Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South High School

Public | 9-12 | 1400 students

We are best known for our strong academics in a cross-cultural/global environme
 
 

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 17 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 15 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, November 24, 2014

The principals only care about test scores and sports. All students are not of their concern. Do not go here!


Posted September 8, 2014

South is a special place that truly must be experienced to really understand how unique it is among all other Colorado high schools. Visionary leaders and thoughtful, engaging teachers. Incredible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2014

There is a culture of inclusiveness and positivity permeating the halls of Denver South. My daughter is just completing her freshman year and South has far surpassed our expectations. She is already earning college credit and could potentially earn more credit if she did well on her AP exams. We love the international students and have realized that the roughly 25-25-25-25 attendance breakdown by race/ethnicity creates a very compelling dynamic. You won't experience any of this in any other Colorado high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2014

Our daughter is a freshman at Denver South this year. She grew up in the neighborhood and had other high schools she could have chosen to attend but wanted to go to South and has never regretted it. She takes regular, in AP and honors classes, utilizes tutoring and has a good relationship with her supportive teachers. She is involved in sports and in a leadership building elective. She, and we, enjoy the diverse student body which helps her understand different points of view and she has found friends and kindred spirits. We are so glad she is a part of Denver South and so is she!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Denver South High school is a hidden gem in the DPS system! The diversity at South is a treasure that is unparalleled and creates a rich learning environment, an opportunity for the students to not only study other cultures in textbooks, but from their fellow students. The teachers at South embrace their unique opportunity, and are led by Dr. Kristin Waters, who is in no uncertain terms, a rock star, charismatic leader, and Principal who is willing to think outside the box and not afraid to implement new ideas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Excellent cultural environment. Teachers, staff & Principal are awesome. It would be fun to have a music band for all our great sports games.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Denver South High School My son is a freshman at Denver South High School. We absolutely love the diversity of Denver South. Everyone is from somewhere else so there are no clicks or majority/minority. Students seem to focus more on what can bring them together than what separates them. I have been so impressed by the quality of students that I have interacted with and my son is truly happy to go to school each day! As a parent I also love the communication between the teachers and home as well as the accessibility of the school administration. I know we made a great choice in choosing Denver South! A bonus is that they have great athletics programs and many of the athletes are honors or AP students. Student athletes are held to a higher standard than at other schools we looked at and this was important to me as a parent. At South my son is treated as a young man, a student then an athlete (in that order).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

I teach French and Spanish at Denver South High School. I love working at South because it is by far the best high school in Denver Public Schools. The student body is very diverse, and our principal, Dr. Kristin Waters is doing an outstanding job. It takes great leadership to run a school as diverse as South. Too bad, my youngest graduated high school last year, or else he would be attending South!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 8, 2014

I have found South HS to be very open to assisting my daughter and willing to work with me to understand her needs and learning challenges. I really appreciate the teachers being willing to contact me and inform me about what they are working on, what tasks my daughter needs to do, and how I can support her at home. This is very important to me as her parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

This is my second year at South and I have truly been pleased with my children's academic experience here. The teachers are engaged and push the students to aim high. The diversity and culture at South asked the students to interact and learn about other nationalities that you won't find in other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

My school is a great academic environment,..... it's friendly, warm and inviting to students, staff and parents!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 7, 2014

There's something special happening at South. When I walk these halls I see diversity being celebrated in the athletics, classrooms and friendships that thrive here. There is an atmosphere of respect and an honest desire to learn from our students. I feel incredibly lucky to be a part of it and cannot wait until my own 2 children walk through these doors as Rebels.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 7, 2014

South High School is full of wonderful students with different backgrounds. Every child has an opportunity to grow and learn from different perspectives.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 7, 2014

My school is one of the most extraordinary high schools on the planet. With students from all over the world, it is impossible to not expand your perspective and understanding of the world at large when you go to South. I am impressed by my colleagues and their commitments to our kids. Next year my beloved niece will start school at South--having come from a very privileged and fancy education myself, I would NEVER let my niece attend a school that I did not believe offered an EXCELLENT education. I am so proud to work here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 7, 2014

My school is a place I look forward to going to everyday. The students, community, and staff contribute to an atmosphere of mutual respect, diversity, and continuous learning that is palpable throughout the school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 28, 2014

I love this school. I came from a worse school, and this is an improvement. I love the variety of students from different places all over the world. The principal and teachers actually seem involved and seem to care about the students. The students seem interested in learning and are accepting of everyone. I recommend this for your child; and if they feel they don't fit in or afraid of being bullied, they don't have to worry about it here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 21, 2014

