Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

At Teller we always … Ask questions. Share ideas. Cite evidence. Celebrate growth! Our staff is committed to living out the shared values within Denver Public Schools. These values are Students First, Integrity, Equity, Collaboration, Accountability and Fun!
August 13, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (4 responses)
characters left.
There are 82 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Teller Elementary School
Grateful to: no rating

Posted May 25, 2016
- a school leader
I feel immeasurable gratitude for all the parents I've met and worked with this year. Teller is an amazing school in no small part because of its dedicated community of parent volunteers, people who give so much of their time, effort and money to help benefit the all the students who call Teller home.

Teller Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
Because it's a school that's about community and teachers that care. We are grateful for the kindness and support we receive.


Teller Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
Our 2nd grade teacher has been pivotal in motivating our daughter and keeping her engaged and determined to succeed. We appreciate all you did this year Cari!

Teller Elementary School 4

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
This is our 3rd year at Teller, with 2 children, and we have had wonderful experiences with the teachers. We love the "extras" that our kids get at Teller, including music, art, PE and a trip to the library every week. The PTA and community involvement is pretty amazing. If it weren't for the difficulties we have experienced with leadership, particularly the principal, this rating would be great rather than good.

Teller Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
This is my 5th year at Teller and I feel very fortunate to send my two children here. Our school has the most amazing staff and we are fortunate to have a huge music program, awesome arts and PE and also the best librarian around. The kids are encouraged and rewarded for good behavior, taught valuable character traits weekly, they have monthly pep rallys, every grade performs on stage, I can go on and on. The teachers and parents are very involved, it is a wonderful community to belong to. We are so lucky to live in this great neighborhood and go to Teller Elementary!!!!


Teller Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
My child's 1st grade teacher was phenomenal. Very compassionate and listened well to parental concerns. 2nd grade teacher was wonderfully compassionate too. The leadership tends to be the issue at this school, and if there is a bad apple of a teacher the leadership shows no accountability.

Teller Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
One teacher in the fourth grade is verbally abusive to students she does not like. I have witnessed her negatively label students she does not care for in front of classmates. Her affect is strange and abrasive. My child did not initially report comments she was hearing, but when she did I was appalled. I witnessed some of the comments on the playground after school as well.

Teller Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
In general, I think kids need a brain break and family time in the evenings, not more work.


Teller Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
They think they do, but improvements can be made. Students need to be directly taught how to treat peers with differences, but this would require more training of teachers and staff.

Teller Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
Depends on if the teacher likes or understands the needs of the student or not.

Nearby schools

Teller Elementary School
1150 Garfield St, Denver, CO  80206
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 82 reviews. (720) 424-3560
Last modified Teller Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top