Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
39 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Colorado International School 5

Posted September 17, 2015
- a parent
The administration and teachers at CoIS are brilliant. It's true that some of the parents just can't keep up, or sometimes get their feelings hurt! Fortunately, the children thrive on being held to high standards. What's more, the school is small because the student body is tightly controlled for potential to do well-- My child, for example had the highest gifted and talented score in the Adams 12 school district (that;s 40,000 students) -- these are the best of the best and I'm happy that the administration keeps it this way. The other students are fascinating, talented and yes, some are affluent; but our family is very ordinary. You should know- Higher ED, International Baccalaureate, and Immersion are not just words at CoIS. They are infused (aggressively) into every lesson. When multiple teachers are present, my child speaks to them in French, English and Mandarin without pausing. He is on track to do well on college entrance exams after 8th grade-- in several languages. The school boasts at least 2 students who achieved perfect scores on the ACT and I want my child to be in such good company. CoIS does not do anything halfway: The Austrian Consulate visited the students for the recent Austrian Tea Party-- Yesterday a famous composer took interview questions from the student newspaper--- no one tells you its going to be like this when you sign up-- They just say "We expect alot of you". My child is flourishing and ,..I'm just so grateful. This is a life-changing opportunity.

Colorado International School 4

Posted June 13, 2014
- a parent
I have a very positive comment for this school. With small groups kids are able to get the main thing to me which is "languages" with warm native teachers . I love the fact that there is not bulling at all. A bit concern about administration but we'll,,, there is not such a perfect school.


Colorado International School 5

Posted June 12, 2014
- a parent
COIS is great school . My daugther go to the school , and i cannot describe in words the excellent educations she is receiving. She is in the mandarin program and she loves to go school so much that she did cry for summer holiday.

Colorado International School 1

Posted May 29, 2013
- a parent
I agree wholeheartedly with the parent comments dated September 22, 2012. Good concept. Childrens' welfare should be the No, 1 priority. However,there are problems with unfairness, favortism, bullying. Standards are not the same for everyone. No one to go to with concerns. So sad, when our children are so important to us. s

Colorado International School 5

Posted November 14, 2012
- a parent
Our daughter, 3 years old, started at COIS last summer in the Mandarin program. We have had a great experience over the last six months at the school. Her teacher is warm, caring and loving. She can already count to ten in three languages. Learning occurs thru play, singing, interaction and teaching - it has captivated her interest very much and she is very proud of learning another language. Finally, it would not be possible to expose her to languages and cultures without an institution like COIS. As with most things, there are some areas that could improve - however, we are very happy at the school and would highly recommend it.


Colorado International School 1

Posted September 22, 2012
- a parent
As a parent, I am beyond disappointed in this school. The administration is absolutely horrible to deal with! Arbitrary decisions are frequently administered, regardless of previous discussions/arrangements. Professionalism at all levels is lacking, as well as nurturing and supporting leadership. Yes, the classes are small, however, prospective parents should question this very carefully. The classes are small because the school is not able to retain their students, especially in languages other in German (please note that this school is the only school in Colorado, to date, that offers German language immersion so these parents/students have no other school options). The' upper' level classes are mixed aged classes because there are not enough students in one particular age group to fill them. For example, you can have a kindergartner and second grader in a class together. Prospective parents should seriously question why there are very few students returning year to year.

Colorado International School 5

Posted September 13, 2012
- a parent
My song, 4 yers old, just started in the Mandarin program. He LOVES his teacher and within 1 week of his first day, he is singing songs, counting and speaking short phrases in Chinese. His desire to learn has been piqued, and he asks how to say different words in Chinese almost daily! I am so excited to see how his interest to learn other cultures grows in the midst of such a caring environment.

Colorado International School 5

Posted September 12, 2012
- a parent
Colorado International School is a small school with small classes (6-8 children per class at elementary level) where you can get to know other parents easily and where children get individualized attention. This contrasts sharply with the 25-30 students per classroom model of public language immersion schools. COIS is a language immersion school where children do not just learn foreign languages as a separate subject, but also use them as a medium in other subjects such as math, science, history, etc. This means they are actually experiencing multilingual learning. Finally, it is the only school in the entire state of Colorado that offers German language immersion for children in K-8 on a full-time basis. I'm very happy with the education my 2 children are getting in the German program at COIS. In fact, this program is absolutely integral to them maintaining their German, not just in terms of spoken German, but in terms of reading and writing German as well.


Colorado International School 5

Posted September 05, 2012
- a parent
My children attend CoIS, and I am thrilled with the education that they are receiving. The teachers are fantastic! They work hard to give each child individual attention, giving the students the chance to learn at their own pace. Because of this individual attention, most children there are doing work above their grade level. The kids are exposed to different languages and cultures daily, which is so valuable as everything is becoming so global. Because of the small size of the school, the kids are learning valuable social skills of how to get along with the same people daily. Their class is more like a family than a classroom. The new Head of School is wonderful! Her dedication to the school and her vision for the school's future is exciting!

Colorado International School 1

Posted April 17, 2012
- a parent
There needs to be an accurate review of CoIS on this site. First of all, the teachers are great wonderful, loving and professional. However, the administration is a mess. Our family invested a couple years of our child s life in a school that has gone out of its way to treat us like dirt. One individual in particular, the one who usually shows around new families, has been the primary problem. She runs the school like a dictator creating and abolishing rules at will seemingly set on satisfying some pathological need for power. She is belittling to people and treats parents like naughty children. Bottom line is the school is small because it cannot get its class sizes to grow. The school tries to spin the small classes as a positive, but please don t ignore this red flag. As soon as there s growth, parents get so fed up from disrespectful behavior, they decide to go to a more professional school. In the end, you ll be forcing your child to re-adjust to a new school just to get away from CoIS. Think twice before enrolling here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Colorado International School
4100 East Iliff Avenue, Denver, CO  80222
(303) 282-6666
Last modified Colorado International School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Colorado International School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top