Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Morey Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 735 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 12, 2014

I am in 7th grade and go to Morey. It is a great school and I learn a lot educationally and a lot about other people and how they have different lives at home. Most of the teachers are great, others not as much but they are all pretty good. I have learned a lot in the HGT program, but not as much in High Strides. I have never seen bullying. Despite what parents say, Morey is a great school and does not have bullying. Morey's extracurricular activities are exciting and fun! The sports and mathletics teams are some of the best in the city. Go Mustangs!


Posted May 28, 2014

If I could give this school a 0 rating it would still be too good. The bullying is too much. The teachers are the worst ever. They don't care whether a student does well or not, they only want them out of their hair. My son wanted extra help with a project he didn't understand and was told to figure it out himself. The principal at Morey cares even less. The bullying, when brought to her attention, is belittled as though it is the persons fault who is being bullied. Some of the teachers have little or no control over their classrooms. When I visited Morey to see how my son was doing, his classroom was in complete chaos. If there is any other choice of school for your child I suggest you take it. Morey is no place for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2014

This is the worst school I have ever seen. All the teachers and staff turn a blind eye to bullying. The bully's get rewarded and congratulated while the kids being bullied get reprimanded. I had to go to school and throw a fit because 1 teacher was taking my son off campus without our permission. They didn't even do anything to that teacher but they made my son feel horrible for telling me. The principal knows that all of this is going on and doesn't seem to care. My son has also gotten beat up 3 times this year and the bully is still in school tormenting kids. Morey is the worst school you could ever send your child to if you want them to succeed. It is worth it to drive them to a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2014

Hey i go to morey middle school in the 7th grade. I am in the hgt program and until morey i truly could not like any subjects, but now i excel at about everything the school has brought me to yet still brings me new things to learn, i honestly found the coolest things thanks to the caring and friendly teachers and awwweeeesoommme people you meet. GO MUSTANGS!!!!!


Posted December 9, 2013

My daughter transferred here from another DPS school for her 8th grade year. So far, not only has she excelled in her grades, and has made a lot of new friends, but the teachers have also had a very active role in making sure she is comfortable in her new surroundings. She went from receiving Ds consistently in math at her previous middle school, to participating in mathletics and comprehending math. My only regret is that I didn't transfer her to this school sooner. It has really seemed to open educational doors for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2013

this is a HORRIBLE school! All the kids are mean and you witness bullying everyday! and I DONT LIKE IT! DPS needs to get the meessage and shut Morey down! I am tired of it and think no kid should be in that death trap! And they send no challenge! I get no homework barely! And you can't find 1 not 1 true friend at Morey middle school! So why it's rated a 7 I dont know I rate it negative 3 because I think this is a school that no kid will like! If your student is different and unique I want to warn you Morey aint the school! The teachers do`n't involve themselves as much as they should! They dont do anything with bad behavior! And the secon you send your kiddo to Morey they will become a different person but not ina good way! They will be transformed! Its just not worth it! I went! My fisrt year of middle school and Ihate it! My teachers don't challenge me! The only reason I went hereis because I thought I would be challenged in the hgt/ gt program! But you arent! And its hard to get into! So dont go there ! and I went there so I know!


Posted October 14, 2013

Take a look at CDE's math growth results for Morey 2013. Some bar graph claims Morey achieved 'expected growth'/green in 2013. Now, look at the math TCAP scores for Morey 2012 7th graders: 35% Not Proficient. Same kids in 2013 8th graders: 47% Not Proficient. 47% of the school are socioeconomically disadvantaged. How is the Core Curriculum working for this school? Compare that to a nearby school (Hill Campus) whose socioeconomic disadvantaged population was 55% last year. They're slightly down/ steady or BETTER depending on the grade.


Posted September 27, 2013

I deeply regret sending my daughter to this school. I thought an HGT program would provide her the challenge she needed. So far, it has been easier than her elementary school. The teachers and administrators are reluctant to advance students to the level they desire. No wonder 20% of high school dropouts are gifted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

My school is morey middle. I was a student there for a year, and it was terrible. The teachers are irresponsible, most of the kids are bullies, and the education is at sometimes low grade. I had an experience where a teacher graded most of my report card wrong, and I ended up doing tons of extra work. Morey isnt the worst school you can go to, but it definitely is not the best. I wish i would have known all of this before i went there. Thank you for reading this.


Posted May 8, 2013

This is quite possibly the worst school I have ever been exposed to. I would HIGHLY recommend you do not send your child here. Bullying is rampant and the faculty does nothing about it. My son has been verbally and physically harassed for the entire year, and no matter how many times I go to the teachers and faculty, it will change for a week and go right back to it. The school is very segregated as well, and the social climate is hostile. I believe the funding and lack of quality faculty has caused this school to be out of control and they don't really have the resources to change anytime soon. Thankfully my son got into a charter school next year, otherwise we would be doing ANYTHING to make sure he wasn't going back here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

My child is wrapping up 8th grade in Morey HGT, then going to East for high school. Recently, an assessment test was administered for math skill, in order to correctly place the students in an appropriate math class. Sure, makes sense, right? Except this was done because East had problems with students from Morey in the last few years being placed automatically in the next level of math if they were passing, only to find out that the accelerated kids WERE NOT READY! I trusted them with my child for 3 years, and thought that passing was passing. If I had known this he would have gone to a different school. BTW I believe this is not the teacher's fault, I think they were playing to the CSAP rather than making sure the kids were prepared for high school. Mr. Brown is a great teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2012

The teachers are kind and understand you needs and provide .They will make sure you get lunch no matter what ,and the teachers let you learn and have fun while doing it.


Posted December 3, 2010

My child is the happiest I have ever seen her since she began attending Morey. It is an extremely diverse school with lots of afterschool activities available. The teachers are enthusiastic, creative, and energetic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

They understand the needs of HGT kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

Im am a 6th grade student at morey and I am in hgt and I love it here. They really want the students here to score high CSAP.I recomend this school to any middle school student planning to change schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2009

this school is the worst school ever you see bullying ever where you go then the teachers want you to treat them with respect when they don't even give you respect i not going there next year and this was my first year im going to washington i have to get away
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 16, 2009

I am a parent of an HGT girl. I love the small school within a larger school feel of the program. My student really enjoys sports at Morey and there is good team spirit. She's had a couple of less than stellar teachers but most have been great. The community liaison is terrific, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2009

Im a high strides student at morey and I love it! A lot of the teachers here are really cool. The classwork and homework is pretty challenging but I still finish it and get good grades on it. I think this is a great school for all kids.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2008

Im a Hgt kid here and this place rocks they have swimming every week if you wanted but the only thing I would do to make it better is to add more extra curricular activitys
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2008

I am a student here at morey and think that this is a perfect school and it's only my 4th week and i love it! so i think all students should come here and see wat u think
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

225 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

225 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

225 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female75%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracial86%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligible44%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%

Reading

All Students84%
Female84%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)56%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracial96%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Free lunch eligible59%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English87%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Writing

All Students74%
Female79%
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)37%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracial82%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligible42%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female68%
Male69%
Black (not Hispanic)34%
Asiann/a
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Free lunch eligible40%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)10%
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%

Reading

All Students72%
Female78%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic49%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)99%
Free lunch eligible43%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)10%
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%

Writing

All Students71%
Female77%
Male66%
Black (not Hispanic)47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)99%
Free lunch eligible42%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)14%
Proficient in English77%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
Female60%
Male47%
Black (not Hispanic)21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracial71%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligible31%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English54%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant53%

Reading

All Students65%
Female74%
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracial94%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Free lunch eligible46%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant65%

Science

All Students50%
Female54%
Male47%
Black (not Hispanic)18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracial71%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligible28%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities54%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English53%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant50%

Writing

All Students59%
Female70%
Male49%
Black (not Hispanic)33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligible35%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English62%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 36% 56%
Black 29% 5%
Hispanic 28% 32%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Dori Claunch
Fax number
  • (720) 424-0727

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Standards-based
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Gymnasium
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

840 East 14th Ave
Denver, CO 80218
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 424-0700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Moore K-8 School
Denver, CO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT