Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holly Hills Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
My grandson has attended kindergarten, first grade and is now in the second grade - all at Holly Ridge. I think it is a very good school...with concerned and caring teachers, staff and principal and vice principal. I have had really good communication with and from the teachers for any problems (generally minor) so that they could be dealt with promptly. Also I have had my grandson in the before and after care (and for summer day camp) at the Hawk Nest - right at the school - very reasonable and convenient. Most of all - my grandson loves going to school...that tells it all.

Holly Hills Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
Mr. Gerity the principal and Ms. Bourbonnie the vice principal are the leaders and are doing a terrific job!


Holly Hills Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
I believe each teacher that my grandson has had has really gotten to know him - he strengths and weaknesses in learning new things. This is very important because the teacher then is able to assist when assistance is needed and step back when it isn't necessary.

Holly Hills Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
Just right means - homework every night Mon-Thurs - weekends off. However, we continue to do math, reading, etc. at home even on the weekends.

Holly Hills Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
Yes...I believe part of the education system at The Hollys is to encourage education that is "goal oriented" according to the learning ability of the child.


Holly Hills Elementary School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
Same answer as before. CARE - caring, attitude, responsibility and effort - respectful behavior is included in the character traits encouraged by the teachers and staff.

Holly Hills Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
As indicated in my previous response CARE - caring, attitude, responsibility and effort are the character traits encouraged by the school.

Holly Hills Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
I believe they are aware of behavior issues and encourage (per the acronym CARE) - caring, attitude, responsibility and effort. They have the student and parent sign a compact to that effect.


Holly Hills Elementary School 1

Posted March 18, 2014
- a parent
This school gave me great hope. Our child's kindergarten teacher was amazing and wonderful and integral to our child's love of learning. Unfortunately, first grade and second grade were terrible, due to the paltry leadership in the school. Our child suffered bullying from students as well as by faculty and staff. More than one teacher referred to our child in derogatory terms in front of others. When confronted with allegations, the principal found it acceptable to scream at us and refused to apologize. On a positive note, the school is very strong with ESL and encourages parental involvement in students' lives, albeit clumsily. They offer regular social activities at low or no cost, which gives for great opportunity to meet others.

Holly Hills Elementary School 4

Posted August 24, 2013
- a parent
I personally think that this school has some lower ratings because of test scores from kids who do not speak english well. My children attend the Hollies and love it! My daughter is an exceptional student who has been placed with other children well above their grade level for her reading group. The class sizes are small so the kids can get individual attention, and I have not met a teacher, staff member or administrator who I did not like.

Nearby schools

Holly Hills Elementary School
6161 East Cornell Avenue, Denver, CO  80222
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (720) 747-2500
Last modified Holly Hills Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top