Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Denver, CO
Students enrolled: 875
Before care: No
 

3 stars
Based on 39 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hill Campus Of Arts And Sciences 4

Posted June 18, 2015
- a parent
My child is happy, the parents are nice and the teachers are great. I think the school is going in a positive direction.

Hill Campus Of Arts And Sciences 1

Posted June 18, 2015
- a teacher
This is simply a warning to anyone thinking of working at this school for the first time. Basically, all the teachers who want to work in a good, honest, positive environment have left (at least 80% in the past year and a half). The few who are staying are the ones, and there are always a few in every company, who believe that they are favorited and protected by admin for whatever reason. I taught at this school for several years and never would have chosen to leave if it wasn't unbearable to work with the current administration. The students are basically good and, for a DPS middle school, it's a good school. However, the administration is the worst I've ever seen. They are dishonest, demoralizing, ruthless, condescending, and they lack communication and people skills. However, the principal is such a great salesman that you won't believe these things at first. Give it time, however, and you will see what I'm talking about. Heed this warning and try to work somewhere else. Hill is not a good place to be right now.


Hill Campus Of Arts And Sciences 2

Posted June 11, 2015
- a parent
Please do not accept a job offer from this school, especially if you live out of state. As someone who has done so, I want to caution others against upheaving their lives for what will likely be the most unpleasant experience of your teaching career. The turnover over the last 1.5 years is all the evidence you need.

Hill Campus Of Arts And Sciences 5

Posted June 09, 2015
- a teacher
Hill is a great school! It is by far one of the best traditional middle schools in DPS. The leadership team has great vision and enthusiasm. The entire building staff (not just teachers) truly cares about students and creating an environment that is challenging, nurturing, safe & fun. Change can be challenging for the entire community, and not without it's positives and negatives. Hill has historically been a good school, continues to be a good school, and will be a GREAT school under the new administration.
1 person found this helpful

Hill Campus Of Arts And Sciences 2

Posted June 04, 2015
- a student
The principal painted all the walls but then my teachers couldn't make copies because they didnt have enough money for paper. Where did all the money for the paint come from? They play the worst music ever for announcements and i'm pretty sure its a religoius song because they talk about being a twinkle in gods eye which i think isnt cool


Hill Campus Of Arts And Sciences
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted June 04, 2015
- a student
This school is too easy. Dont tell anyone i said that but i don't Feel like it challenges me enough

Hill Campus Of Arts And Sciences
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted June 04, 2015
- a student
Everyone talks about how much they hate the school and the principal. The teachers for the most part are good, some are bad, and some are just okay.

Hill Campus Of Arts And Sciences
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted June 04, 2015
- a student
Kids curse out teachers and very little gets done. We get put in ISIR where we just fill out packets so that way we look like we attended school if we get in trouble.


Hill Campus Of Arts And Sciences
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 03, 2015
- a teacher
I think the teachers in the building care deeply about creating this kind of mindset, but when your teaching staff is demoralized and frustrated it makes it difficult to model this behavior for students 100% of the time.

Hill Campus Of Arts And Sciences
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 03, 2015
- a teacher
When your administration is full of bullies your students emulate that behavior. The administration only cares about certain students and this creates favoritism that is obvious to everyone observing. When you have a person who is not a good person at the helm, you cannot have good leadership and modeling of behavior.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hill Campus Of Arts And Sciences
451 Clermont St, Denver, CO  80220
(720) 423-9680
Last modified Hill Campus Of Arts And Sciences is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hill Campus Of Arts And Sciences Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 88 reviews. Top