Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 71 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


McKinley-Thatcher Elementary School 5

Posted December 11, 2015
- a parent
This school has been an amazing find for us. Our daughter has been at McKinley-Thatcher since she started Kindergarten there 3 years ago. The small size allows every staff member to truly get to know every student in the school. Our daughter's 2nd grade teacher, Ms. Scott, has been fantastic. She is able to get every student in her class engaged and excited about learning. I don't think we could have found such a wonderful school anywhere in Denver, public or private. Our daughter attends McKinley-Thatcher and she loves it! We are very happy to have such a great neighborhood school with caring attentive teachers and staff.

McKinley-Thatcher Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 11, 2015
- a parent
Thank you Ms. Scott for truly caring about our daughters education and personal growth! She comes home raving about you and is excited to come to school everyday to learn!


McKinley-Thatcher Elementary School 5

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
This is our first year at Mckinley-Thatcher and we have been very pleased. The staff and parents are helpful and make it a great envioronment for kids and parents alike.

McKinley-Thatcher Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 20, 2015
- a community member
The school focuses on different character traits throughout the year. This is part of the school's commitment to not only the education of children, but also to the overall development of healthy, happy, productive children.

McKinley-Thatcher Elementary School 5

Posted November 20, 2015
- a community member
We've been a part of McKinley-Thatcher for six years now and are thankful that our daughters attend here. The small school environment means that every student is known by name, not only by their teacher but by everyone from the principal to the custodian. The staff are committed to the students and show great care for their education as well as their overall health and well-being.


McKinley-Thatcher Elementary School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
I love this school! My kids look forward to school everyday. Their teachers are loving, caring, and amazing educators. Every adult in the school knows both of my kids by name. This school is a small community in a big city where we feel so at home. There are great community events like the school dance that bring parents and kids together, and everyone in the building, including the custodial staff, shows such great care for my kids. Great school, great staff, great parents, great community. I couldn't ask for more for my kids.

McKinley-Thatcher Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Mr Potter (facilities manager) is a truly amazing individual. He cares so much for each and every student in the building, and he goes above and beyond to take care of the facility and the students.

McKinley-Thatcher Elementary School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
I love this school. It is truly a small neighborhood school hidden in a great big city. The teachers, paras, school leader, secretary, parents, and students go to great lengths to ensure a high quality educational experience for everyone. There are regular community events that bring families together. My son and daughter are both being appropriately challenged in all subjects. I do not hesitate recommending this school.


McKinley-Thatcher Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Yes they have monthly student recognition assemblies. All the teachers use positive behavior supports in their classroom management.

McKinley-Thatcher Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
As a school they work on a character trait every month, and the teachers pick a student who exemplifies that trait by the end of the month. It inspires kids to be their best.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

McKinley-Thatcher Elementary School
1230 South Grant Street, Denver, CO  80210
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 71 reviews. (720) 424-5600
Last modified McKinley-Thatcher Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top