I love South. It is literally the best school I've ever attended. I transferred from Wheat Ridge my junior year, and instantly fell in love with the charm this school has to offer. I have had a few issues with some teachers, but that's expected. I've also had some incredible teachers. South is also very diverse. At least 5 kids in each of my classes are from a different country. What a way to learn about about the world! I'm graduating this spring but can't wait to come back and visit. Would definitely reccomend this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 28, 2013

I highly recommend South High School to parents searching for a school that is culturally diverse to embrace the chance to get to know the students, teacher and staff. I have enjoyed the atmosphere every time I go to South I learn a few new words of a different language spoken. As a parent of two teenagers at South the school has broadened there horizons. They are taking honors, AP classes and succeeding my expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

Our family has recently experienced how caring the teachers and staff at South are. My daughter has had some health issues which inluded being hospitalized 2 times and missing at least 11 days of school. Each teacher made sure to check in with her when she was able to attend school and they are helping her catch up. Everyone was concerned for her wellbeing. I would like to also add that her big sister (South Alum) is a Freshman at CSU, is currently taking advanced courses & is earning 4 points in all her classes
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2012

We do good work here. I am bringing my own daughter here. She wil have more opportunities at South than at her home school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

403 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

404 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
39%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

404 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
24%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
12%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
35%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

280 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
24%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
25%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students21%
Female24%
Male18%
Black (not Hispanic)7%
Asian21%
Hispanic16%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)42%
Free lunch eligible13%
Reduced lunch eligible22%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch44%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities22%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)13%
Proficient in English29%
Migrantn/a
Immigrant10%
Neither migrant nor immigrant23%

Reading

All Students47%
Female52%
Male41%
Black (not Hispanic)33%
Asian15%
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligible34%
Reduced lunch eligible67%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)16%
Students without disabilities49%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)6%
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Immigrant5%
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%

Writing

All Students34%
Female41%
Male26%
Black (not Hispanic)22%
Asian11%
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Free lunch eligible22%
Reduced lunch eligible22%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)10%
Students without disabilities36%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)6%
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Immigrant3%
Neither migrant nor immigrant39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students17%
Female15%
Male19%
Black (not Hispanic)2%
Asian18%
Hispanic12%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)35%
Free lunch eligible9%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch35%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities18%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)5%
Proficient in English30%
Immigrant11%
Neither migrant nor immigrant19%

Reading

All Students43%
Female56%
Male33%
Black (not Hispanic)23%
Asian12%
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Free lunch eligible27%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)23%
Students without disabilities45%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)10%
Proficient in English68%
Immigrant5%
Neither migrant nor immigrant53%

Science

All Students26%
Female28%
Male24%
Black (not Hispanic)13%
Asian8%
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Free lunch eligible13%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch52%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities28%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)3%
Proficient in English46%
Immigrant4%
Neither migrant nor immigrant32%

Writing

All Students29%
Female33%
Male25%
Black (not Hispanic)17%
Asian4%
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Free lunch eligible12%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities31%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)1%
Proficient in English53%
Immigrant4%
Neither migrant nor immigrant35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

96%

Average ACT score

16

Graduation rate

67%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 32% 32%
Black 24% 5%
White 23% 56%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 18% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Merrill Middle School
Grant Beacon Middle School
Morey Middle School
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 30% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 65% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 2% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 2% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 1% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Colorado
Colorado State University
Metropolitan State College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Amharic
Arabic languages
French
Japanese
Russian
Spanish
Several Others
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Daniels Funds Scholarships (2014)
  • Mile High Scholars (2014)
  • Mayor's Council (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Clubs
  • Special olympics

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Amharic
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Other
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Amharic
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Russian
  • Several Others
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Special olympics

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Kristin Waters
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (720) 423-6280

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Honors track
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Global
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Amharic
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Other
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Amharic
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Russian
  • Several Others
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Amnesty international
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Dance club
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Drum Circle
  • Environmental
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA)
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • JROTC
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Ski Club
  • Special olympics
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Community Partnership Board
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • We are located in southeastern edge of beautiful Washington Park. Denver's South High School serves not only the surrounding community but also students from various parts of Denver and is the magnet high school for International Students in Denver Public Schools. Our students represent over 60 countries! The dedication and commitment of the teachers and staff to give every student who walks through it's doors a world-class education is one of South's outstanding accomplishments.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
1460
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
1600
Students typically come from these schools
Merrill Middle School
Grant Beacon Middle School
Morey Middle School

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Colorado
Colorado State University
Metropolitan State College
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 30%
4 year college - 65%
Military - 2%
Vocational - 2%
Workforce - 1%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1700 East Louisiana Ave
Denver, CO 80210
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 423-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Denver Academy
Denver, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT