Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mc Kinley-Thatcher Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 216 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 15, 2014

This is an amazing school! The community is so supportive of the work the students and teachers are doing to make the neighborhood a great place to live. Many kids at the school live blocks away from the school. It is easy to find children to play with in the neighborhood and they are all choosing their neighborhood school. I have 2 children at the school. One is above grade level in all subject areas and the other is exactly where she needs to be. This is because of the dedication of the teachers and the clear expectations they give to parents to help them support their children at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

I feel ready, now that the school year is almost over, to say that choosing McKinley-Thatcher was a great choice! This is our neighborhood school. My daughter loves her teachers/staff/classmates and she has been learning so much from them and impressing us everyday. The school staff and parenting community are making genuine efforts to enable the students to learn, achieve and grow. The results have proven positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2014

My school is McKinley /Thatcher. Extraordinary teachers make the difference, supportive parents encourage their kids to understand that their school is the place where their child becomes enriched with learning activities that prepare them for the next grade. Students know the every day plan, Ella Rose Monroe knows ready, set, go!!!They are all winners at McKinley /Thatcher. A lot of teamwork going on in the classrooms. They are building character, observing behavior, including volunteers,mastering skills and recognizing star students.


Posted February 5, 2014

Having moved into the city from Cherry Creek Schools in the suburbs I was afraid that my daughter wouldn't find the same sense of community. McKinley-Thatcher Elementary is her favorite school "EVER" and I could not be more impressed with the principal and community involvement. It takes a village and the parents and staff of McKinley-Thatcher get that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2014

To the parent that doesn't think a jump of 26% to 68% is much to brag about. I am sure those numbers would matter alot to you if they were falling and not rising. I am curious what your participation in this school is beyond elitist worries. Do you belong to the PTA or CSC? Do you volunteer in the classroom? Progress doesn't take place without parent's participation. That jump in numbers is the result of alot of work by alot of dedicated parents. Those grades are my kids grades and I am proud of the teachers, principle, and other students striving to improve. Why don't you continue the tradition and help grow the school instead of dogging it and leaving it to others to do the hard work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2014

Test scores have jumped the past year, but being 26% up to 68% is hardly anything to brag about. 5 grade does seem better than the rest of the school. The teacher/principal turnover rate has me concerned. They seem to be headed in the right direction. More kids from outside the neighborhood? With all the new apartments and rent controlled housing being put up, I'm concerned with the future growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

McKinley-Thatcher Elementary is a great small school. We are very happy we decided to enroll our daughter into a public school close to home. The teachers are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

We are so thrilled with this school! Everybody at McKinley-Thatcher Elementary school clearly cares deeply about every child attending there. My little kindergartner has already learned so much in the couple of months she has been attending and most importantly, she loves this school too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

We have three kids at McKinley Thatcher and we couldn't be happier. We live a few blocks away and it's fun to bring the kid's to and from school daily. They are learning so much and are actually excited to get to school for breakfast. The entire staff from the principal, teachers, front office staff, etc are very welcoming, engaging and driven to teach the kids. The facilities are well maintained and the facility manager is extremely friendly. The PTA group is also very involved and growing. We also love the small-town feel as the entire staff know all of the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

McKinley Thatcher Elementary School is an excellent neighborhood school that has a wonderful community presence and support! The staff is welcoming and caring. The teachers are knowledgeable and I love the extended day program. There are great enrichment opportunities and a lot of school activities throughout the year. It is easy to get involved and really get to be a part of your neighborhood school! My son loves to bike to and from school, and it is a great feeling to be able to do that with him. It is also so nice that we see friends from school walking around the neighborhood and at the park. I am proud to call McKinley Thatcher our neighborhood school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

McKinley Thatcher is a good neighborhood school on its way to being a great one due to growing parent involvement. Strong PTA leadership and increased membership are key this improvement. We love the small size of the school and commitment and visibility of the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

We have a kindergartener and a 1st grader at the school, and we LOVE IT! The principal is incredible. She is often in the classroom, knows all of the kids, and all of the parents. The teachers are terrific and go above and beyond. They are active, caring, and engaged, and both of my kids are excelling and thriving academically. I can't imagine anywhere else I would want my kids to spend their day. They are excited about school everyday. It is a small school with a great community. I would give it more than five stars if I could!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

McKinley-Thatcher is a wonderful school with a strong commitment to community and learning. The teachers and leadership are amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

Our daughter attends McKinley-Thatcher and she loves it! We are very happy to have such a great neighborhood school with caring attentive teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2011

I love this school, the teachers are wonderful and the staff their are very nice! Couldn't ask for a better school for my 7 year old daughter!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2011

My child loves being at McKinley-Thatcher. Our family adored the ECE teacher, Angela Foster. She really understood the mind of 4-year-old and challenged them without pressuring them. Every Friday my child would cry because they didn't want to wait two days to go back to school. The principal is new and I think she's still trying to find her foothold, but she does seem open to addressing parents' concerns and taking action. There is a core group of parents that are highly involved, but new faces are always welcomed. It's very easy to involved your child's education here. I'm really impressed from CSC meetings at how passionate both the parents and school staff about pursuing the best possible education for children. Not just in the scope of test scores, but also in physical education, music, environmental programs, etc. The school is also one of the cleanest I've ever seen. The only reason why I'm not giving this school five stars is because I wish there more multi-disciplined after-school programs with greater involvement and attention paid to them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2011

We've been at this school for 8 years and have been very pleased with the teachers/staff and the small school environment. My 5th grader says she can't tell me who her favorite teacher is because she has so many. PTA sponsors a variety of after-school activities, including chess, computers, science, Shakespeare, and art, as well as family events that make it easy for parents to get involved. The school also has a focus on environmental education through the SPREE program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2011

Great school, excellent teachers. This school has a very good and positive environment, caring staff and excellent education. I definitely recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2010

My daughter was hurt by a teacher at this school. She was grabbed by the arm and pulled. Not for safety reasons either. It was horrible. I witnessed it and she never went back to the school. The principal didn't care and wouldn't even meet with me until days later. The kids at the school all have a negative nickname for this teacher as she is known for being grouchy and mean. After the meeting that went no where with the principal (she defended the teacher and thought we were lying- we asked her point blank) we never set foot in the school again. We transferred to another school where we had a wonderful experience with caring, sweet, nurturing teachers. Thank goodness my daughter realized that not all teachers physically harm children and act angry most of the time. I do not recommend this school at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2009

This school was rated in the top 10 in the Denver Public School system. Every time I walk into the school I feel as though I am in a small town and not the middle of a large city. The staff get to know you and your child as individuals and not just a number. The environmental education and the art programs are high importance to the SPREE (South Platte River Environmental Education) school. If you are thinking of sending your child here drop by I know the staff will welcome you with open arms. My daughter love Ms. Angie the ECE teacher so much she even wants to go to school on Saturday and Sunday. Heather Jacobson, ECE Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English55%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant52%

Reading

All Students68%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant68%

Writing

All Students44%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English45%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students46%
Female50%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible39%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English58%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant46%

Reading

All Students50%
Female63%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible39%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant50%

Writing

All Students36%
Female38%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic16%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible22%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English47%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female80%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Reading

All Students86%
Female85%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant86%

Science

All Students57%
Female55%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant57%

Writing

All Students71%
Female75%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 47% 32%
White 34% 56%
Black 7% 5%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Vicki Cyr
Fax number
  • (720) 424-5625

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Foreign languages taught
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1230 South Grant St
Denver, CO 80210
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 424-5600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT