Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cory Elementary School 1

Posted June 13, 2014
- a parent
My child was bullied mercilessly and the child who bullied him was given a very public award for basically adhering to the golden rule. What a joke and slap in the face at the same time. The principal is incompetent and throws out a lot of jargon to cover up her biases. We went to the school because of its rating and even though my child is gifted, we couldn't run away fast enough.

Cory Elementary School 2

Posted January 27, 2014
- a parent
Cory has gone downhill over the past two years. Part of it is due to the lack of funding for para professionals in the classroom by DPS and partly because the focus has become bridging the gap rather than helping all grow. A lot of the GT kids leave by 4th grade because they need to be challenged. The teachers are generally wonderful educators but it's difficult with about 30 kids in a classroom. The principal is inexperienced and it shows.


Cory Elementary School 5

Posted January 24, 2014
- a community member
Cory is an awesome school. I'm in 5th grade and have had an amazing time there since I arrived in the 1st grade. The staff members are great and I love my teacher and class, they are the best! I wake up every morning not being able to wait to go to school. I have such a fun time there while knowing that i'm learning a lot too. I could never recommend a better elementary school.

Cory Elementary School 1

Posted January 22, 2014
- a parent
We had a horrible experience at Cory. We moved there for the HGT program, and found it to be non-existent. The HGT coordinator never returned a single call or email, and I never saw her in person, despite countless attempts. And I also never saw my child's Advanced Learning Plan, and I'm certain it was not delivered in the classroom. On top of the imaginary HGT program they tout, the principal is not someone who should be allowed to work with children, and her group think tendencies start at the top and bleed down throughout the staff in the school. I genuinely could not wait to get my kid out of this school. If you want your child to thrive in a learning environment that nurtures them and helps them thrive in every area, run as far away as possible from this school.

Cory Elementary School 5

Posted May 30, 2013
- a parent
I've had children at Cory for four years now and our experience has been outstanding. It is a wonderful community and the staff there (teachers and paras) are great. They certainly emphasize/focus on academics, while also considering the whole child. Could not be happier.


Cory Elementary School 1

Posted March 18, 2013
- a parent
Large class sizes, but that's par fot he course with DPS. Some teachers are good, others not so much. It's a crap shoot. Would reccomend keeping a close eye on every step of your kids education at this school.

Cory Elementary School 1

Posted January 16, 2013
- a parent
There's a lot of good parent involvement. But it's still DPS, so you can expect large class sizes and spotty teacher performance. One of my boys excelled here, but the other slipped through the cracks with reading and I'm pretty sure the teacher was more concerned about her upcoming retirement to care.

Cory Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
I have had two children complete Cory with two different principals. I couldn't recommend Cory any more highly. The teachers, principals and staff are all extremely child-oriented and the education they provide is excellent. My daughter has special needs as well as being highly gifted and the school accommodated her very well, allowing her to be very successful. My son graduates from Cory tomorrow night and he is very well prepared to go on to a challenging middle school program.


Cory Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a community member
Cory has great, dedicated teachers and a very active parent body that supports all kids.

Cory Elementary School 5

Posted May 24, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cory Elementary School
1550 South Steele St, Denver, CO  80210
(720) 424-8380
Last modified Cory Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 1-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cory Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews.