Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Stedman Elementary School 4

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Stedman will have a bright future when the full neighborhood gives it a chance. Our kids have done well there.

Stedman Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
We've sent two kids to Stedman and continue to watch them thrive, academically and socially. Their teachers have played a huge part in this, and we are very thankful for their efforts.


Stedman Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
The leadership and teaching staff put students first every day! Their care for each student is apparent in both their support of the social emotional development and academic growth.

Stedman Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Melissa Peterson is a strong leader who cares about children and providing the best instruction possible for each student. She is courageous in her leadership with making decisions based on what is best for students.

Stedman Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has been at Stedman three years loves her school. She is excited to go to school everyday. Her classmates are all so different and she is learning how to get along with so many different types of people. Her education is on par with other schools in the district.


Stedman Elementary School 5

Posted December 11, 2014
- a parent
Stedman is a great school with a small learning community. The teachers and staff are very involved! I also love Stedman because it is diverse. They have many after school activities and have incorporated music as well!

Stedman Elementary School 4

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
We love this school. My daughter who has SPD and ADHD is thriving. She is happy, feels liked, and successful. The principal is very involved and innovative. Special Education services are great. We are very happy we transferred our child to this school.

Stedman Elementary School 4

Posted November 22, 2013
- a parent
My son has attended Stedman for the last four years and I volunteer in the classrooms regularly. I have observed the following: a hands-on principal, teachers who genuinely care about student success, and a group of children who have treated my son with kindness (even though he is "different.") I realize that this school needs to improve their academic standings, but there is no reason that they can't be rated with the top elementary schools in Denver, if given some time and the support of the neighborhood.


Stedman Elementary School 5

Posted November 22, 2013
- a parent
I am a professor of education with a PhD in Education from UCLA and teach at the School of Education at the University of Colorado. Stedman is a place where the teachers and the principal authentically care about their students, families, and community. You feel welcomed and honored to be a part of that community. They provide afterschool programs, childcare for parent meetings, family dinners for after school functions, etc. This is a place where they welcome and honor diversity instead of viewing urban students of color as a deficit. Amazing school!

Stedman Elementary School 5

Posted November 21, 2013
- a parent
Stedman is a fantastic school with a great sense of community. The teachers are dedicated and go above and beyond to help children succeed. I have two children there, one is in the ECE program and the other is in kindergarten. We love Stedman.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Stedman Elementary School
2940 Dexter St, Denver, CO  80207
(720) 424-3800
Last modified Stedman Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Stedman Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top