, most children there are doing work above their grade level. The kids are exposed to different languages and cultures daily, which is so valuable as everything is becoming so global. Because of the small size of the school, the kids are learning valuable social skills of how to get along with the same people daily. Their class is more like a family than a classroom. The new Head of School is wonderful! Her dedication to the school and her vision for the school's future is exciting!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

There needs to be an accurate review of CoIS on this site. First of all, the teachers are great wonderful, loving and professional. However, the administration is a mess. Our family invested a couple years of our child s life in a school that has gone out of its way to treat us like dirt. One individual in particular, the one who usually shows around new families, has been the primary problem. She runs the school like a dictator creating and abolishing rules at will seemingly set on satisfying some pathological need for power. She is belittling to people and treats parents like naughty children. Bottom line is the school is small because it cannot get its class sizes to grow. The school tries to spin the small classes as a positive, but please don t ignore this red flag. As soon as there s growth, parents get so fed up from disrespectful behavior, they decide to go to a more professional school. In the end, you ll be forcing your child to re-adjust to a new school just to get away from CoIS. Think twice before enrolling here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2012

I am a prospective parent and I enjoyed learning about the school on a tour today. The teachers are all engaged with the small number of children in each class. It does seem like a great place to get individual attention. I am a rather shy and observant person, so I think the fact that I didn't ask many questions may have been off-putting to the person giving the tour. I actually felt somewhat attacked with a rapid stream of questions (ie, why are you here, you didn't ask any questions so I don't know what I can do for you, etc.). Not bad questions, but the manner in which they were asked was quite abrasive and only asked after the other parent left. The other parent on the tour was ready to turn in admissions paperwork and was catered to! I felt really uncomfortable, like I was a waste of their time! I wanted to learn what the school was like, and overall it is something I would consider, but I am weary of the lack of professionalism displayed today by the person giving the tour. This does factor into the my overall impression of the school. It was just one interaction so I will keep that in mind.


Posted November 14, 2011

The teachers are fabulous. The administration is not the easiest with which to work. The parents and teachers have a common goal always. The care and education is apparent from the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

Our son attends CoIS and we are very pleased with the education. He is speaking spanish at home and in the classroom. The teachers are both knowledgeable and educated and provide a warm and safe environment to learn. Language immersion schools are the future in education and CoIS is at the forefront of education in America.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2010

I'm very happy with this school. It's a wonderful environment and I learn a lot by going here. I get individual attention and lots of stuff to work with. I love CoIS and it's teachers!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 19, 2008

My daughter is in her second year at COIS and loves it! Her Spanish is progressing rapidly, she has made many friends and loves her teachers. As a parent, I like the family feeling that the school has.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

Children in language immersion schools test better than children in conventional programs. However, these gains are not recognized within the first three years. In fact, in grades one and two, children in immersion programs usually test lower than children in conventional programs, because of vocabulary issues. However, by grade three they are on par with their peers and by grade five exceed them. Parents who haven't done their homework, sometimes get upset when their first grader comes home with lack luster standardized test scores. This is not because the school does not teach core academics. Rather, it is because the child didn't know how to say parallelagram in English, only in Mandarin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

As another good school year draws to a close, I am happy to report that I am very pleased with this school. The children get incredible attention from the teachers who are very creative and nurturing. Also, I don't know where else in the city the kids could get such strong language skills. I investigated the other programs in town that have language immersion, and found this one to be the clear best choice. Thanks for a great year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2008

As a teacher, I must say that there is no other place like CoIS. My colleagues and I absolutely love the environment! Walking through the hallways, I am proud to be a part of such a multicultural, multilingual, and open-minded organization. I have never received so much support from the parent community as I do here at this school. I wouldn't dream of teaching anywhere else. I represent one of a group of 5 of us that have been with the school since its inception. We re still growing so that's about half our full-time teaching staff! The teachers here are all very special individuals that have made a strong commitment to the school. Our Board of Trustees has provided numerous opportunities for me to receive world-class training from the IB organization as well as important site visitations to other schools. I have the privilege of teaching small classes and bonding with my students in a way I never could in the public system. I encourage anyone interested to please take a closer look at CoIS. You ll be amazed!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 19, 2008

We have enjoyed what the CoIS staff and teachers have brought to our child s development. The curriculum is engaging and fun and this school is also a candidate for International Baccalaureate accreditation. Our child thrives on the positive learning environment. They introduce children to the larger outside world with thoughtful age-appropriate art exhibits, field trips, and enrichment programs that truly prepares them for a global future. The multiple rants of one other parent are devoid of understanding how the school always presents materials in an appropriate context to our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2008

We are unhappy with how the teachers are treated and how the students have few materials. The recent controversial exhibit also strongly disturbed us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2008

The school is comparatively behind in 'core skill' development. They are massively under-funded so cut corners whenever possible. The teachers are unhappy. The Board seems to micromanage the school. They also promoted a controversial exhibit dealing with Iraqi children killed by US soldiers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2008

We are sending our kids to a different school next year that is IB certified; treats students and teachers much better; and which has many more resources for children
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 62%
Two or more races 22% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% N/A
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 29%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:45 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Cielle Amundson
Gender
  • Coed
Fax number
  • (303) 759-5035

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4100 E. Iliff Ave
Denver, CO 80222
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 282-6666

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Denver Academy
Denver, CO





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT