Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hamilton Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 860 students

Our school is best known for its top-performing status in DPS.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 14 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 25, 2013

My child started attending Hamilton this year and has went completely downhill. He went from being a normal every day child to a child that I am struggling on a day to day basis to figure out how to deal with properly. His academic work has suffered, his attitude is horrible, and there are other troubling signs. I have two other children that would be entering Hamilton over the next few years and I will not be letting them go to this school. The teachers seem unable to control their classroom. Saying things like "I've got a lot of talkers in this class and it gets out of control sometimes." The entire staff seems to be at their whits ends in trying to function on a day to day basis. I quite honestly believe that this school has aided in my child becoming a worse student and individual, not a better one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

Think twice about sending your child to this school! I have an average child, and it's Horrible! Some teachers are ok,,but several need to move on. Hamilton need fresh new teachers to make learning positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2012

This school is awesome!!!! this school teaches you a lot and the teachers are very nice and caring. I have been in this school for 4 months and i think its an excellent middle school. This doesn't mean that i haven't had problems at this school though, i have been in some problems with some of the kids, but the security of the school will fix it in no time. I also think that it is a very organized school. The IPM kids are in the middle of the building and the tap kids are in the bottom so the kids can be separated which is a good thing because the TAP kids don't really like the IPM kids for some reason. The principal of the school is really responsible and will take care of the problems.(:
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2012

Unless your child is in the gifted program, do not send your child here!! Don't make them go through what those kids go through on a daily basis unless the parents buy their education. The principal can NOT be reached, administrators pass the buck and nothing is ever their job. My children were bullied by students AND several teachers and nothing was done despite repeated phone calls to the leadership in this building! The teachers have no desire to inspire or motivate, often calling the kids in the TAP program lazy or stupid! You can't get a call back or return email from anyone in this building unless you show up in the office! It's the most frustrating thing to communicate eith this team and the most disgusting example of educational leadership I have ever witnessed! There is not a chance on Gods green earth I will put my kids back in that school! I will take extraordinary measures to keep my kids out of there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2012

Unless your child is in the IPM program, you will both dislike this school. My son transferred in from out of state, we were never even told about IPM, now his grades have dropped, he has seen things in the hallways no child should see, and the teachers treat him like he is a " problem child" just for being in TAP, and as one of the only white kids in TAP, he feels alone. Yes some of the TAP kids are obnoxious but not all of them, but try telling that to the teachers. We are pulling him out and not looking back. Good luck if your child is normal and not in the gifted program, which is where all the other white kids are. Sounds like 1960's Mississippi to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2012

Beside the IPM and TAP issue, which I'm glad most people realize what is going on at this school, I believe there's segregation between the IPM program. My best friend and I have many friends in TAP, most of them from elementary school, but not a lot in our own program. We felt that since we hung out with TAP kids whenever we had the chance to be with them, other IPM students thought that we had the stereotypical TAP traits, which were unintelligent, poor, and didn't care about our education (which is the opposite of many students in TAP actually. Most are quite smart). We were and still are extremely shy around crowds so we didn't want to be open. This lead to us, and some other students with the same problem, being the outcasts of the core. I assumed the teachers realized this, and acted as if we were less intelligent than the other students too, despite the grades we got. My other problem is, you have to be either popular or extremely (un)intelligent to get a teacher's attention. I remember, while I was there, my teacher never learned my name till the end of the the year, despite the times I've participated in class.HMS is a large school, but that was ridiculous.Worst school.


Posted April 26, 2012

After being away from this school for two years and finally getting my head around what was really going on here, I have decided that I wish I had filed a formal complaint against this principal. Shocking and embarrassing, the worst year of our lives. She even had separate dances and drinking fountains. Shame on Hamilton and DPS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2012

I go to Hamilton and I have not been very pleased with it. The teachers in the IPM program are good, but the principal is not. She doesn't listen to suggestions and doesn't know kids unless they're unusually good or bad. Furthermore, there is a ton of segregation between TAP and IPM. IPM (which I am in) gets all the attention, and TAP falls by the wayside. Also, there are stereotypes that "IPMers have no life" and "TAP is not smart." This, and the fact that the two cores are kept as far from each other as possible, causes almost no interaction between them, which only serves to increase the stereotypes.I have found that the classes are not challenging at all, and with minimal amounts of homework. Whoever said that we get four hours of homework each night is completely wrong. The most homework I've ever gotten in my three years here is 3 hours working the night before a history assignment was due. The teachers move fairly slowly, because they have to keep up with the unmotivated kids, which IPM is full of (contrary to popular belief) which serves to make motivated kids incredibly bored and staring at the clock. Hamilton needs to start living up to its reputation or it'll lose it.


Posted April 7, 2012

First of all, the school is completely divided between the regular classes and the IPM program. Most of the attention is focused on the IPM program and that attention is not even good. The student body is constantly made to feel unworthy and "bad" especially by one of the vice principals. Teacher and course quality is so-so because,with the exception of some, the teachers are awful. Now, I know the music program at Hamilton was outstanding mainly because of the terrific music teacher. However, this outstanding music teacher has since retired and the school chose an unfit person to take his place. The new teacher routinely puts us down and makes us students feel awful about our playing ability.These actions caused a huge percentage of music students to drop out of his class. He has turned what was arguably the best music program of any DPS middle school into at best an okay music program at best. This schools only bright spots seem to be the sports program and even that has holes (holes meaning some sports are plain awful). This school may seem great on the outside with the magnet program but going through it made me see how terrible this school really is.


Posted September 26, 2011

I am deeply concerned about the segregation between the high-performing and TAP (traditional program) students. There is a wide gap--an embarrassing gap, between the performance of these two groups. Although there are some outstanding teachers in this school, teachers clearly differentiate between groups. I feel it. My student feels it. And I would imagine the TAP students feel it too. Overall, this divide is not good for our kids--both the achieving and underachieving and I believe it is wrong for our schools, wrong for our kids and wrong for our society. It is wrong to support some kids at the expense of the other kids. I hope others will stand up and speak up about this segregation which is right here in our back yard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2010

After "shadowing" at several DPS middle schools, I was incredibly impressed with Hamilton. As a parent, I knew my child would have a quality education, especially because of the International Preparatory Magnate program. We are fortunate to have such a fine caliber of a school in our city. The teachers are unparalleled. Hamilton lays the foundation of important study habits, along with organizational skills that will stay with the student throughout his education. In my opinion, Hamilton affords our children with an education equal to that of a private school, only at taxpayers cost! Our family loves Hamilton.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2010

My son graduated from Hamilton and is now a freshman at the United States Air Force Academy. This is not an easy school to get into and he did have to report where he went to middle school. He had friends in all areas of the school, Magnet, TAPS etc. My daughter is now a 6th grader at Hamilton and loves it as well. The Teachers, Principal and Vice Principal are outstanding. There could always be more parent participation but that is not for lack of trying on the schools part. Get involved and make difference in your child's life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2010

Hamilton is a phenomenal middle school! My 7th grader recently came to me and said, "Mom, I'm so happy!" That's almost unheard of for a middle schooler! Danny feels cared about at Hamilton. The kids treat each other with respect. They feel connected to the adults in the building. And he is getting a great education! My older son also got so much out of his time at Hamilton. He learned to manage his time so well that he is now able to juggle IB classes at GW, swim team and being a very committed thespian! Thanks, Hamilton!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2010

My daughter is a 6th grader at Hamilton and loves it. She enjoys her classes and the teachers have been great. The principal is fantastic, really cares about the kids and it shows in the performance of the school. I'm happy that I have a happy middle-schooler - a rare thing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2010

I am a proud parent of an 8th grader right now at Hamilton. My daughter loves her time so far. In 7th grade I really saw her come into her own. She had five amazing IPM teachers. Whenever she came home from school she always was full of stories of the engaging activities in Mr. Bailey's classroom and the humor and kindness of Ms. Cole. She was speaking French to me at dinner after just two weeks from Ms. Barber's instruction, solving difficult and high-school level problems from Ms. Kyker and really getting some hands-on lab based science instruction. I will say that I especially thought that Ms. Cole was amazing for my daughter. She really encouraged them to think for themselves. My daughter actually really enjoyed history, a subject I always hated! She also is really enjoying her 8th grade history teacher too, Mr. Wilhelm. Love the teachers here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2010

They say things start at the top. Well, Hamilton's principal, Reina Gutierrez, is a most amazing person and principal. She is level headed, strict yet compassionate. Her dedication is easily apparent even to students who must know she cares! She runs a tight ship but she also knows most of the students by name if not by face.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

the school has grown an assisted my child in developing into a great person, I know he will take what he has learned there and apply it in his own life
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2010

The student body of Hamilton Middle School is divided both racially and demographically . Administration does nothing to create a sense of community among different groups other than the glorification of sports. There are some wonderful teachers and some weak ones, but the overall tone of the school comes from the top down, creating a punitive, distrusting environment. The IB program gets the attention, while the general student body is treated as second-class by the administration, which is mirrored in the attitudes of the students. Homework is often given for homework's sake and all too often consists of worksheets. Class size is large and the teachers convey the feeling of being over-worked.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I'm a parent of a student at Hamilton Middle School in 7th grade and the teachers for 7th grade are wonderful. The teacher that stands out the most is the Language Arts teacher, Mr. Bailey. Whenever I asked him who his favorite teacher was he always said that it was Mr. Bailey. I also thought the other teachers were good too. Mrs. Barber, the spanish and french teacher was very good, by the first month my son could tell me complete sentences in spanish. Ms. Kyker is the math teacher and she is a very exciting teacher and explains everything very well. Also Ms. Cole is a very teacher and she explains everything in great detail. The teachers there are some of the reasons that I loved Hamilton. Go Huskies!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

This school is devoted to its IB program and puts few resources towards other students. I agree with other parents' assessments of the racial and academic priorities of this school. My son is a bright, under-motivated child who was new this year to CO and had been home schooled the previous two years. They did no testing, the principal admitted they just put him where they had room, and he suffered greatly for it. His language arts teacher was unable to form a complete sentence, literally, she often used no verb at all. The communication was poor to non-existent. I tried for 3 months to get a return call from the principal. This school is overrated because the IB kids are the focus and have great experiences. Parents of other children should beware. Their child will not receive an education and their efforts to help their child will be frustrated.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

285 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

285 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

285 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

266 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

265 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

266 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

265 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Female67%
Male55%
Black (not Hispanic)38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligible39%
Reduced lunch eligible57%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)19%
Proficient in English65%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant61%

Reading

All Students73%
Female84%
Male63%
Black (not Hispanic)68%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligible65%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)36%
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%

Writing

All Students62%
Female73%
Male51%
Black (not Hispanic)48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligible44%
Reduced lunch eligible65%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)33%
Proficient in English64%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female59%
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Free lunch eligible38%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)17%
Proficient in English62%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant58%

Reading

All Students71%
Female76%
Male66%
Black (not Hispanic)57%
Asiann/a
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)24%
Proficient in English77%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%

Writing

All Students66%
Female71%
Male62%
Black (not Hispanic)51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligible45%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)21%
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
Female62%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligible34%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)10%
Proficient in English61%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant58%

Reading

All Students68%
Female73%
Male64%
Black (not Hispanic)60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)10%
Proficient in English69%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant68%

Science

All Students61%
Female61%
Male61%
Black (not Hispanic)51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligible39%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)10%
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant61%

Writing

All Students63%
Female69%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)5%
Proficient in English66%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 56%
Hispanic 32% 32%
Black 17% 5%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Japanese
Russian
Spanish
Ukranian, Polish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Ukranian, Polish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30 am
School end time
  • 2:55 pm
School Leader's name
  • Nick Dawkins
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (720) 423-9445

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Ukranian, Polish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Optimist Club of Denver
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Mathletics
  • National Honor Society
  • Semantics
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • We have a new principal! Nick Dawkins is happy to meet with you and talk to you about his shared vision for Hamilton. Please call the school to schedule a meeting with him, or email him with your questions.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
George Washington High School
Thomas Jefferson High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8600 East Dartmouth Ave
Denver, CO 80231
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 423-9500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT