Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

George Washington High School

Public | 9-12 | 1606 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 20, 2014

As a student at GW, particularly in the IB program, I believe the school is great. There are many claims that it is "two schools in one," yet there are going to be different programs in any school, and are not unique to GW. If students are feeling that they are completely segregated by program, it is their own fault. I am great friends with people in and out of the IB program, showing that it does not limit students' ability to co-mingle. Although some students in the IB program are seemingly pretentious and uptight, they make up a minuscule percent of the population. There was a period of time where the school had a transitional principle who was trying to assimilate the school in a disastrous way, but the current administration is doing an excellent job at breaking down the barriers between the programs. Overall, the learning atmosphere is embracing and allows students to thrive, giving the best possible results. The school is great and has many bad rumors giving it a bad rep, but as a student, I can discount them by saying it is a great school with a nurturing environment full of assimilation. Hope this Helps!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 23, 2014

My daughter is a hard working freshman in the IB program. This is a good fit for her. She has met wonderful students that share a common interest in academics, sports and speech and debate. Her friends are ethnically diverse. My daughter and her friends appears to be thriving here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

This school is two schools in one after having two of my children shadow. They were not impressed by the outside/inside appearance of the school. Nor were they impressed by the lack of welcoming vibe that the school lacks as a community. George Washington unfortunately is our home school but we will choice into another high school that is more welcoming to everyone. This school lacks character development and has two different schools because of its IB program that segregates the students. Both of my kids would be in the IB program and don't want to be segregated by the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

Unfortunately, it really is two schools. I have two children currently attending, one in IB the other in traditional but doing AP/honors courses. The IB program is good academically but according to the IB child, most students are almost actively demeaning/dismissive of traditional students. On occasions when parents of the IB students are together, many of the parents, too, have the same demeaning/dismissive attitude. I think many other IB parents were hoping for a well balanced progressive education experience that the students could benefit from a diverse environment...I truly think that, as it is now, you might be doing the opposite. In addition, the traditional school AP and Honors courses are *not* up to par relative to other DPS high schools....a real problem, for obvious reasons. In all, the school is dysfunctional and the traditional program is likely below average for the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2012

The school is currently being badly hurt by an inexperienced, unpredictable principal who lacks vision and leadership. I hope DPS can finally find someone with the skills needed to successfully inspire and delveop all aspects of the school's students, programs and personnel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2011

I'm not sure why a parent has to diss on a student's opinion and call it a shame and wonder why s/he is bitter, but as a student in the IB program, i can say that the student saying that many, *not all* of the IB students being pretentious is absolutely correct. I have claimed heard quite a few conversations from my classmates talking about how dumb tradition kids are, how they don't work as hard as them, and other derogatory things. Having a brother and many good friends in the traditional program, this hit close to home. I feel like many of the problems dealing with the school happens to be the segregation between both programs and it needs to be dealt with before they lose a majority of their students to other schools. Also, many of the teachers here, especially in the traditional program from what i have heard, are extremely unsatisfactory, especially in the core subjects like science, math, and english. They need to get their teachers checked out in both programs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 6, 2011

I'm not sure why the previous poster is so bitter. It's a shame. So many GW students have much more positive and balanced experiences. Students who get involved in extracurricular activities have a much easier time forming more diverse friendships than do those who stick to their program or middle-school comfort zones. GW has been a great academic AND social experience for my two kids, who have gone on to excellent, non-Ivy-League colleges. They have no regrets about having worked hard in high school, as they were completely ready to take advantage of everything college offered them. IB is not a good match for everyone - that's true. But it offers top-notch college prep to students who might not otherwise have access to it, and there are an awful lot of proud and successful alumni.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

George Washington in an amazing school that presents many opportunities unavailable in most high schools. GW have an amazing academic program with both IB and AP classes as well as 5A athletics. Another great aspect of George is the multitude of clubs and extracurricular activities. The Speech and Debate team recently sent 13 people to nationals and won an award that only 17 of the over 350 schools won. Furthermore, a team recently won first place at the Tournament of Champions, one of the hardest competitions of the year. in addition, there are many clubs aimed at diversity such as Asian Culture Club and IB Black Organization. In refutation of the division between the traditional and IB programs, i must point out that often the clubs are very diverse, and one easily makes friends in different programs. The teachers are very informed, with some, like Dr. More, who stopped teaching college classes in order to teacher chemistry at GW. Overall, George Washington presents a diverse group of students that have many opportunities and are prepared for college when they leave.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2010

GWHS is really two very different schools. The IB Program can be an incredible opportunity for the right student. My first child went through the program and is doing very well in college. If, however, your child doesn't fit the IB box perfectly, it can be a nightmare. There is little tolerance for different learning styles. The IB Program is run very distinctly from the traditional programs and is rather autonomous. Also, while the school is overall diverse, it is a very segregated school. The IB Program is extremely white and the rest of the school is very minority. The two groups rarely interact. The school needs a strong principal who can unite the two programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

