Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Whittier K-8 School

Public | PK-8 | 301 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 28, 2011

This school has a clear understannding of the population and community it serves. Almost all the staff has been there for some time and the school culure provides effective maangement and discipline techniques in the classroom and out.


Posted November 2, 2011

This is our first year at Whittier. My daughter (ece) and my son (middle school) loves going to school every day. I love the small class sizes and strong parent/ teacher involvement. I am really impressed how active the principle, Mr. Palmer is with the students. The spirit of Whittier is unbeatable, no wonder they are now a "green" school! (One of very few in the NE district)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2011

I am an active parent and I treasure Whittier K-8. Are you a potential Whittier K-8 parent? Come visit Whittier and see for yourself. See the smiling faces, hard-working students and staff and the small school environment filled with high expectations which makes Whittier one of the top-ranked schools in the Near Northeast. Come to a PTA meeting (every 2nd Tuesday, 5:30-7:00 pm in the cafeteria) and witness our PTA which is deeply involved, diverse, fun and beloved by the staff and the students. Come spend a day in our middle school and see what I see which is engaged students, passionate teachers and a safe, structured environment. Do not base a decision on what you read below. Come see for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2011

I was very sad to leave Whittier K-8. My son attended from Kindergarten to 5th grade. The principal, Mr. Palmer, is exceptional with the students and his staff. He always made time for me when I had questions or problems. The teachers and paras are loved by the students. I must say, I am truly impressed by the art teacher Ms. Lee. My son came home with such wonderful art work, I framed it to hang up. I miss my Whittier 'family' already!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

My son and daughter both attend Whittier. I love that the school is smaller, I know my children won't fall between the cracks academically. The principle is VERY active in the school, I know he wants every child to succeed. Whittier is a great choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

The adminstration staff is lackluster, they tend to ignore problems and make it out to be the child's issues. Parent teacher conferences are non-existant, bullying is a major issue at this school. Please don't send your child here for middle school. Try any of the other schools in the area first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

As a very active parent at Whittier, I don't disagree with the concern expressed by the review below. Whittier is working hard on the issues raised through those questions. But, it is also important to compare Whittier's 3rd-5th grade student responses to the district averages as well as other schools in the neighborhood. For example, the Whittier student responses on question 14 are similar to other students at other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

This school inspires me everyday as I walk its halls. The majority of the negative reviews you will read come from a group of parents that left the school over 3 years ago who equated parental involvement with parental control. They demanded special privileges for their children and tried to force the staff to change the entire culture of the school. When the staff refused, they tried to get the principal fired. To me, that is not parental involvment. Whittier has a strict, but warm atmosphere. Whittier is a safe place. Whittier has implemented many positive discipline techniques. Whittier fosters amazing academic growth. Whittier has 0% teacher turnover. Our 1st grade daughter reads above grade level and adores her school. Whittier has an active, diverse PTA. Whittier's principal listens and acts when the PTA shares concerns. Prospective parents: visit the school and talk to current Whittier parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2010

Before sending your child to this school check out the DPS web site and read the School Satisfaction Survey filled out by the students. Pay close attention to the answers to questions 13 and 14 for the Grade 3-5 students. I'm glad I did before enrolling my child.


Posted October 20, 2010

I have had my son at Whittier since Kindergarten and he is now in fifth grade. I have seen the school go through some changes: There is now a PTA, the CSC is active and the students now wear uniforms.. The things that haven't changed are the strong leadership of the principal, most of the staff and the strict, caring environment. I am so glad this is my neighborhood school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

Whittier is an excellent school. Our two children, a 4th grader and a 1st grader, are thriving there and our third child will be attending there next fall. The teachers and principal are wonderful and care about the students. I cannot say enough good things about Whittier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2010

I felt the administration was not engaged with parents and the surrounding community. We found a more responsive school elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

Look closely at the test scores and the practices of the principal and staff before deciding to come to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

My child is at Whittier and loves it. The school is very strict and the kids respond well. There is a very small group of former, elitist parents from a now-defunct parent organization that tried to force the principal to change his approach to running the school, in spite of Whittier s success. When these parents didn t get their way, they removed their children from the school and tried to get the principal fired. Fortunately the PTA and the staff came to the support of the principal and thwarted these efforts. The handful of negative parent comments posted on this web site are from parents from this former parent group. According to Denver Public Schools suveys, Whittier is in the top two of all Northeast Denver Schools for highest parent satisfaction. For an unbiased assessment of parent satisfactin with Whittier, visit the DPS website and search for School Satisfaction Survey .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

My son is very happy at Whittier. Last year he was a Mile High Scholar. Mr. Palmer runs a tight ship, and my son thinks the world of him. I think all the people involved with Whittier make it a wonderful asset to DPS. and I would not send my son anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2009

I was involved with Whittier K-8 for several years and found it to be a very dysfunctional environment. I think the lack of communication from the principal as well as the animosity displayed by much of the staff made for an unpleasant learning environment. I found a real lack of leadership from the principal with no attempts at positive problem solving. Parent paticipation was not encouraged and our family felt very unwelcome there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2009

I m a parent who lives in the neighborhood and I'm extremely pleased with Whittier K8. Our daughter just started Kindergarten and also attended two years of pre-school at Whittier. The principal (Jai Palmer) and faculty are exceptional. In a school with a 90% free and reduced lunch population, Whittier s test scores are amazing. Here is a sample of the results of some of their good work: 2009 3rd Grade Reading Scores 73% of Whittier s 3rd graders tested Proficient or Advanced in reading At same level as affluent schools such as Steele, Odyssey & Carson Park Hill, school of choice for many in our neighborhood, was 64% Ranked #20 out of 95 DPS schools. Ranked #3 out of 50 schools with higher than 75% minority students and higher than 75% free/reduced lunch rate. 8th Grade Advanced Placement Algebra Test For the April 2009 DPS test, 53% of the students passed. Average DPS pass rate is 5%.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2009

We did not have a positive experience at Whittier. We are absolutely thrilled with the school that we have chosen for our children. Thank goodness for school choice!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

I started my children in this school when it was about to be closed. They have over come major obstacles. They are ahead of the curve and so are my children. The staff rocks, PTA is pulls it all together and the princpal gives the kids in the community what they need. Keep up the good job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

I have two children at Whittier and am very pleased with the education they recieve. Whittier administration and staff put children first and are more than willing to work with parents who want to committ and partner to see that every child gets the best education possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
17%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
23%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible72%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Reading

All Students76%
Femalen/a
Male69%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible73%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%

Writing

All Students55%
Femalen/a
Male38%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English56%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students32%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible28%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities35%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant33%

Reading

All Students47%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible44%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities53%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant50%

Writing

All Students26%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible22%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities29%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students32%
Femalen/a
Male31%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible28%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities38%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English33%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant30%

Reading

All Students43%
Femalen/a
Male38%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible36%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English43%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant41%

Science

All Students14%
Femalen/a
Male13%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible16%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities17%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English14%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant15%

Writing

All Students21%
Femalen/a
Male19%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible20%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities25%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English19%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant19%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible60%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English65%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant58%

Reading

All Students46%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible45%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English50%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant46%

Writing

All Students46%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible40%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English50%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students39%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible36%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant39%

Reading

All Students52%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible55%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant52%

Writing

All Students39%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 44% 32%
Black 38% 5%
White 11% 57%
Two or more races 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Jai Palmer
Fax number
  • (720) 424-3065

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • None

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2480 Downing St
Denver, CO 80205
Phone: (720) 424-3040

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT