Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Asbury Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 379 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 3, 2014

What a find! Luckily having 3 schools available to us, we were leaning towards Lincoln. We decided the neighborhood kids made up the difference with test scores very similar with one another. Strong parent support has turned Asbury into a wonderful school. With Platt Park growing by leaps and bounds, this is a local neighborhood school. I'm told on the choice process, siblings may not be able o get in due to the school hitting maximum capacity with neighborhood kids. After school programs, teachers who care, and a gorgeous building makes this a hidden gem. Test scores have soared in recent years. I have one child in first grade and another coming next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2013

This is a GREAT SCHOOL!!!! My son is in Kindergarten and has learned so much! He has an awesome Teacher!!!! Love this school!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2011

After looking at a lot of different schools for our daughter, I am so happy we decided on Asbury! Although it doesn't get as much attention as Cory and Steele etc. - it's a wonderful small school and we couldn't be any happier. It offers fabulous and caring teachers and staff, music, (drama new next year), art, PE, after school Spanish and art classes. And, my daughter loves it there so what more could you ask for?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2011

My child has a disability diagnosed by Nancy Uhlmann she has 3 masters degrees in teaching special education one of which covers dyslexia as her focus. Yet they say he has brain issues not Dyslexia he has seen the doctor and it is not brain damage. They still insist. They have my disabled child writing I AM NOT SATISFIED on his work. Having a DISABLED child write this will destroy his confidence. I called and after short discussion was hung up on me. my wife called and they said they don't have time to discuss things with parents its not their job. My other son was written up for poking someone with a wire they didn't even call me. i found out about this 2 months after it happened when they got around to disciplining him. When asked why 2 months later she told my wife they didn't have time. When asked how he got a wire they said they don't have the time to check the classrooms. last yr my oldest was bullied for over a yr and they didn't even notice when it was right in front of them.THIS IS A SCHOOL WITH NO TIME FOR ME OR MY KIDS...OR EVEN CHECK THE SAFETY OF HIS CLASS. ISN'T THIS THE SCHOOLS JOB? I have had so many problems. My kids will NEVER go there again EVER
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2010

Asbury Elementary has proven to be and excellent school for our 2 children. the teachers are committed to the school and the continues growth of our children. The Asbury community is a very warm and caring group of parents and children. The student population is very diverse which is a great advantage to the children. We love Asbury and would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for the best education for their children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2010

My daughter is thriving at Asbury on every level: scholastically, socially, physically, emotionally, etc. The teachers and staff are dedicated, positive folks who demonstrate their commitment to the school on a daily basis by being such incredible educators and mentors to the kids. My daughter loves her teachers and won't leave for the day without giving hugs and kisses goodbye. And I think that says a lot about *her* great perceptions of the overall culture - more than words could ever convey.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2010

I love Asbury Elementary. The Teachers are all wonderful. I haven't heard one bad thing about anyone of them. The Principal and her open door policy are very welcoming and friendly. My children are afforded some great opportunities here with free instruments and new technology. My oldest is well prepared for Middle school work and responsibility. My children are gifted and the school keeps them challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2010

My kids love school. I think Asbury has a very nurturing environment with excellent teachers. When I am in the hallways, I hear teachers using very positive methods of teaching (no yelling-which was very prevalent at another school where I worked). I feel like the teachers really know my children and care about them personally. The principal has an open door policy and is concerned with getting to know all of the families at Asbury. The PTA is growing and trying to think of ways to increase parent involvement. I think improved networks of communications will help get parents more involved. I don't feel like it is a lack of desire or willingness to be part of their child's education. Asbury is culturally and socioeconomically diverse school that provides a caring learning environment for kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2010

I believe this school is amazing. although last year the only complaint i had was not enough paretns got involved when we needed help. and that was a little disapointing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

We love Asbury! This is a small school with fantastic staff and teachers. Everyone knows not only your students name but your whole family. They are friendly and helpful always. We love our teachers and have enjoyed this year. They have a fantastic ECE program and we were very excited to be able to attend. We have used the CHOICE option to attend here and we are grateful that we can continue to attend such a terrific school that cares about their students and guides them so well. Parent ivolvment is one of the evident reasons this school thrives. A stellar PTA makes families welcome and the school year fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2006

Asbury is an example of a small and excellent DPS elementary. We have PE, music and art and a great library. The principal knows all the students by name, is very involved and informed. We have an active PTA and the staff at the front desk is just the best! The teachers are creative and have challenged both our kids, who are highly advanced readers. We feel so lucky to have such an excellent, caring and academically solid school within walking distance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2004

My son is in the E.C.E.(Early Childhood Education) program at Asbury. I attendend Kindergarten there a million years ago! He showed me how to spell his name today, he is only four. We are out of District, but I will try to 'opt' in for Kindergarten (We are currently in Cherry Creek School District #5). I, and we (My son, husband and daughter) feel comfortable here. My son, who is very serious and reserved is excelling at Asbury!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
39%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female92%
Male76%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Free lunch eligible65%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Reading

All Students84%
Female88%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Free lunch eligible65%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Writing

All Students76%
Female83%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligible59%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female77%
Male79%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch100%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant78%

Reading

All Students76%
Female77%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligible61%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%

Writing

All Students62%
Female59%
Male64%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female93%
Male78%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant87%

Reading

All Students81%
Female90%
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%

Science

All Students54%
Female66%
Male39%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligible36%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities56%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%

Writing

All Students69%
Female90%
Male43%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 57%
Hispanic 31% 32%
Black 7% 5%
Asian 6% 3%
Two or more races 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Jan Box
Fax number
  • (720) 424-9775

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1320 East Asbury Ave
Denver, CO 80210
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 424-9888

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT