Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lincoln Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, August 26, 2014

What I love about Lincoln Elementary is the school community and the teachers. Lincoln has great teachers and the parent involvement is very good. The one thing that can be improved upon is getting parents more information on how to help their children at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, August 25, 2014

I have two children at Lincoln Elementary and I could not be more pleased. The principle, Mrs. Spearman is wonderful and there is a strong community feel. They rarely ever have staff turnover and the building is always being updated. Great shool and great families..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, August 25, 2014

Lincoln Elementary school is a great fit for my family and our 3 children. The children are excited and happy to go to school every day and the teachers are experienced and easy to talk to. All 3 of our children are in the Montessori program and we couldn't be more pleased. I have also heard good things from parent's and families enrolled in the tradition classroom. The principal, administrative, janitorial and lunchroom staff are all pleasant and well-informed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2014

This year I will have two children going to Lincoln and I can tell you that this school community (Principal Spearman, teachers, staff and parents) is totally dedicated to making Lincoln the BEST elementary school in Denver. Principal Spearman knows all of the children, there are excellent activities for the kids all year long and the community of Wash Park really supports the school. There are large contingents of families that get together outside of school as well which creates an event stronger sense of community. I love the fact that we walk to school with several other families. We are just so lucky to have such a terrific school in our neighborhood. I would highly recommend this school to anyone in the neighborhood!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2012

I was a student at Lincoln for five years and am now in middle school i absolutely love this school, it gives you the option to have Montessori and traditional. i love all the teachers, but the principal im not fond, of neither are like 84 percent of parents (my closest guess) but overall this school is amazing. it has extra curricular activities and some many fun things to do. it has a field for sports swings and a playground plenty of room for all the kids. it might be intimedating for little kids to go into that school because of the older kids but i have NEVER seen out of the five years i have been there see a older kid bully a little kid. you only see a little name calling here and there no bullying. i HIGHLY recommend lincoln to anyone.


Posted November 16, 2011

Our oldest child has been in the Montessorri program at Lincoln for five years and we are very satisfied with the program. Our younger child has started this year as well. We're not too fond of the current Principal , but we really liked the two previous ones. Overall, we love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2011

I wanted to also comment on the response about student/parents not being happy. I've seen Lincoln with two principles now and have been very happy with both. I was worried when we were getting a new principle when Janice Spearman went on however, I will tell you that she really brings light to that school. She's taken the time to have meetings with me spur of the moment about my son. She's shown a real interest in his education, it's amazing how far along he's come just this year alone! I can't even imagine how challenging it is to be a teacher or a principle this day in age, especially at a public school. I feel very lucky to have gotten my little man into this school. Thank you to the staff and a special thanks to Ms. Erin and Ms. Spearman!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2011

I would like to respond to the comment about teachers and students being "unhappy" at Lincoln under the new leadership of Janice Spearman. Unfortunately, this parent is mis-informed. The staff members at Lincoln are very happy with our principal and appreciate her support in anything that we do here. Lincoln is a unique school in that we have both the Montessori program and a traditional program. Both programs work very well with each other. We are ONE staff with high expectations for all students, no matter what program the student is enrolled in. Janice supports both programs equally. What may turn some parents off is the fact that Ms. Spearman also has high expectations for parents. She holds them accountable along with her staff and our students. Lincoln is still a "Distinguised" school as we have been over the past four years. The teachers work very hard at Lincoln to ensure success for all students and we do this under the wonderful leadership of Ms. Spearman along with the other amazing principals we have been blessed to have over the past five years. Please do not ever get the impression that teachers and students are unhappay at Lincoln based on one opinion.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 14, 2011

I would agree with other reviews in that the montessori program is favored in the school and supported by the parent population. But, I found that the traditional program has higher expectations for my child, provides them with technology, and has more diversity in the classroom. I have had my child in both the traditional and montessori programs and overall Lincoln is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2011

My children have gone to Lincoln for 5 years now and I have watched it go through many changes over the years. At the time, it had a top rating of 10 through greatschools.com and truly was one of the best in the district. The school has been through 3 Principals in those 5 years and has suffered from a lack of leadership. I have decided to leave a comment based on many common parent complaints about Janice Spearman, the current Principal. The teachers aren't happy, the parent community is unhappy and the children are unhappy. There are high quality teachers there but is obvious they are not being supported and are getting burnt out! The Parent Community is the only reason why the school is surviving. Although we are deciding to move our children to a different school, I really hope for the school improves for all of the parents that decide to stick it out. It's sad to see what was once a wonderful school suffer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2010

my child has been in Lincoln for 3 years and has not improved on bit. They only help the montessori program and forget about the traditonal kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2007

Lincoln is a great school. It's relatively small, has strong parent involvement, and caring teachers and staff. Both Montessori and traditional tracks have multi-age classrooms, and it has a small community feel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2007

Lincoln is an excellent school. My child is entering her 2nd year and I can't imagine a better school. They have many after school programs that are both fun and affordable. It is like a small community, the older kids know the younger kids and it's a very comfortably homey environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2006

This school has small classes. The playground has recently been renovated. There recently has been a Love and Logic seminar at the school and a visit from Mayor Hickenlooper. Parent involvement is encouraged. The Kaleidascope program offers most of the extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female71%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%

Reading

All Students72%
Female83%
Male61%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%

Writing

All Students57%
Female67%
Male48%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English64%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female73%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%

Reading

All Students85%
Female80%
Male94%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%

Writing

All Students67%
Female77%
Male50%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English68%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female90%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant87%

Reading

All Students87%
Female91%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant87%

Science

All Students67%
Female76%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant67%

Writing

All Students87%
Female90%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch100%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 56%
Hispanic 28% 32%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Daphne Hunter
Fax number
  • (720) 424-6015

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
  • Standards-based
Foreign languages taught
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

710 South Pennsylvania St
Denver, CO 80209
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 424-5990

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT