Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John F Kennedy High School

Public | 9-12 | 1125 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 3, 2011

John F Kennedy High School " is a joke this school has caused me more problems then i can count the only reason my son attended was due to the location if any other school is avaliable i would highly recommend against kennedy all i am going to say is that noone should have to deal with some of the problems ive had at kennedy from bullying to theft. P.S. only a handfull of schools accept the (ib/myp) program. Liked: Disliked:
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

My daughter is at the top of her class and is excelling at JFK. She's involved in sports and other activities (ROTC). She couldn't be happier. I worried after reading the first review about students who aren't in the top of the class, but my other daughter that always struggles with her studies, has found that her teachers have been more than willing to work with her during non-class hours to make sure she understands and succeeds. As the parent said earlier, I've always believed that you get out of school what you put into it, both of my kids put effort into it and both are very happy at Kennedy (so am I) even though their grade standings obviously don't show the same results. I'm happy because they are both learning, both advancing and both enjoying their High School Experience. How could I ask for more?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2009

great school! amazing the ib program brings so many more options. the collage credit you can ear is outstanding. you can get over 2 years of collage credit while still in high school it is outstanding.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 5, 2009

I wasn't originally going to send my kids to Kennedy, but my daughter wanted to bad enough, that I checked it out. I was amazed at what I found out. Not only did I discover that it was a fabulous school (yes, in DPS) but during this first year, I've found out more of the wonderful opportunities available to all students. Parent involvement is amazing, as a whole, students love being there. I don't believe I could have made a better choice for my daughter than JFK. The website needs work, but check it out anyway, just so you can see the video about some of the great things happening at Kennedy. http://jfk.dpsk12.org/
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2009

As one other parents has commented already, Kennedy is one of Denver's best kept secrets - a public school with a high-performing academic program (the International Baccalaureate program) where the teachers and counselors are dedicated to every student. I selected Kennedy High School for my children, not because it was my only choice, but because it was the best choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

JFK's one of Denver's best kept secrets. Academics are challenging but not overwhelming. The social environment is the most accepting and most involved community I have seen in a HS, the sports programs allow kids to be involved on many levels from novice to scholarship-bound, and it is a small-town school in a large urban district. The MYP program for grades 9 & 10 is a great way for students to prepare for a variety of upper level options and gives students a lot of different experiences through the wide variety of required and optional courses and cuminating MYP project. Both of my kids have/are doing well with it. My son, a junior, has enrolled in the IB diploma programme and is getting a fantastic education -well beyond the typical. I really couldn't ask for a much better HS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2008

I am a parent and our daughter and incoming freshman son will be attending JFK. JFK is a very good school my daughter has done well in academics and sports, she loves the school, the teachers and her classmates. She is pretty popular and alot of other students look to her as a leader. We know our son will excell because he knows what he wants and what he is striving for. We tell our children to be leaders not followers they have done that all of their lives, so we know they will accomplish alot at Kennedy. We tell our children that they are going to Kennedy to make the school a better place, they dont need to attend another school in the area just because some of their classmates are going.........they are leaders not followers!! Excell and Achieve and you shall Exceed in Life. Dont watch make things happen!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2008

JFK is a great school to send your child to. I was worried that it wasn't going to be a good time for my child, but now he really enjoys it. the parents are really involved and there are so many activities to choose from. The academics are just getting better, and JFK will become a great school because of the new IB program. The teachers are really involved with the students, and they really do care about their lives and their problems. i strongly believe that John F Kennedy High School is the bes high school in the Southwest Denver Area!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2007

I went to John F. Kennedy for all four years of high school. I feel Kennedy provided exceptional academic programs and more. The teachers were involved in the students life and truly wanted to see all students succeed. Extracurricular activities were a great part of JFK. There are so many to choose from. These programs not only are fun, but they teach the student discipline, responsibility, team work, leadership skills, and much more. I would recommend this high school to any one in search of a great school to attend.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 10, 2006

We currently have 3 children enrolled at JFK. Until recently, we have felt that Kennedy is a great high school. We have argued with other parents stating children get out of school what they put into it. Our oldest is now a Senior and in the very top of her class. We feel she has plenty of opportunity here at JFK since she is in the top 5%. If you are not in the top, you are in Big trouble! Our son is new to Kennedy as a Freshman. He has struggled from day one with academics & his sports. I do not see Teachers & Coaches in the same light as I did-to me they seem very disinterested in their job & the kids. How sad. Never before had we contemplated moving our family due academics & a football program. Now we are considering it. JFK could've been great :O(.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

366 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
18%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

366 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

366 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

307 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
15%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

307 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

307 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
25%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

307 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students17%
Female19%
Male15%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian50%
Hispanic10%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)42%
Free lunch eligible12%
Reduced lunch eligible12%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch36%
Students with disabilities (IEP)2%
Students without disabilities20%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)2%
Proficient in English20%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant17%

Reading

All Students50%
Female60%
Male41%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian79%
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligible59%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)10%
Students without disabilities56%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)11%
Proficient in English53%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant49%

Writing

All Students35%
Female43%
Male28%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian57%
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligible28%
Reduced lunch eligible38%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch53%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities40%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)2%
Proficient in English39%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students19%
Female19%
Male19%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian67%
Hispanic13%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)29%
Free lunch eligible15%
Reduced lunch eligible36%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch26%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities22%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)11%
Proficient in English17%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant19%

Reading

All Students54%
Female64%
Male46%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian82%
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligible49%
Reduced lunch eligible77%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)16%
Proficient in English54%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%

Science

All Students29%
Female32%
Male26%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian63%
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Free lunch eligible23%
Reduced lunch eligible41%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch40%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities33%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)5%
Proficient in English31%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant29%

Writing

All Students32%
Female41%
Male24%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian63%
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Free lunch eligible28%
Reduced lunch eligible41%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch40%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities36%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)3%
Proficient in English34%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

88%

Average ACT score

17

Graduation rate

79%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 66% 32%
White 21% 57%
Asian 8% 3%
Black 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Jeannie Peppel
Fax number
  • (720) 423-4309

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
  • Standards-based
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Gymnasium
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • JROTC
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2855 South Lamar St
Denver, CO 80227
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 423-4300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Tetra Academy
Lakewood, CO


Colorado Academy
Denver, CO





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT