Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brown Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2009

My daughter is in kindergarten @ Brown and I am so impressed by her teacher, Mr Tosston, as well as the faculty and school itself. The international awarness they promote in addition to the regular academics is what I was looking for in a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

I love this school My Grand daughters attend Brown and they have the best teachers in Town!!! Kindergarten and 1st grade the Lucero girls
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2008

I have 2 students at Brown.I love the teachers and staff. They are very helpful and never have a problem answering all my questions. My children are attending Brown with the school of choice program and I think it was the best choice I have ever made sending them to Brown.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

It is a relief to be done with this school. for 10 years my kids excelled at Brown. They had top scores and participated in amazing activites. They have both been accepted at top rated magnet schools. My daughter is featured on the web site, yet the actives she the school brags about took place before the regime change. It is sad that people take so much pride and joy in having participated in the redesign process that hurt so many kids. As for Brown you can have it, my family is on to better things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2007

This is a redesigned school, meaning the curriculum and the staff are new as of the 05-06 school year. In the past 2 years, there are many new and exciting things happening. As educated parents we have choices. Choose a school that fits with what you want for your children. This school IS what I want for my children; caring staff, commitment to excellence and continued growth, a challenging global curriculum, and positive momentum. If you want to be a part of shaping your child's education and experiences in an up and coming school, this is it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2007

If all it takes is a few after school programs (which are not even close to the quality that has been offered in previous years), a single spike in test scores and a garden to make you happy then Brown is the school for you! If you have a smart kid and you want him or her challenged go somewhere else! We used to have a full time challenge program, this year it is one afternoon a week. The IB curriculum used to be taught by a teacher with 20 years of experience teaching IB at one of the best programs in the state. We had one of the best DI/GT teachers in the district.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 15, 2007

My son attends Brown and I am thrilled. The leadership is strong and there is a clear vision and purpose to what is going on in the school and the classroom. The IB program and the units the students are beginning to engage in are rich and really challenge my son to go beyond the basics and allow him to work at his own level. The before and after school offerings are diverse. Engineering Club in elementary school is a great opportunity. The parent involvement is increasing and has great potential as the school continues to grow and more and more people choice in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2007

HI I am a parent whose been at this school with children for many years. This school used to be so friendly and open for parents and students however the comfort level for this school has dropped down a considerable amount I find both principals to be rude and not caring. As for the level of learning it has dropped the teachers are constantly out of the building for training Subs are left to teach and extra curricular programs that were held to such a high standards in the past are no longer important or thrown together like slop. Brown is no longer a nice place to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2007

We have two children at Brown and are enthusiastic about the school, administration and teachers. Since the transition from a traditional to IB program two years ago academic performance at the school has shown 'significant improvement' according to state measures, and the primary focus has been on academics. As we continue to improve, I look forward to seeing more opportunities to involve parents and create a supportive community for families at the school. I'm especially excited about the establishment of a community garden at the school, which I see as an opportunity to create a living laboratory for our kids and a community resource for families. We highly value the diverse multi-cultural student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2007

We have been very happy with our first year at Brown International Elementary! We have loved the teacher and the Principal and Vice Principal are amazing. I can't forget to mention the school nurse who has such an incredible passion for the school and for children in general. I am glad my child is learning some Spanish and the after school program is such an added benefit to the school. Parental involvement is coming along, but will only improve as time goes on and as the IB implementation process continues. I am very pleased with the spaciousness and environment in the art, music and Spanish rooms as well. Overall, we have been very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2007

The increasing level of parent involvement and the leadership of the administration and staff make this school a great choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2007

This used to be a good school. My kids were involved in Destination Imagination, We the People, Shakespeare and more. Since the teachers and principal were fired the school has gone down. In fifth grade my son was taking part in mock congressional debates, this year the fifth graders are learning the Electric Slide. In third grade my daughter participated in a play that traced the history of Denver from the Dinosours to modern day. This year they stand on stage and mouth the words to a sing along tape. Formula writing has replaced having books published by the Colorado Indpendent Book Publishers Association and winning state and local writing competitions. Many of the teachers are great, but they do not have the freedom to really challenge the kids, everything is about CSAP. Also this is supposed to be an IB school, my daughter go 9 weeks of foreign Language.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2006

This is a good school with good academics and the teachers do care.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
35%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female75%
Male74%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Free lunch eligible42%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%

Reading

All Students74%
Female81%
Male69%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Free lunch eligible42%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%

Writing

All Students60%
Female64%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic22%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligible26%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female75%
Male65%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligible54%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%

Reading

All Students59%
Female70%
Male48%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligible46%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%

Writing

All Students51%
Female70%
Male33%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligible39%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English54%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female62%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligible45%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English67%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant65%

Reading

All Students79%
Female85%
Male71%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch100%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%

Science

All Students50%
Female44%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligible26%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities55%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English54%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant50%

Writing

All Students68%
Female74%
Male61%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 45% 32%
White 42% 56%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 1%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Suzanne Loughran
Fax number
  • (720) 424-9275

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
  • Standards-based
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2550 Lowell Blvd
Denver, CO 80211
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 424-1611

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT