Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Palmer Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2010

An old-fashioned neighborhood school like i remember from my childhood. Great families, wonderful teachers, a nice community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

This is just a great neighborhood school. It doesn't have any bells and whistles because it doesn't need them. It's the kind of good ole fashion elementary school that we all remember going to when we were kids. There is diversity and great learning going on at this school. A solid public school. We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Palmer worked with my son and me to ensure that my son was actively participating in his schooling. Also Palmer allowed my son to experience different exra cirriculum activities as well as cultural events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Our priorities for our daughter's education include diversity, an environment dedicated to fostering a love of learning, and flexibility of education (not a one-size-fits-all approach). We are very lucky that our neighborhood school has the same priorities. The teachers are wonderfully committed to providing quality education, and our daughter absolutely LOVES going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Palmer is a wonderful school with a diverse student population, dedicated teachers, and an amazing leader, Principal Trujillo!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

The atmosphere of the school is friendly and welcoming. It seems to embrase diversity without making a big deal out of it. The teachers are wonderful- talented and committed to their students and the school. Our daughter loves attending Palmer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Palmer is a school of excellence. The most important components of the intricate part of Palmer are the students. With much diversity in our school the teachers and all staff members strive to meet the needs of each and everyone of these students. All you have to do is walk the halls and see this in action.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

This school is the perfect Denver public neighborhood school. There are children of all backgrounds loving each other and loving their school! The principal and teaching staff are completely dedicated to the education of the well rounded and unique child. Children at Palmer are exposed to art, language, dance, music, science, social studies, Shakespeare, PE and other activities that enhance the full learning experience for a child. They go outside the box to make sure each child is engaged and learning. I am a very proud parent and teacher at Palmer and think it is the best school around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

We love Palmer Elementary school because it not only provides a great education, it fosters our child in learning to make good decisions. Palmer is economically and racially diverse, and offers our daughter the opportunity to explore who she is in a healthy way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

All 3 of my children attend Palmer Elementary. Until last fall, we lived in the neighborhood, but we moved about 2 miles away. We have chosen to keep our children at Palmer because we love the teachers, the principal, and the outstanding education that our children have received. Our son has been identified as highly talented and gifted, and the teachers have prioritized his educational needs. Palmer also offers amazing extra-curricular opportunities like dance, language learning, mural club, and more. There is a small group of dedicated parents and PTA members who make the 'extras' happen and raise funds so the entire school may benefit. The one thing I'd like to see would be more parent involvement, so we could spread out our efforts. Palmer is a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

this is our family's 3rd year at Palmer, and we are planning to choice in for next year even though we moved from the Palmer neighborhood into the Carson area. The teachers are fantastic and the principal is committed to the best education for every child. She has worked with us several times to find the best solution for our kids. We especially love the diversity at Palmer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2010

I have been very disappointed with Palmer. It is our neighborhood school and we wanted to try it. The prinicpal is incompetent, and unresponsive to concerns. There are some good teachers, but I have not been impressed with the quality of my daughters teachers or the discipline or structure at the school. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

I am a parent of a first grader at Palmer. I feel very fortunate to have such a fantastic neighborhood school. The after school programs Palmer offers are really neat. I have been very impressed with all of the dedicated staff and dedicated parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2009

My son entered 1st grade this year and Palmer is our neighborhood school. I have been extremely impressed with the dedicated teachers and the programs. My son is involved with the gifted and talented program and after school programs. The school is taking steps to meet students individual needs, such as, a pull-out reading program for all levels. I highly recommend Palmer and yes, parent involvement is encouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

There is poor leadership in this school, The new principal does not properly organize to insure that teachers are prepared for classes. Students with special needs classes are not receiving the instruction required. I am highly disappointed in DPS for not providing the education my daughter deserves. The is the second time DPS has failed to take care of students with special needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2005

Palmer is a great school with a variety of academic programs from specialty programs in special education (Developmental Learning Center for K, autism, inclusion support) to programs for gifted students (advanced K and 1st grade) There are numerous music, art, and extracurricular activities avaliable to students both during the school day and after school clubs and opportunities. A diversified staff including several young, entergetic teachers as well as veterans keep the building a successfully oiled machine. Parents involvement is high at Palmer and thier help is a great assest to the school!
—Submitted by a staff


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
18%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students45%
Female48%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities46%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English49%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant45%

Reading

All Students60%
Female64%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible67%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%

Writing

All Students33%
Female40%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible30%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities35%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English34%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female74%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English65%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant66%

Reading

All Students69%
Female84%
Male50%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%

Writing

All Students60%
Female79%
Male38%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
Female63%
Male44%
Black (not Hispanic)40%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible36%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English56%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant53%

Reading

All Students70%
Female71%
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)55%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant70%

Science

All Students36%
Female33%
Male39%
Black (not Hispanic)25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible32%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities43%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English37%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant36%

Writing

All Students53%
Female63%
Male43%
Black (not Hispanic)45%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English56%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 36% 56%
Black 35% 5%
Hispanic 21% 32%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Elizabeth Trujillo (interim)
Fax number
  • (720) 424-5025

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Foreign languages taught
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

995 Grape St
Denver, CO 80220
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 424-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT