Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Public district
Denver, CO
Students enrolled: 362
 

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Expeditionary Learning School 4

Posted February 23, 2015
- a parent
yes, Chad, the director is ambitious, but that is not necessarily good for the school. In my opinion he has plans to move within DPS, and has little regard for what impact the changes he makes will have on the community at RMSEL. He has, for instance, radically changed the curriculum, so now the school pretty much teaches to the test. There is now homework throughout all grades, technology throughout all grades, so that Kindergarten is very different than it once was. The school is loosing its hands-on aspect of learning. Is it more hands on than most schools? yes. Is it what it once was, say 5 years ago? Absolutely no, and we haven't been there that long. Students spend lots of time taking pre and post assessments (tests) in a manner unheard of just a few years ago. And this has lead to the loss of many a good teacher. Teacher turnover here has been tremendous the past few years as the changes were implemented. Some parents like the changes. They think this is "academic rigor". Some of us recognize this for what it is, teaching to the standardized test and not true learning. Still, this place is better for our children than many schools with rigid desks .for now.
3 people found this helpful

Expeditionary Learning School 5

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
RMSEL has wonderful teachers who are enthusiastic and dedicated to the students. Chad, the principal, is ambitious and focused on academic performance. The students and families support each other and are interested in challenging themselves academically. The expeditionary learning style works well for students who are self motivated.
1 person found this helpful


Expeditionary Learning School 5

Posted February 27, 2012
- a parent
We have two sons in the lower school and they are both thriving. Their teachers are highly dedicated to their students, and always available to the parents. The new director is amazing and accessible, and is pushing RMSEL in a positive new direction while still upholding its unique philosophy. While our sons are doing well academically, it is RMSEL's emphasis on teamwork, character building, and personal growth that we most appreciate. Our children are learning how to be life long learners, and loving the experience. We feel lucky to be a part of the RMSEL community.

Expeditionary Learning School 4

Posted November 25, 2008
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Expeditionary Learning School 3

Posted January 10, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Expeditionary Learning School 3

Posted February 23, 2004
- a parent
Definitely different. Lots of opportunity for doing your own thing. Lots of days off school, to make up for expedition time. A bit weak in academics. Most valuable for self-motivated.
1 person found this helpful

Expeditionary Learning School 5

Posted January 29, 2004
- a parent
This school is definitaly hands on and I think that any one who goes to this school is bound to find an adventure!
1 person found this helpful

Expeditionary Learning School 3

Posted January 12, 2004
- a community member
This is a great school, but only if your child is completely self motivated. Not ideal if your child needs to be supervised and told to do homework. Once you get behind, it's extrememly difficult to catch up.
2 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Expeditionary Learning School
1700 South Holly St, Denver, CO  80222
(303) 759-2076
Last modified Expeditionary Learning School is a Public school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Expeditionary Learning School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top