Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Smiley Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 10, 2011

My son came to this school from another DPS school and has flourished. The principal is very involoved and quick to deal with any and all issues that have arisen. I would recommed this school over most any other in the city. The staff interacts well with the kids and my son, instead of being scared to go to school because of bullys actually likes going and has brought his grades up significantly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2010

I think what the principal and her dedicated staff of teachers are doing at Smiley is magnificent. In her second year, the school has really come around from being the local middle school that everyone avoided at all costs, to a great part of our community. The students love it and are getting a good education in a rigorous program - not an easy task when so many of the student come to the school with sub-par education, and often have parents who, shall we say, lack th kind of involvement necessary for a successful student. My daughter started this year in another middle school and transferred to Smiley. She is an 'A' student, but finds Smiley more challenging. She loves her teachers. and I am amazed at the teachers and the extra time and effort they put in. The principal knows almost all 276 students by name. The students notice. Smiley may not get the highest CSAP scores (much of it due to what they have to str with), but I would recommend it to even the brightest and highest performing students. It is safe and prior behaviorial issues have been brought under control. I can't tell you happy I am, after scrambling to avoid Smiley, and then tansferring my daughter in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

I would have to say that I am very disappointed with Smiley Middle School. Some of the teachers are very disrespectful to not only the students but the parents as well. They seem to care more about the name of the school then the students that attend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

We selected thisschool because of the IB honors component but could not be more disappointed. The lack of respect that the administration and teachers have for parents and students is astounding. When concerns are brought up, there is a rolling of eyes and folding of arms, no professionalism at all. Some (not all) teachers yell and belittle the kids liek bullies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2008

I am a student and i have been here for more than a year and i love it!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 12, 2008

I am a student at Smiley Middle School and I luv it a lot!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2007

I am a student at Smiley Middle School and I absoulutly love it!! I am in the IPM program where I am challenged everyday! Some of our teachers stay after school to around 6:00 everyday! Great things are happening at Smiley and I hope you can be a part of it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2007

Their magnet program is what carries the entire school! It is rigorous and skill building but they are nurturing and not afraid to put forth the tough love with our children. I was a bit nervous about placing my son into Smiley but overall it has been a great learning environment. I am extremely impressed with the work that Judith Haye, Gary Sulley, Zelda Ford,Joel Paque, & Mr. Leher have put forth into my son. This school has more than its share of problems but if your child is fortunate enough to be enrolled into their International Preparatory/ International Baccalaureate program, it is definitely worth the time!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

My child attends the International Preparatory Magnet (IPM) at Smiley. She has had an excellent experience with great teachers and high expectations. The curriculum is rigorous, and features such subjects as semantics and a required foreign language. The math is challenging and taught to the top of the class. Her test scores are phenomenal. Discipline has not been a problem. We plan to send our younger children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2007

I feel my child is receiving a great education at Smiley and so does she. The teachers are so committed and willing to help, with their after school and Saturday tutoring help. I appreciate the principal being a firm disciplinarian. We are very happy with Smiley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2007

Smiley Middle School offers the International Preparatory Magnet (IPM), a program based on International Baccalaureate Middle Years program. This program is academically rigorous, and teachers are available for 2-3 hours after school and Saturdays for students needing support.. Students applying to the program must be prepared to commit to high academic and behavioral performance. CSAP scores in the IPM program are well above the district average. The school climate is productive, respectful and supportive. A strict dress code is enforced; discipline issues are handled effectively and consistently. My daughter loves going to school; she is challenged, yet not overwhelmed. All IPM students take algebra in eighth grade, preparing them for the the GW IB, DSST and East X classes. Spanish is a mandatory, core class for all grades. All traditional sports and extracurricular activities are available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2007

Our daughter is a sixth grader in the IPM program. The academics are stellar and the teachers committed. She loves playing clarinet in the band. All my questions and concerns are promptly answered by the principal. She is getting an excellent education. Smiley is definitely on the right track.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2006

As a student at smiley middle school, I can tell you that smiley has a very good academic enviroment.I also think the parent involvement is great, although we have no privacy at school. The extracurricular activities such as drill team, sports, including hockey, drama, semantics, M.E.S.A., and more. Although the school has small mishaps every now and then, it has really helped me with my middle school years. The tri-academy experience has also contributed to my 3 years of middle school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2005

I am not a teacher at this school, but I was and I give a lot of credit to staff there. Smiley has its share of problems, but the problems lie a lot on the outside, and the scores don't show the true effort the teachers and principals put out. It is a great staff. There are many great programs (the academies, after school activities, field trips, etc)and the principals are always around with the kids. (which doesn't happen at a lot of schools) What the school needs is more support, especially from parents, the community, and the district! It a needs more teacher aids and smaller class size! Smiley has a great, bright bunch of kids who just need extra attention...they are starving for it...but the principals and teachers can't do it all alone.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 31, 2004

I have tried to make an appointment with the principal to discuss my concerns and he s never called me back. Thank GOD I was able to put my son back in cherry creek schools I strongly believe we as parents should be involved in our children s education I also think it is the teacher s responsibilities to make you aware of any issues to give you an opportunity to talk to your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
14%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
31%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
8%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
17%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students25%
Female28%
Male23%
Black (not Hispanic)19%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible17%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities35%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English23%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant25%

Reading

All Students28%
Female36%
Male19%
Black (not Hispanic)19%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible19%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities38%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English26%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant28%

Writing

All Students22%
Female28%
Male15%
Black (not Hispanic)15%
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible12%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities30%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English21%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant22%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students32%
Female27%
Male38%
Black (not Hispanic)17%
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible20%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
Students without disabilities41%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English30%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant32%

Reading

All Students38%
Female42%
Male34%
Black (not Hispanic)28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible25%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities55%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English40%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant38%

Writing

All Students39%
Female42%
Male34%
Black (not Hispanic)28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible25%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)10%
Students without disabilities52%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English40%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students34%
Female24%
Male45%
Black (not Hispanic)19%
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible22%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities43%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English34%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant34%

Reading

All Students30%
Female28%
Male32%
Black (not Hispanic)21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible20%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch56%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities39%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English30%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant30%

Science

All Students24%
Female24%
Male24%
Black (not Hispanic)13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible12%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch50%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities31%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English25%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant24%

Writing

All Students26%
Female28%
Male23%
Black (not Hispanic)15%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible12%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities33%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English27%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 52% 5%
Hispanic 29% 32%
White 12% 56%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Nathaniel Howard
Fax number
  • (720) 424-1565

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2540 Holly St
Denver, CO 80207
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 424-1540

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT