Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bromwell Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
I am grateful for all the wonderful teachers in kindergarten and first grade! They all are so helpful and inspiring to the kids. Thank you!

Bromwell Elementary School 5

Posted September 14, 2015
- a parent
The newly renovated building is fabulous. It is bright, with lots of space for small, breakout instruction adjacent to classrooms. With smaller class sizes, and each teacher supported by paraprofessionals as well as intervention and gifted and talented teachers, all students are learning and having their individual needs met. The staff is mostly young, energetic and engaged. All 3 of my children thrive here.


Bromwell Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted September 14, 2015
- a parent
Bromwell has a strong character education program in its Bromwell Eagle Awards. Each month students are selected and honored for demonstrating compassion, honesty, empathy, and other outstanding values.

Bromwell Elementary School 2

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
Ongoing rulership by horrible principal driving out new teachers and those who in the past supported her, seeing that this is no person to run an elementary school. Now after remodeling the school, they didn't have the budget to keep their library open. Its been reduced to books in the hallway. Sad message to the students about the importance of reading and libraries in a democracy.

Bromwell Elementary School 1

Posted March 03, 2015
- a parent
We would NOT recommend this school to our friends and neighbors; there are better public schools nearby. Don t be fooled by the renewed Distinguished rating because this school has major problems. Ten years ago it was a great school with a seasoned, collegial, and skilled teaching staff, a welcoming and friendly community atmosphere, and, most importantly, happy and high achieving kids. Unfortunately, much has changed the past 5 years culminating in a large parent uprising last year during which they expressed their dissatisfaction with the school principal of 5 years who fired 75% of the teachers, programs cancelled, botched funding, and is unprofessionalism on many levels. There are still some good teachers (4th grade especially), however, the current 5th grade class is a total disaster with disinterested teachers who allowed a toxic classroom environment with lots of bullying problems due to their lack of discipline and inadequate leadership from the principal. Several students left 5th grade mid-year because the experience was so bad which prompted DPS to bring in a behavior specialist to try to deal with bullying problems. Better Options - Cory, Steck, or Teller.


Bromwell Elementary School 5

Posted November 25, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school my daughter is learning a lot she is in kinder. Lots of communication between school and parents. My daughter loves it.

Bromwell Elementary School 2

Posted July 26, 2014
- a parent
Bromwell was (and had been for decades) one of the very best public schools in Denver. Over the last five years, the academic scores have declined, unique and enriching programs have been dismantled, and nearly all of the experienced, creative faculty members have left. I would no longer recommend Bromwell to other parents and have decided to transfer my child out of the school.

Bromwell Elementary School 2

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
Under this principal, and DPS's backing, this formerly Distinguished school is now rated average, while the schools it was compared to have retained their high ratings and ten additional schools have attained Distinguished rating! It's not just the rating, many positive traits of this school are gone and the principal is consistently MIA! Numerous parent groups have gone to DPS to address the problems, all have been dismissed, including a majority of the teachers who spoke up last year - 45% of them are now gone! Who's next? There is a disconnect between this principal, the school community and reality. The school is in desperate need of new leadership in conjunction with a new group of parents on oversight committees to rejuvenate this school. If you're interested in this school, meet with the current principal, talk to her, listen to her in a public setting, observe her with students and in the lunch room/hallways, ask students from 3rd thru 5th grades what their impression of their leader is. Then do the same with some of the other leading DPS K5 schools and you ll understand first hand. We hope to see this once great community school returned to its roots and former glory.


Bromwell Elementary School 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
Bromwell Elementary is an excellent school. The teachers, electives and enrichment opportunities are unparalleled. I have only wonderful things to say about my son's experience over the past few years.

Bromwell Elementary School 1

Posted January 16, 2014
- a parent
Having recently put our last child through Bromwell and just heard about this site, we felt it imperative to point out our experience with the school for 14 years. Bromwell was the pride of our community for 20 plus years, a school the community built up along with award winning teachers, programs and an excellent education. Since the current principal took over 4 years ago, this once nationally recognized, award winning, well grounded, 'distinguished' school is no more. Regrettably the school has essentially been dismantled and survives on it's former stature. The school lost 40% of its staff last year and had a turnover of 85% in 4 years, yet DPS and a small, tight knit group of parents stand behind the decimation. Having seen all four of our children go through Bromwell, the difference between our youngest child having recently gone through the school is in stark contrast to the first 3. Fifth grade was a throw away year and we can only hope remaining talented teachers don't leave. It is our hope that newer parents are made aware of the problems of non transparency and autocratic leadership in concert with a handful of parents so that they can restore our cherished Bromwell!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bromwell Elementary School
2500 East 4th Avenue, Denver, CO  80206
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. (720) 424-9330
Last modified Bromwell Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top