Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

At Teller we always … Ask questions. Share ideas. Cite evidence. Celebrate growth! Our staff is committed to living out the shared values within Denver Public Schools. These values are Students First, Integrity, Equity, Collaboration, Accountability and Fun!
August 13, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
37 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 71 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Teller Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
My child's 1st grade teacher was phenomenal. Very compassionate and listened well to parental concerns. 2nd grade teacher was wonderfully compassionate too. The leadership tends to be the issue at this school, and if there is a bad apple of a teacher the leadership shows no accountability.

Teller Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
One teacher in the fourth grade is verbally abusive to students she does not like. I have witnessed her negatively label students she does not care for in front of classmates. Her affect is strange and abrasive. My child did not initially report comments she was hearing, but when she did I was appalled. I witnessed some of the comments on the playground after school as well.


Teller Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
In general, I think kids need a brain break and family time in the evenings, not more work.

Teller Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
They think they do, but improvements can be made. Students need to be directly taught how to treat peers with differences, but this would require more training of teachers and staff.

Teller Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
Depends on if the teacher likes or understands the needs of the student or not.


Teller Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
I have witnessed biases that did not feel morally right. I think the principle needs more training on the power imbalance between special needs students and typical students. She does not practice what she preaches.

Teller Elementary School 1

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
Bullying is subtle and not handled appropriately by staff, especially the principle. Lots of lip service that they are addressing bullying, but not enough training given so that teachers can quickly recognize the deeper, underlying issues and imbalances amongst students.

Teller Elementary School 5

Posted January 27, 2016
- a parent
We've had a child here for several years now, and I can't imagine a better experience. The teaching staff communicates well with the parents, and the PTA is a strong and positive force. The single instance of bullying that we're aware of was handled quickly, appropriately, and respectfully. The librarian at Teller is the most amazing man I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. He has created a world-class children's library and he is deeply engaged with all the children in the school. We have other children who will be attending when they're older, and it's a comfort to know that they will be going to Teller.


Teller Elementary School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted January 27, 2016
- a parent
We're very grateful to the PTA and other parents at Teller. The school has some of the best programs and support staff around, and a lot of that is due to the efforts of the parents and PTA involvement.

Teller Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 27, 2016
- a parent
Teachers have it very hard, but the amount that they give at teller is incredible.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Teller Elementary School
1150 Garfield St, Denver, CO  80206
(720) 424-3560
Last modified Teller Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Teller Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 71 reviews. Top