This school is very diverse and the teachers actually help the kids out step by step my son is an I.B. student he has accomplished many things i give it a 8 out of 10 just because of the phyical attributes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2008

I brought my brother from out of state and he was embraced by the entire staff and students as soon as he walked in his first day. He was made part of their Latino Association and participates on different fund raisers as well as community service. He has been involved in Basketball and when he was injured the coach from the football team also worked with him on physical therapy even when he played basketball. The school has many resources as long as parents participate. Their counselors are very involved with the kids and do their best to help them out with any concerns not only inside the school but also outside. I'm glad he is attending GW.


Posted February 25, 2008

My daughter graduated from George Washington IB program in 2007. Now she is doing very well at a highly selective college. The academic program at GWIB is outstanding. The quality of the education available rivals the private high schools. The only reason I gave it 4 stars in stead of 5 is that the music and art programs are weaker than the academic programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

The International Baccaleaureate program at this school is nothing short of phenomenal! I have never felt as though I have such an advantage over my friends in different schools as I do now. The only reason I give this school four stars is because I wouldn't recommend you sending your child to this school in any other program. The IB, on the other hand, is the best education available. Upon graduating, I will be able to skip one year of college because the IB is so intense and just wonderful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 11, 2008

Wonderful, just wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2007

After many years of teaching physical education and health I have never met a more effective department head/teacher that is as effictive as Mr. Finesilver! He has a great respect for for both staff and students. His weight class is barr non the most effective traing I have seen in any school setting!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 24, 2007

I am awaiting the outcome of the principal's decision as to why GW IB program limits its Juniors and Seniors to classes that have limited enrollment despite the popularity of the class. It is ridiculous that your student's success in the IB program (after working so hard for 2 years prior) should depend on if their lucky number is drawn from a hat. Parents need to really research what the program offers in terms of classes for Junior and Senior year. Your child will be dissappointed unless they do well with the sciences. I never would have enrolled my student there had I known this. The head of the IB is not any help. Do the research
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2007

My child is enrolled in the IB programa and a lot has changed since the last reviews 3 yrs ago! The IB program is not well run and the lack of teachers is appalling. The books that are required to be read range fromvery good to nearly useless. Homework seems to be assigned more to keep the students very busy at night more than learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

This school and specifically Ms. Thomas saved my child. When the private schools said my child was not working to potential this school took on my challenged child and now my child is at CSU earning a 4.0.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

I think that the school is excellent academicly.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 5, 2005

GW is a great school that saved my child. The teachers buily relationships with him and he succeeded. I am thankful that the administration cared as well as the teachers. I was impressed by the interventions available from GW and the Advanced Placement choices. GW had more Advanced placement classes than the two closet schools and the scores of the children were great.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

397 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

399 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

399 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

299 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
48%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students37%
Female40%
Male32%
Black (not Hispanic)11%
Asian62%
Hispanic19%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Free lunch eligible9%
Reduced lunch eligible29%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities41%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)3%
Proficient in English41%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant37%

Reading

All Students60%
Female63%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)39%
Asian91%
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligible38%
Reduced lunch eligible75%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)13%
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%

Writing

All Students47%
Female54%
Male39%
Black (not Hispanic)26%
Asian71%
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligible22%
Reduced lunch eligible46%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities52%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)3%
Proficient in English52%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students40%
Female38%
Male43%
Black (not Hispanic)15%
Asian72%
Hispanic29%
Multiracial50%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligible18%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities43%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)4%
Proficient in English44%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant40%

Reading

All Students72%
Female76%
Male66%
Black (not Hispanic)57%
Asian83%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial78%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Free lunch eligible56%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)8%
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%

Science

All Students48%
Female53%
Male43%
Black (not Hispanic)26%
Asian67%
Hispanic39%
Multiracial61%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligible25%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities52%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)4%
Proficient in English54%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant48%

Writing

All Students54%
Female60%
Male46%
Black (not Hispanic)29%
Asian72%
Hispanic43%
Multiracial67%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligible30%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)4%
Proficient in English58%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

94%

Average ACT score

21

Graduation rate

85%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 39% 5%
Hispanic 27% 32%
White 24% 57%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Math specialist(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mario Williams
Fax number
  • (720) 423-8614

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
  • Standards-based
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Business management

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • College/career center
  • Gymnasium
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • JROTC
  • Student council/government
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

655 South Monaco Parkway
Denver, CO 80224
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 423-8600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Denver Academy
Denver, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT