Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Denver Green School

Public | PK-7

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 25, 2014

Denver Green School is a great school! My son first came to the school last year for fifth grade. He has struggled with conventional learning since kindergarten. I believe it was a combination of his great teachers, parent communication and a more modernized style of learning, but my son did amazing. For the first time since starting school, he loves his school, has great friends and a real sense of community! The school year just started again and I'm happy to have both of my children attending DGS now. GO DRAGONS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2014

This school is awful. My child is bullied and gets in trouble for it, the principal only comes around to judge you even though she's never met you or been around before then, and the punishment for children is pretty much non existent. I guess to be fair we just came from New York which has a better school system/education by far but I can't wait to try and get him out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2014

We were lucky enough to be able to choice in to this wonderful school! We have nothing but the highest and praise and the most sincere gratitude. The school community truly involves, challenges and cares for our child in a thoughtful, kind and meaningful way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2013

my first grade son is been bullied by his teacher she is verbally abusive we had have a very difficult year a specially after talking to the principal about the issues than thinks has become worst. I hope other parents don't go through what I experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2013

I am a student at DGS and by far I hate it! I am in 6th grade and my teachers are the worst! I mainly have 3 teachers depending on that specific day. there is Mrs. ****** which is probably the worst. She sometimes gives refocus to the kids that actually do their homework! Second is Mr. ******, he isn't that bad but as the school year passes by he starts getting even more strict. Mr. ********* is the third and I have got to say he needs to keep his hands to himself! He grabs kids from the shoulders and pushes them so that he can get their attention. I think they need better teachers for the 6th grade. for 7th and 8th grade, I think the teachers a very nice. I am making this review mainly for those 5th graders that are heading the 6th grade! I am saying this from experience so I do not recommend this school for your child, especially if he/she is in 6th grade.


Posted May 3, 2013

We don't bring this criticism lightly. We admire aspects of this school & the teachers. Our child loves his teachers & they encourage him to incorporate his specific skill set into his learning as often as possible. You can pay 250$ a week over summer to come work a portion of the garden. We can't afford it. Bummer because we live in an apartment, but here is our biggest issue: American history, basic economics & foreign languages are not taught. We find this to be an ongoing & troubling issue. Their priorities are kind of out of whack: Last Fall, funds raised for patio stones @ 50$ ea. could have been used to buy books for the Literature teacher who didn't have enough for her students. We don't feel our child is being prepared for the rigors of high school academia. Not laying this entirely at the feet of his current school, but important pieces are missing there & resolution seems to come slowly if at all. We feel our son @ times is a proverbial guinea pig immersed in an experimental education, the results of which are questionable & may only be revealed long after he's departed DGS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2013

THIS SCHOOL IS HANDS DOWN - THE BEST THAT DPS HAS TO OFFER!!! My son opted out of Hill to go to DGS and it's a good thing he did. He is doing so well that he doesn't even have to take HS algebra next year. The teachers are amazing and there is none of the dreaded "middle school drama" going on. Cannot recommend it enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2012

This school is awesome. My daughter is in 3rd grade, her teachers are great, supportive and very attentive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2012

I must say this school is by far one of the best in SE Denver. My daughter began kindergarten with Ms. Pattishaw and has excelled all school year. She is now reading at the 3rd grade level and is advanced in over half of her course work The teachers are extremely involved, kids are great and the concept is unique. She especially enjoys the ski club, demonstration nights and family events. Three cheers for Denver Green School... Hip Hip Hooray!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2012

The best school in DPS, I am convinced. Both my son and daughter attend DGS, and have since it opened last year, and we have been continually impressed by both the teaching staff and the parenting community. I am very comfortable leaving my children here every morning, I know that they are in great hands. My daughter attended another DPS school prior to coming to DGS, and the difference is amazing. Both my children are excited to go to school. Another perk is the farm attached to the school, what a fantastic thing to have the kids know and see where food comes from! DGS fosters and really cares about the community around it, and the community of the families and students, and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2012

While searching for a middle school, we discovered Denver Green School. After talking to the Partners that started and run the school, we not only sent our middle school aged child, but our elementary school age child as well. We live in district at a top rated DPS school, but choiced both of our children to attend DGS. They are both in their second year at DGS and our family couldn't be happier. What stands out at DGS are the amazing teachers and staff. We are so impressed with how much our children are learning and thriving. It's also telling when your children never want to miss school. The sustainability focus and hands on learning keep the kids engaged and enables them to work together and individually when appropriate. I'm impressed with how well the teachers can handle students at different levels yet keep them all engaged and focused. I volunteer for the school and am constantly amazed with what is being accomplished. Keep in mind we only have one year of test scores and just one class that tested - I'm confident we'll improve in this area as more accurate data is available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2011

DGS has changed our family s life! Although that may seem a little dramatic, it is absolutely the case on so many levels. After attending a top ranked DPS school for K-1, we found our daughter misunderstood, defeated and uninterested in school. To be so young and have feelings of extreme diminished self-worth created by her academic performance, left us feeling scared, confused, angry and helpless as parents. No one ever wants to hear, I m stupid and dumb from your five year old child repeatedly. Enter DGS! The reasons why we chose DGS pale in comparison to the actual actions, love, care, dedication and commitment to our child. I could go on for days about the daily activities that have transformed our little one into someone who actually loves school and is loving herself. I am in awe of the Lead Partners and the group of amazing teachers that fill the halls of DGS. As parents, we are not alone, finally, in our advocacy for our daughter. Our daughter is getting an amazing education, becoming a well-rounded lifelong learner and now speaks to us about her importance within her community at DGS. Wow! Thanks DGS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2011

You can tell just by walking in the door of a school whether it gives off a good vibe or not. Walking in the door of Denver Green School, you can tell that it is a great place to be. This is my daughter's second year here, she started in kindergarten when the school opened last year. I am consistently amazed by the enthusiastic, caring teachers and administration, and their passion not only for the green school concept, but for the overall wellbeing of the students. I have found the parent community to be involved and interested in the school's success. No school is perfect. This is a neighborhood school in a neighborhood that used to be mainly older people but is seeing an influx of families. It has also become popular with parents seeking to choice in. The result of this is, as another poster mentioned, growing pains. However, the school remedied the problem of class size in the first grade classes, and there is now an assistant. While unfortunate, the delay in getting the assistant had nothing to do with fundraising being used for a garden, but was a result of internal DPS hiring processes. DGS shouldn't be faulted for that, especially given its other great qualities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2011

The Denver Green School (DGS) is a wonderful school. And I mean that in the sense that it is a place full of wonder. My daughter was in the school's very very first Kindergarten class last year and is now enjoying a very rich and rewarding First grade class. The curriculum is based on educating for sustainability. Learning takes place in the context of understanding ones place as a member of a community-How we treat ourselves, our friends and our planet. Our family could not be happier with this school. The entire faculty and staff- from the teachers to administrators to the office, maintenance and lunch staff ALL consistently exhibit the utmost level of professional excellence. As we are only in our second year, perhaps the test scores mentioned here are not as high as they should be. Yet, if you could see the quality and feel the enthusiasm of the learning happening there you would see why I am confident DGS will soon have a national reputation for academic excellence and student excitement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2011

This school is only in its second year and it is having growing pains. I love the concept of the school. They are the only school in Colorado at this time that grows food for its cafeteria. I just wish they would have raised over $10K for teacher assistants rather than the garden. My child's first grade has 29 enrolled students and one lone teacher. Unfortunately we only have a couple of parent volunteers for the classroom as well. We are definitely looking for another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female77%
Male79%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%

Reading

All Students76%
Female73%
Male80%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligible63%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant78%

Writing

All Students43%
Female42%
Male44%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)41%
Free lunch eligible38%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English46%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female72%
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligible62%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)59%
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%

Reading

All Students58%
Female59%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligible42%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)41%
Proficient in English66%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%

Writing

All Students55%
Female59%
Male48%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligible35%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)35%
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Female42%
Male63%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible36%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities54%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English56%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant50%

Reading

All Students61%
Female67%
Male50%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant63%

Writing

All Students59%
Female64%
Male50%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible44%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students34%
Female26%
Male41%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible25%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch41%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities37%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English41%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant35%

Reading

All Students54%
Female58%
Male50%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible40%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant55%

Writing

All Students46%
Female58%
Male36%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible30%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities49%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English56%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 40% 56%
Hispanic 29% 32%
Black 22% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Environmental
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Volleyball

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6700 East Virginia Ave
Denver, CO 80224
Phone: (303) 549-4525

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Hillel Academy
Denver, CO






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT