Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

The teachers and administrators at Vanguard Classical School invite you to come see us now! With a new leadership team and a renewed partnership with our Board of Directors, we are poised to have a fantastic school year for 2016-17. Come to a Parent Information Night or schedule a tour today and learn about the exciting changes happening at Vanguard!
July 15, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
42 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 90 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Vanguard Classical School
Develops grit: no rating

Posted July 15, 2016
- a school leader
Classical education is challenging. We develop persistence, grit, and determination by helping students work through difficult concepts, master high level skills, and achieve goals for learning and growth.

Vanguard Classical School
Develops respect: no rating

Posted July 15, 2016
- a school leader
Our teachers and administrators are working hard to develop a positive learning environment for all members of our community. Respect is modeled and taught through every interaction.


Vanguard Classical School
Develops empathy: no rating

Posted July 15, 2016
- a school leader
Vanguard Classical School is creating a fully inclusive learning environment. Our students work together and play together. Our teachers support the development of compassion and empathy in their approach to discipline and minor disagreements, with training and support from administration as needed. We are working hard to build a positive learning environment for all.

Vanguard Classical School
Develops honesty: no rating

Posted July 15, 2016
- a school leader
Our school uses the Core Virtues curriculum to teach and celebrate character development. We teach and redirect behavior using our HAWK Expectations and positive behavior support. The new administrative team is focused on building a positive school culture and training teachers for success, partnering with parents and holding students accountable for inappropriate behaviors.

Vanguard Classical School
no rating

Posted July 15, 2016
- a school leader
The teachers and administrators at Vanguard Classical School invite you to come see us now! With a new leadership team and a renewed partnership with our Board of Directors, we are poised to have a fantastic school year for 2016-17. Come to a Parent Information Night or schedule a tour today and learn about the exciting changes happening at Vanguard!


Vanguard Classical School 5

Posted February 14, 2016
- a community member
The teachers at West go out of their way to help students. My son not only loves school, but he is learning so much!

Vanguard Classical School 5

Posted February 08, 2016
- a community member
We have two daughters at vanguard and one has attended both campuses. I appreciate that the expectations are clear from the first day for the students and parents. Our oldest daughter has been attending since 2013. I have seen both of them excel once they understood and followed the expectations. Most complaints I have heard from other parents have to do more with how rigorous programs of study in math, reading, and science are than bad teachers, Etc. There are no sports offered at the East campus YET. I believe that the school is growing carefully in this Ares as not to over budget. I agree with the model of these schools. I also think they are doing well to prepare my kids for higher education.

Vanguard Classical School 1

Posted January 20, 2016
- a parent
Our daughter attends VG East and we are very unhappy with her school experience there. She now has anxiety about everything related to school, about not having her books or her homework or not being on time every day. She seems really stressed out about any little infraction. And the stories she brings home are very disturbing. They give kids a disciplinary action for needing to use the restroom at any time other than restroom breaks. Our daughter was injured while playing a game of tag on asphalt, she has recess every other day in the school parking lot because there is only one playground and not enough room for everybody to use it, so they rotate days. One day she was pushed down, face first into the asphalt parking lot by another child, she had large abrasions on her forehead and knee that had chunks of asphalt embedded in them. She told us that she screamed really loud until a teacher came out (apparently they are unsupervised on the playground?) and in the meantime another child came up to ask if she was ok, even though it's against the "rules" to ask another child if they are ok! The school nurse sprayed some soapy water into her abrasions and when she cried in pain, she acted coldly, just put a bandaid over her asphalt-embedded wounds and made her take the stairs back down to class because she "didn't have time" to escort her down in the elevator. When she got home 6 hours later we removed the band-aid and had to scrub out the road base from her wounds and we hadn't been notified at all of her injury. We feel this school is teaching the opposite of empathy and good character, it seems very military-like and not caring, it is giving our daughter anxiety over everything, she hasn't been the same since she started school here two years ago.


Vanguard Classical School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted January 20, 2016
- a parent
They actually seem to emphasize NOT being compassionate, not caring and NOT having empathy for others instead.

Vanguard Classical School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted November 22, 2015
- a community member
The teachers have less than 5 yrs experience and do not know how to handle students nor parent interactions.

Nearby schools

Vanguard Classical School
801 Yosemite Street, Denver, CO  80230
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 90 reviews. (303) 338-4111
Last modified Vanguard Classical School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top