Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Denver, CO
Students enrolled: 875
Before care: No
 

3 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

24 reviews of this school


Hill Campus Of Arts And Sciences 1

Posted May 07, 2015
- a community member
After 1.5 years with the new principal, Hill has become an entirely different school. To start with, almost all of the staff has turned over. The new administration is primarily concerned with putting "yes" men in place that will agree to his mandates, no matter how outrageous the order. Teachers are leaving in droves, and if teachers wanted to stay, they are forced out of the building and district through nonrenewal of their teaching contracts. Parents, you will be impressed and amazed by the principal's ability to convince you to come to his school. Take note, he is a wonderful salesman and a terrible, terrible school leader. The people who work for him are leaving as soon as they can, and that's the main reflection of his leadership that you should be concerned with. Hopefully in a few years a new leader will be put in place that can restore Hill's place as one of the premier middle schools in Denver Public Schools. Until then though, avoid this sinking ship!

Hill Campus Of Arts And Sciences 1

Posted April 27, 2015
- a parent
We moved to Denver a year ago and he was new to Hill Middle School, as he just started 6th grade this year. All year we have been dealing with my son being bullied by different kids in school. I want to make you very aware of what is happening. He has been teased for being a bigger kid. He has had students offer him a snack and then tell him they rubbed it in their pants once he took a bite. He has had a student push the chair out from under him in the auditorium. He has been pushed into walls and down stairs. I know about some of these issues, as I was witness to a couple of them. I have attempted to call the school, left messages, and even spoke to one staff member on one occasion. Nothing has been done. My son has told me he has filled out so many reports he is just tired of writing them. My son, who is only 11 years old, was overheard saying he was going to commit suicide. He said no one at the school would care or miss him if he did. He wasn't just talking about the students. He feels the teachers and all administration wouldn't care either. In an age where bullying is so prevalent, I am befuddled at how this can go unnoticed even after the parent (me) has reached out.


Hill Campus Of Arts And Sciences 1

Posted March 24, 2015
- a parent
We held an 8th grade assembly last week to discuss the requirements for Continuation. Students must have 95% attendance, a minimum 2.5 GPA . What about all the kids who pass 8th grade? Don't they deserve to celebrate their accomplishment. New principal does not treat all kids fairly. Only cares about his numbers. Teachers however are terrific.

Hill Campus Of Arts And Sciences 1

Posted January 09, 2015
- a community member
The new principal is attempting to clean house regarding faculty in staff, and is bringing in under qualified "teachers" to replace experienced staff. As a community member, I've witnessed the Denver police repeatedly on campus, and would not feel comfortable sending my student to Hill.

Hill Campus Of Arts And Sciences 1

Posted January 09, 2015
- a parent
This school has gone downhill since the new principal has come into leadership. The school caters to specific students and is more worried about attendance/disciplinary rates, rather than student and faculty morale. Just for the record, I am not sending my next child to Hill.


Hill Campus Of Arts And Sciences 1

Posted December 18, 2014
- a parent
Nothing radical or visionary here. The new principal's "innovative" approach is cribbed entirely from other play books. 360 math is nothing but whiteboards on a larger scale. Don't believe the hype.

Hill Campus Of Arts And Sciences 5

Posted December 05, 2014
- a parent
I've had a child at Hill since 2010. Hill has become a great school under Principal Kavanaugh's leadership. Great teachers and great energy!! I highly recommend Hill!

Hill Campus Of Arts And Sciences 3

Posted November 23, 2014
- a community member
Lots going on academically & socially that is good. Concerned that the importance of the mind-body developement is not being given attention. Children are getting almost no encoutagment to be physically active on a daily basis, this is a serious problem. Everychild should have at a minimum 30 to 60 minutes of vigorous physical activity every day. Heart rates up and all of that. They should be exploring fun ways to be active every day, for the rest of their lives. Pysical health literally feeds a smarter brain and is needed for a long & productive life. The Greeks knew this as does our Frist Lady. Invite Michelle to come and speak at Hill. She believes in exercising every day. Even with a very busy schedule she makes time to exercise. Test scores go up when student get their heart rates up for an extended period of time, every day. If you are basicallly only interested in raising the academic test scores for Common Core, get going and find a way that ALL of your students can be physically active, and not sedentary. I know you can do this. Other schools have. Look to them for guidance.


Hill Campus Of Arts And Sciences 1

Posted May 17, 2014
- a parent
The new principal previously turned around an underperforming DPS school filled with primarily ESL students. Now he is taking a school that for years had inherited the GT & HGT students from the high performing Carson Elementary and turning it into a school like the one where he previously worked. It is clear he has an agenda but the students' best interest is NOT IT. When you dumb down honors programs and slow down the teaching to allow "everyone to be taught the same," it is doing a disservice to the students and community. This was once a school to be proud of, but no more. Parents are taking their children elsewhere while teachers are leaving to find a community with a rich, supportive learning environment, not one that paints that halls in rainbows to distract from the real issues. If you are truly considering this school, PLEASE ask parents of 8th grade students would had the benefit of Don Roy as principal and can give you a fair assessment. The teachers cannot speak freely and newbies have nothing to compare. A good education is at stark here - don't waste an opportunity to find a superior option.

Hill Campus Of Arts And Sciences 1

Posted May 16, 2014
- a parent
Run for the hills parents!! Huge numbers of parents are pulling their 6th graders out of Hill after experiencing the new principal for a semester. Both teachers and students are leaving in big numbers. The numbers don't quite reflect the damage yet as many teachers have not yet announced their decision to leave and parents are clamoring to find other options. Teaching environment is awful and teachers are afraid of the principal. The principal is acting unilaterally, making big changes to the honors program without consulting with the teachers. It is the honors student families that are leaving in big numbers. He removed Visual Arts from the curriculum without consulting with parents and decided to pull in martial arts. Say What?? Parents supporting this don't really understand what is going on as teachers are afraid to speak up for fear of losing their jobs. Parents take a closer look at this school and make sure to speak with other parents before making a decision. The Principal is all about the standardized testing as well. Your students will spend more time testing here than at any other school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hill Campus Of Arts And Sciences
451 Clermont St, Denver, CO  80220
(720) 423-9680
Last modified Hill Campus Of Arts And Sciences is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hill Campus Of Arts And Sciences Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top