Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 43 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


George Washington High School 5

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
My 9th grade son is thriving academically, athletically and socially at GW. There is a wide array of extracurricular activities from which to choose. The Speech and Debate program, offered as a class, is phenomenal. The coaches of the sports in which he has been involved have a solid understanding of their sport while also focusing on respect and sportsmanship. He has been challenged academically and has found the homework load to be very manageable. The transition to GWHS has been very smooth.

George Washington High School 3

Posted March 29, 2015
- a community member
I went to this school my 9th grade year (2 years ago) and the teachers are absolutely amazing and great with teaching. But some of the students are absolutely horrible. I don't believe in "this school is two schools in one" because I had friends that were in IB and they were some of the nicest people ever. I also had friends in traditional and they were super nice as well. This is honestly a good school but they need to control the students better.


George Washington High School 2

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
I am also unimpressed by the current principal. But I blame DPS Superintendent Tom Boasberg and his rubber-stamp school board for the destructive changes at GW. This is "school reform" politics, pure and simple.

George Washington High School 2

Posted May 13, 2014
- a parent
I agree with last post. Administration 1 star and IB program 5 star. Yes, there is a clear division between IB and traditional, but I believe the biggest rift is caused by the lack of rules. It is no wonder students are leaving this school for other schools; there is a serious discipline problem here. My son will not even dare walk into the cafeteria for plastic ware if he forgets to pack a fork for his lunch. There is obscene language, obscene music, at every turn. Another issue, the new principal will destroy a 30 year tradition of Colorado s best and most rigorous IB program in the next couple years. Last year, I would have given it a 5 star review, but moving forward, with this principal, I can only give this school, as a whole, 2 stars. Our second child will NOT be attending this school. Why stay if the great teachers will leave? Such a shame what one man can do.

George Washington High School 3

Posted May 07, 2014
- a parent
GW really is 2 schools in one, although there is a lot of overlap in sports and some of the activities. There are pockets of a great community in sports and on the debate team, but otherwise it is fairly fragmented. I have had 2 kids in the IB program, one is still there. It is a great program for the right kid, but it is not right for everyone. My older child struggled with the rigidity of the program. My younger child fits right in. I would rank it higher, but for the second time, DPS has chosen a principal who is authoritarian, unresponsive to parents, and teachers. Many of the faculty are leaving because of his management style. He is making radical changes to the IB program, and never once consulted with the IB parents association or the IB representatives on the Collaborative School Committee. He didn't even discuss it with IB staff until the last moment. I give the IB program 5 stars for the right student, but the administration 1 star at best.


George Washington High School 5

Posted March 20, 2014
- a student
As a student at GW, particularly in the IB program, I believe the school is great. There are many claims that it is "two schools in one," yet there are going to be different programs in any school, and are not unique to GW. If students are feeling that they are completely segregated by program, it is their own fault. I am great friends with people in and out of the IB program, showing that it does not limit students' ability to co-mingle. Although some students in the IB program are seemingly pretentious and uptight, they make up a minuscule percent of the population. There was a period of time where the school had a transitional principle who was trying to assimilate the school in a disastrous way, but the current administration is doing an excellent job at breaking down the barriers between the programs. Overall, the learning atmosphere is embracing and allows students to thrive, giving the best possible results. The school is great and has many bad rumors giving it a bad rep, but as a student, I can discount them by saying it is a great school with a nurturing environment full of assimilation. Hope this Helps!!

George Washington High School 5

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is a hard working freshman in the IB program. This is a good fit for her. She has met wonderful students that share a common interest in academics, sports and speech and debate. Her friends are ethnically diverse. My daughter and her friends appears to be thriving here.

George Washington High School 1

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
This school is two schools in one after having two of my children shadow. They were not impressed by the outside/inside appearance of the school. Nor were they impressed by the lack of welcoming vibe that the school lacks as a community. George Washington unfortunately is our home school but we will choice into another high school that is more welcoming to everyone. This school lacks character development and has two different schools because of its IB program that segregates the students. Both of my kids would be in the IB program and don't want to be segregated by the school.


George Washington High School 1

Posted April 10, 2013
- a parent
Unfortunately, it really is two schools. I have two children currently attending, one in IB the other in traditional but doing AP/honors courses. The IB program is good academically but according to the IB child, most students are almost actively demeaning/dismissive of traditional students. On occasions when parents of the IB students are together, many of the parents, too, have the same demeaning/dismissive attitude. I think many other IB parents were hoping for a well balanced progressive education experience that the students could benefit from a diverse environment...I truly think that, as it is now, you might be doing the opposite. In addition, the traditional school AP and Honors courses are *not* up to par relative to other DPS high schools....a real problem, for obvious reasons. In all, the school is dysfunctional and the traditional program is likely below average for the district.

George Washington High School 3

Posted May 27, 2011
- a student
I'm not sure why a parent has to diss on a student's opinion and call it a shame and wonder why s/he is bitter, but as a student in the IB program, i can say that the student saying that many, *not all* of the IB students being pretentious is absolutely correct. I have claimed heard quite a few conversations from my classmates talking about how dumb tradition kids are, how they don't work as hard as them, and other derogatory things. Having a brother and many good friends in the traditional program, this hit close to home. I feel like many of the problems dealing with the school happens to be the segregation between both programs and it needs to be dealt with before they lose a majority of their students to other schools. Also, many of the teachers here, especially in the traditional program from what i have heard, are extremely unsatisfactory, especially in the core subjects like science, math, and english. They need to get their teachers checked out in both programs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

George Washington High School
655 South Monaco Parkway, Denver, CO  80224
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. (720) 423-8600
Last modified George Washington High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top