Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Holly Hills Elementary School 1

Posted March 18, 2014
- a parent
This school gave me great hope. Our child's kindergarten teacher was amazing and wonderful and integral to our child's love of learning. Unfortunately, first grade and second grade were terrible, due to the paltry leadership in the school. Our child suffered bullying from students as well as by faculty and staff. More than one teacher referred to our child in derogatory terms in front of others. When confronted with allegations, the principal found it acceptable to scream at us and refused to apologize. On a positive note, the school is very strong with ESL and encourages parental involvement in students' lives, albeit clumsily. They offer regular social activities at low or no cost, which gives for great opportunity to meet others.

Holly Hills Elementary School 4

Posted August 24, 2013
- a parent
I personally think that this school has some lower ratings because of test scores from kids who do not speak english well. My children attend the Hollies and love it! My daughter is an exceptional student who has been placed with other children well above their grade level for her reading group. The class sizes are small so the kids can get individual attention, and I have not met a teacher, staff member or administrator who I did not like.


Holly Hills Elementary School 4

Posted July 15, 2011
- a parent
Very happy with the school. Our child has attended The Hollys since Kindergarten. My personal experience has been that it is a very safe and supportive learning environment, both diverse and inclusive. The teachers, staff, and administrators that I have worked with have all been fantastic. A recent independent assesment rated our child in the upper 90th percentiles nationally in both reading and math.

Holly Hills Elementary School 1

Posted February 11, 2011
- a parent
Our son attended Holly Hills last year for his kindergarten year and I must say we were VERY sorely disappointed. Our son began the year as a very loving and inquisitive child eager to learn and make new friends. By the third month he was bullying, using fowl language and had become VERY disrespectful at home. We were not informed of the bullying until right before the very last parent teacher conference of the year in late March. Needless to say we were outraged. The counselor was unresponsive and rude as were the principal and the vice principal. His teacher was a fantastic help as she tried doing her best to help us with this situation. We have since, obviously, changed schools and we are very slowly beginning to see the real little boy that is our son. I do not recommend this school at all! If you have a choice of schools please, please choose a different one!

Holly Hills Elementary School 2

Posted September 16, 2010
- a parent
If you are looking for a school with strong community involvement this is not the school for you - probably less than 10 percent of the neighborhood attend. The other 90 percent are bused. If you are looking for a large diverse urban school this is the school for you. This is a Title 1 school with strong reading and writing programs due to the the diverse population and ELA population. As a result of this attention to ELA, enrichment, science and the arts are lacking.


Holly Hills Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 07, 2009
- a parent
The diversity and the acceptance.

Holly Hills Elementary School 4

Posted July 09, 2009
- a parent
We love this school, the teachers are all great and the office staff is amazing. The art and science programs are nice and the music programs are great. The only negative is the lack of parent involvement.

Holly Hills Elementary School 5

Posted May 26, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Holly Hills Elementary School 4

Posted December 11, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Holly Hills Elementary School 4

Posted July 17, 2005
- a parent
Diverse population. Excellent neighborhood, community and school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holly Hills Elementary School
6161 East Cornell Ave, Denver, CO  80222
(720) 747-2500
Last modified Holly Hills Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Holly Hills Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews.