Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Denver School of Science and Technology: Stapleton High School

Charter | 9-12 | 499 students

STEM education and 100% of our graduates acceptance to a 4-year college

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 20, 2014

As a parent, I love this school. I love the way my child is so ecstatic about going to DSST. My kid is a 15 year old in 9th grade and he is always telling me something new everyday. I could say that his grades have improved so much from the past. The teachers are great, understanding, and compassionate. This school does have very high expectations and I can assure you that it will make your child a better person in the future. I can see my boy improving, everyday. Becoming more mature, smarter, and making great decision and he is only 15. I would recommend this school a lot. People make it seem very strict but, it isn't as strict as you think. Yes, there are high expectations such as being respectful, not having your phones out during class, being a responsible student, staying focused, doing homework, etc. but these are all the expectations a GOOD school should have. Many schools advertise that they have those expectations but you cannot see them impacting the child, and at DSST they do. You will not regret going to this school..it's great for the student and parents. Your child will be happy. The learning environment is amazing, everyone is like a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2013

While DSST features a great math and science program, 100% graduation rate, etc., it isn't the school for everyone. I transferred out of the high school. The administrative team in the Stapleton high school has a very negative and nasty attitude, and does their best to scare students rather that helping them. There is very little choice and selection in terms of classes, which is great if you are planning to be a doctor or engineer, but not great if you plan on going down a different career path. There's little to no grade inflation as well, even if freshman/sophomores are in higher math and science classes. I'm not a student who received terrible grades-- I had almost all A's, so the rigor wasn't an issue for me, it was the stressful and negative energy that circulated its environment. The school is completely obsessed with control of their students and it forgets to recognize the in order for teenagers to thrive, you can't hold their hands and make them do community service for chewing gum or wearing the wrong dress shoes. It's not a terrible school, just wasn't the right environment for me or my family.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 19, 2013

My grandchild attends this school. I have heard that this is a great academic school, however the great emphasive on 'physical education classes' in this school are frowned upon by many of the students. Is it necessary to have this in the curriculum? An emphasis on 'Music and Arts and Sciences' might be a better choice than 'physical education.' The students can join recreation groups of their choice in the community they live in. How do other parents/grandparents feel about this ?


Posted November 18, 2013

This fall, I sent my daughter to sixth grade at DSST Stapleton full of apprehension. DSST had a reputation for being rigorous and structured and I was worried that it would school the fun right out of learning. Here is what I have discovered: Yes, it is rigorous. The amount of time spent in the core subjects at DSST is greater than that of other middle schools in my area and yes, my child does have homework. I also discovered that she is learning, thriving, and enjoying her school experience more than ever. I am so impressed with the teachers. They use all the current best practices in education. They develop creative, engaging lessons (like building rockets in science class and paddling down the Nile River in social studies), use data to drive their instruction, differentiate instruction within the classroom, and most importantly, genuinely care about the success of their students. Yes, it is structured. My sixth grader has to be silent in the hallways, be accountable for her homework on a daily basis, and follow the school s rules and core values, but she is LOVING this respectful learning environment where she is valued and challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2012

My son is attending DDST: College View for his 6th grade year this year. My son has previously attended a Core Curriculum charter as well as a Montessori and came to DSST straight from the Montessori. Starting with summer school (that all incoming 6th graders must attend) I saw a different child emerging that loved the environment as well as the staff. The curriculum is challenging but the support is also very high for every child. We couldn't be more pleased to be at DSST: College View. Go Wolves!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2012

Our child is entering the 7th grade at DSST -Stapleton and we could not be more pleased with her development and growth. The rigorous academic program and social expectations were just what she needs. I can see that DSST would not fit every personality, however, I think it would be the rare circumstance where a child would not benefit from this approach. My daughter has thrived and says that she enjoys middle school much more than her elementary school. The teachers have been responsive to us and the administration is dedicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2012

