Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Whittier K-8 School 5

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
Whittier has been like a home to us for the past 11 years. All 3 of our children have gone or are still going to this school. The principal and staff care deeply about the students, and it shows. The academic rigor, strict rules, and cultural diversity make for a rich learning environment. Parents are always welcome to volunteer at the school and there is a very active PTA there. We wouldn't send our kids anywhere else!!

Whittier K-8 School 4

Posted September 26, 2015
- a parent
I've especially appreciated the way the special education team cares for my child and has been there for him over the years.


Whittier K-8 School 2

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
There are some amazing educators at this school, hence a two star rating instead of a one star rating. But, the current administration has major problems relating to parents in a constructive, healthy manner - especially parents who raise up concerns.

Whittier K-8 School 1

Posted August 21, 2012
- a parent
The principal lacks responsibility of bulling and assaults that happen at the school and on school ground I have been trying to get an incident report from him on a incident that my child was the victim in and he refuses to meet or even get on the phone with me. my child problem has been swept under the rug. So do not approve of this school or the bulling ( physical and emotional) that goes on in this school.

Whittier K-8 School 5

Posted November 28, 2011
- a community member
This school has a clear understannding of the population and community it serves. Almost all the staff has been there for some time and the school culure provides effective maangement and discipline techniques in the classroom and out.


Whittier K-8 School 5

Posted November 02, 2011
- a parent
This is our first year at Whittier. My daughter (ece) and my son (middle school) loves going to school every day. I love the small class sizes and strong parent/ teacher involvement. I am really impressed how active the principle, Mr. Palmer is with the students. The spirit of Whittier is unbeatable, no wonder they are now a "green" school! (One of very few in the NE district)

Whittier K-8 School 5

Posted August 28, 2011
- a parent
I was very sad to leave Whittier K-8. My son attended from Kindergarten to 5th grade. The principal, Mr. Palmer, is exceptional with the students and his staff. He always made time for me when I had questions or problems. The teachers and paras are loved by the students. I must say, I am truly impressed by the art teacher Ms. Lee. My son came home with such wonderful art work, I framed it to hang up. I miss my Whittier 'family' already!

Whittier K-8 School 5

Posted March 10, 2011
- a parent
My son and daughter both attend Whittier. I love that the school is smaller, I know my children won't fall between the cracks academically. The principle is VERY active in the school, I know he wants every child to succeed. Whittier is a great choice.


Whittier K-8 School 1

Posted March 10, 2011
- a parent
The adminstration staff is lackluster, they tend to ignore problems and make it out to be the child's issues. Parent teacher conferences are non-existant, bullying is a major issue at this school. Please don't send your child here for middle school. Try any of the other schools in the area first.

Whittier K-8 School 1

Posted December 08, 2010
- a community member
Before sending your child to this school check out the DPS web site and read the School Satisfaction Survey filled out by the students. Pay close attention to the answers to questions 13 and 14 for the Grade 3-5 students. I'm glad I did before enrolling my child.

Nearby schools

Whittier K-8 School
2480 Downing St, Denver, CO  80205
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (720) 424-3040
Last modified Whittier K-8 School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top