Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Denver, CO
Students enrolled: 413
Before care: No

3 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Grant Middle School 5

Posted September 08, 2014
- a community member
Congratulations once again to GBMS for leading ALL DPS middle schools in academic growth according to 2014 TCAP!

Grant Middle School 5

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
No other school manages real-time student performance data and uses that data to craft customized growth strategies for each individual student. That's why not a week goes by without a visit by administrators from around the state and country to see how Grant does it.


Grant Middle School 5

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
Now that my daughter is finishing her freshman year we can look back and evaluate how well Grant Beacon Middle School prepared her for high school. We can say with confidence that Grant did an outstanding job as she entered middle school testing in "Proficient" range in CSAP/TCAP and left testing "Advanced" in math, reading and writing. In high school she is ranked in the top 5 students in her freshman class, taking all honors and AP courses.

Grant Middle School 4

Posted January 03, 2014
- a parent
With a school who's technology is better than Souths at this time; Grant has shown tremendous growth. Principal Alex has done an amazing job. I just hope he doesn't get sent to a high school. Grant is becoming a neighborhood school once again. Great after school programs and growing parent support. Thanks for a wonderful job.

Grant Middle School 4

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
This school has just gone through a new innovation program that extends the day, allows for more time to work on projects, every student has an Ipad or Chrome book, all the teachers are using the platforms so all work can be accessed on any kind of electronic device. Grades have improved and the school has recently gone green. The number rating might be easy pablum for the lazy to judge a school but it has nothing to do with what is going on inside this school. My son had great success here and I fought to have my daughter attend.


Grant Middle School 1

Posted May 05, 2013
- a parent
Grant has potential, lack of leadership has made it an environment where few students can thrive. I don't feel safe having my student there and am bombarded by other parents wh tell me the same thing. It has been the worst school experience I have ever had. Bullying is out of control and the principal takes no ownership of that. I heard horrible things about this school before going there, and they have all come true. I am just heartsick.

Grant Middle School 5

Posted October 17, 2011
- a parent
If you have not checked out Grant within the past 12 months, you need to get into the school and see a truly exceptional neighborhood school in action. It is amazing to see what can be accomplished by a principal with a vision and enthusiastic & motivated teachers in small classes. Academic growth is impressive across the spectrum, from the ELA students, to the students from low-performing elementary schools up through the honors students. The school has received many grants -- e.g. all 8th graders do their classwork on Ipads. In elementary school my daughter consistently scored in the proficient range on her CSAPs. She did not like reading or writing. Now in 7th grade she does honors math and is rated "Advanced" in both math and writing CSAPs. She is very shy and timid, but thanks to the small, neighborhood school environment and encouragement from the teachers and staff, she has blossomed into a school leader, participates in school sports, runs the school store, and has even sung in front of the entire student body at the school's talent show!

Grant Middle School 5

Posted April 18, 2011
- a community member
I am a community member in the Grant Community. I feel that Grant Beacon Middle School has done an amazing job building school culture and creating a positive environment among its students. The teachers are passionate about their positions and super caring to their students. The school provides students for lots of opportunities to explore many areas through their Enrichment Classes. Students' increased growth percentiles show that not only are students in a positive environment but also increasing their skills in math, reading, and writing.


Grant Middle School 4

Posted January 29, 2011
- a parent
Grant has provided a good environment for my middle shool student. I find the teachers extraordinarily enthusiastic and energetic. The principal is engaged and committed, and accessible. My son doesn't agree with all of the school policies, but Grant serves a diverse demographic. Clearly Grant is on an upwards trajectory.

Grant Middle School 3

Posted September 10, 2009
- a student
i go to grant and i like it there i dont get along great with the kids but i do have all my best friends ther and the teachers really do teach me alot! just give it a chance! i need more friends!!: -))

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grant Middle School
1751 South Washington St, Denver, CO  80210
(720) 423-9360
Last modified Grant Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Grant Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top