My daughter just finished mandatory summer school for incoming 6th graders. She won t admit it to her friends that did not have summer school, but she repeatedly told me that she really enjoyed it. She was proud of her test improvements during the three week days, she definitely bonded with the teachers and her advisor (somewhat like your camp counselor), and enjoyed learning without the teachers being distracted from disruptive students. We feel very lucky to have gotten into DSST!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2012

DSST is an incredible school, I graduated last year and am glad that I made the choice to attend dsst instead of a less rigorous, larger, neighborhood school. All of the teachers are phenomenal, they really care about all of the students and strive to make personal connections with them. The Denver school of science and technology, as expected, does not have much in the way of art programs. Students that are artistically inclined are celebrated, but it s not a space for them to grow in as an artist. Dsst is renowned for it's ability to take underprivileged underrepresented minority students and make them into true scholars prepared to attend any university in the country (or beyond). My freshman class, for example, has 140 students from 51 middle schools across the metro area. For this reason , most students are required to attend a summer school session in English, math, or both to be prepared for the coming school year. The community is very tight knit, students become proficient with technology, and are ready to take on the world when they graduate. Th school also prides itself on development of character through the schools core values. Finally a place where school is cool.


Posted March 15, 2011

Warning to parents and students. Our daughter is enrolled in DSST, 7th Grade. If you are looking for a rigorous educational experience you've found it. If the emotional development of your young adult is just as valuable, this may not be the school for you. This school does not support adolescent development and has very low tolerance for allowing young ones to express themselves or develop emotionally. The teachers are not well trained on dealing with conflict and do not have the tools necessary to support the growth process of a young adult. There are just some things we are not willing to sacrifice for our child. We are withdrawing her from DSST as the emotional abuse and neglect is not something we'll exchange for the education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

This is the best school in Denver. They challenge children and have manditory tutoring if they are not succeeding in a particular area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

Honestly this school is amazing, should be 5 stars, i am going to get more benefits from it that most public and charter schools because it is both.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2008

I'm a senior who is currently going to DSST. I will be graduating in May 2009. My older sister, who is now attending Drury University in Missouri, was apart of the first graduating class and my younger sister is currently a sophmore. DSST is amazing. I love the sense of community that our school promotes. I feel like I always have help at this school. They aren't all about test scores, but are really into helping the individual so that they can in turn help their school community and the other communities that they are apart of.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2008

Our older son is nearing the end of 9th grade now. We had high hopes for DSST and they have been exceeded in every way. The staff have been very active and successful in handling both his strengths and weaknesses. This school has changed him from a problem student with potential into a highly successful young man with realistic aspirations to some of the best universities in the world. Congratulations to DSST on 100% of its first graduating class accepted in 4 year colleges.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

Very rigourous program tht concentrates on preparing students for the future. It is required to take one trimester of sports per year, and thre are PSAT meetings which I do not know much about. The school cares a lot about community and core values. Teachers are hand picked, so you can be sure they'll be great.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female75%
Male71%
Black (not Hispanic)60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligible59%
Reduced lunch eligible70%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%

Reading

All Students86%
Female90%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligible95%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant86%

Writing

All Students79%
Female83%
Male74%
Black (not Hispanic)68%
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Free lunch eligible69%
Reduced lunch eligible80%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female66%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%

Reading

All Students91%
Female93%
Male90%
Black (not Hispanic)93%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant91%

Science

All Students85%
Female79%
Male91%
Black (not Hispanic)79%
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%

Writing

All Students78%
Female78%
Male78%
Black (not Hispanic)74%
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Free lunch eligible73%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

99%

Average ACT score

25

Graduation rate

80%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 36% 32%
White 32% 56%
Black 23% 5%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A41%
Male 50%N/A51%
Female 50%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Math specialist(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Clubs
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 4:00 am
School Leader's name
  • Jeff Desserich
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Hybrid
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Internships
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Internet access
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Tutor
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

January 31, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
SAT/ACT prep classes
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2000 Valencia St
Denver, CO 80235
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 320-5570

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Venture Prep
Denver, CO


Options School
Aurora, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT