Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Holm Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 584 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, April 20, 2014

Holm Elementary. My grandson loves the after school activities that he attends. He also enjoys his classroom learning setup, and visiting with his friends.


Posted August 4, 2013

One of the best schools my grandaughter has ever attended .She was actually sad when it came to the last day of school. Alittle too much homework than what she is used to, I don't know if that is because the last two school she attended weren't that good. She is looking forward to going back this year and so is her sister.


Posted June 20, 2012

I bought a home close to this chool and if I had know how rude the parents and administrators at the school are I would have moved elsewhere. The parents block driveways with their cars, throw their trash in the street and the response from adminstrators is "call the police". Clearly the last three lines of the Holm School Promise mean nothing. If they treat the neighbors like that, how do they treat your children?


Posted May 11, 2011

I bought a home in this neighborhood and if I knew that this site was a little off in the demographics I would have bought a house in a different neighborhood. I went to the school to sign my daughter up for Kgarten and they told me that they didn't have a full day program or any before and after programs (mind you I was at the school talking to the adm. person) I asked her what parents that work are suppose to do? She referred me to a different school down the road that was not in my "home" school area. I went home and talked to some of my neighbors who have children in this school,and they told me that the class sizes were going to be 28-38 kids per class with 1 teacher and 1 "parent helper" which is not what this site states. Several of my neighbors also told me that they did offer the before and after program for kindergarten. So I called the school and they said Ohhhh I am sorry you are right I don't know what I was thinking!! At this point I had missed registration.They did offer to "make it right" with me but at that point I had already enrolled her in another school. I feel sorry for any child that has to attend this school that may be shy you will get lost in the masses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2011

Our son is currently going to Holm school for his first grade school year. Mrs. Grossman is our teacher and we could not ask for a better one! Our son has been struggling with reading, but got a lot of extra attention from his teacher and also from "Hamilton Helpers" - students from the neighboring middle school. After just a few weeks he was all caught up. We were a little bit unsure about Holm school because of the low rating that it got. But after almost 8 months at Holm we think that we could not have picked a better school. Holm School is very diverse and this was something very important for our well-traveled family. We love to explore new cultures and therefore Holm is just right for us. Our son's teacher is a very "hip" lady and the kids seem to adore her. Don't be afraid of the low school rating - I think overall it comes down to the parents and how much they are involved in their child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

We are 2.5 weeks in to our son being at this school. It's his first year at school. This is our neighbourhood school also. It wasn't necessarily our first choice, but after much consideration I'm actually really glad that he is here. There is a diverse student body, which is excellent in teaching him the mix of different cultures/languages that make up this universe. I do truely believe that a child's performance at school is an immediate reflection on their upbringing. Don't blame the school, blame the parent. Personally, I'm thrilled that not only will my son be more well rounded in how he looks at the world, because he's now had the oportunity to mix with other ethnicity's that he might otherwise not have had he not had to at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2009

this is a very good school i love this school and especially mrs kibble as the teacher and also mrs bomback
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

This is our neighborhood school and had I known how horrible this school was, we would have probably purchased our home in a different area. The communication is non-existent and the staff is so rude it is almost surreal. There is absolutely no leadership and it is very obvious in the way the staff talk to parents and children. If you compare this school to other schools in the district---well there is no comparison.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

This school is good if you are looking for diversity. As far as strong academics. It is my family thoughts that the kids are not where most of the other schools are. Not to mention when they get to higher grades they WILL be behind. We believe some of the school employees have forgotten why they took a position in a school, around kids, dealing with parents and hopefully wanting to make the kids stronger for their future. As stated by the post Nov. 25, 2007 there are rude teachers and staff. Some of these are that way all the time. Not just on a bad day. I would suggest looking at this school after at least your top three pics. If your wanting to see your kids be challenged to excel then this is not the school for your child. This is why we took our child out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

Both my husband and I enjoy this school! We are very involved in what's going on in the classroom and outside of it. I started a parent group and excited about it's possbilities. The teachers and staff are very helpful when we've had questions and my kids are growing in there learning at a satisfying rate and above in certain subjects. I recommend Holm as a great and safe place to send your child or children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2008

This is a very good school. It is very academic. The teachers treat the students with respect and the principal does the same. However, the kids dont get enough time to play outside. Also when there is a conflict between the students, the teachers dont help the students handle it.


Posted July 7, 2008

This school is behind in everything.My son goes hear and knows what they are already teaching
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2007

This is the worst School My Kids ever attended. The School has bad security and worst academic standard. Some teachers, is so rude don't know how to communicate with parents. The principle doesn,t know what is going in the school. We are really disappointed with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
43%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female64%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Free lunch eligible63%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)49%
Proficient in English77%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant66%

Reading

All Students60%
Female67%
Male55%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Free lunch eligible59%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)39%
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant61%

Writing

All Students38%
Female50%
Male26%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligible37%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities41%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)26%
Proficient in English45%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female58%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligible54%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)30%
Proficient in English68%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%

Reading

All Students54%
Female58%
Male51%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)27%
Proficient in English64%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant57%

Writing

All Students39%
Female42%
Male36%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)52%
Free lunch eligible37%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities42%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)18%
Proficient in English47%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students57%
Female59%
Male55%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible49%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)33%
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant57%

Reading

All Students65%
Female71%
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible60%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)33%
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant65%

Science

All Students37%
Female42%
Male32%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible29%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities43%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)0%
Proficient in English52%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant37%

Writing

All Students55%
Female61%
Male48%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)24%
Proficient in English70%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 51% 32%
White 20% 57%
Black 19% 5%
Asian 4% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • James Metcalfe
Fax number
  • (720) 424-6375

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Foreign languages taught
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3185 South Willow Court
Denver, CO 80231
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 424-6350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT