Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
47 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 71 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


William (Bill) Roberts K-8 School 5

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
My daughter joined Roberts this year in sixth grade and we have had a very positive experience thus far. Her teachers are exceptional; two of the many at this school that are rated as distinguished by the District. She has had so many opportunities that I feel she would not have experienced at a larger Middle School including developing and leading a tutoring initiative for younger students, having the chance to play basketball, and taking a lead role in the upcoming dinner theatre production. We receive wonderful communication from the Principal, Assistant Principals and our teachers on a weekly basis and we love the community feel of the school. After leaving a parochial school, we were concerned she may not be challenged; that has not been the case at all. We believe that the in-class work combined with the on average one hour of homework each night will prepare her for not only the academic prowess required in high school, but also the personal responsibility and time management aspects. We are very pleased with Roberts.

William (Bill) Roberts K-8 School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
We have had one great teacher after the next! I have been so impressed with the teaching staff at Bill Roberts!


William (Bill) Roberts K-8 School 5

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
From the time my oldest started ECE-3 to the time my youngest finishes 8th grade, I will be a parent at Bill Roberts for 14 years! I cannot imagine a better community for my children and my family. The teachers and staff are dedicated and the education they provide is wonderful. I cannot say enough good things about Bill Roberts.

William (Bill) Roberts K-8 School 5

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
In our seven years at Bill Roberts, we have had nothing short of an exceptional experience! The staff is out of this world incredible and my children are THRIVING. From middle school to ECE, Roberts challenges these children to be the very best they can be...all in the most wonderful, safe, loving environment. The parent community mirrors this excellence and supports these children as they grow. We are grateful for this incredible community of teachers, parents and learners!

William (Bill) Roberts K-8 School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted January 11, 2016
- a parent
Our students were not challenged during class time. Families who have struggled with any of the teachers and principal but stuck it out (because it was easier for that family to stay rather then change all of their kiddos), have probably had to develop some level of grit and determination.


William (Bill) Roberts K-8 School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted January 11, 2016
- a parent
As mentioned earlier, there are some teachers who are effective. Their are others who are just the opposite. You can observe one classroom in a grade and see a print rich environment with a teacher actively engaging the students as they are asked to line up in a creative way. On the same day, in the same hall, you can see a teacher winging her lesson plans for the day with no obvious goal or objective.

William (Bill) Roberts K-8 School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted January 11, 2016
- a parent
This is optional for teachers. It is not consistent throughout each grade. Some teachers start out their year by showing you a video about homework being unnecessary.

William (Bill) Roberts K-8 School 1

Posted January 11, 2016
- a parent
Our experience at this school was not a good one. The principal is very difficult. This is something that is known throughout the community and is something families are expected to learn to live with. There are a few strong teachers peppered throughout the building. Getting one of them is a gamble for most. If you notice at the start of the year, these teachers will have 3-4 more students on their lists and the students/families who get these teachers are in some way connected to school activities or teachers within the school.


William (Bill) Roberts K-8 School 5

Posted October 04, 2014
- a parent
We're in our second year here. Fantastic Teachers and Administration, strong PTA, and community. We're not going anywhere!

William (Bill) Roberts K-8 School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
We are a fifth year Bill Roberts family. I am astounded every year how each teacher is able to use his/her creativity to teach each child differently. The administration gives the teachers all the power and allows them to teach in their own individual way. The parent community is very supportive and my kids are thriving !

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

William (Bill) Roberts K-8 School
2100 North Akron Way, Denver, CO  80238
(720) 424-2640
Last modified William (Bill) Roberts K-8 School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
William (Bill) Roberts K-8 School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 71 reviews. Top