Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Montbello High School

Public | 9-12 | 1228 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 5, 2010

We're not just delinquents! Montbello is a school with alot of diversity, and hope. I am currently attending montbello high school, and i can say i am truly enjoying my time here, im enrolled as a 15 year old sophomore, nevertheless thanks to the help, suport, and guidence of the educators and staff at montbello high i am able to graduate next school school year, allowing me to leap ahead towards my ambitions and dreams. Despite the behavioral problems @ montbello its a great school! and if your willing to work....You'll learn, those who choose not to will fail -with love for my school ashane
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 18, 2009

I believe with the new leadership/new principal, Anthony Smith, I truly feel that Montbello will become the school that everyone knows it can be.


Posted December 1, 2009

If I had it all to do again I would not send my children to this school. It is a very large school with a lot of students which is fine. The teachers do not seem to have time to teach or to meet the challenges they are faced with. There are always going to be kids with discipline issues the kids who don't shouldn't suffer. I think a large number of teachers have given up on trying to engage the kids , on being creative. I would guess it's easy to teach smart kids. For a lot of childeren it just doesn't come that easy and they have gotten lost at Montebello and then the school just gives up. I hope I don't come off as a disgruntled parent, I'm not I have two children at different ends of the spectrum both at Montebello . Hopes this helps
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

Right now im a junior, currently in montbello HS. well i dont think the students are disrespectful they are all very nice and treat you with respect if you treat them the same way as well. over all i think this is a good school they have many clubs you can participate in and they also have many AP classes that students can take and challenge there selfs, they also have great teachers that teach the students what they need to learn but they also communicate with them and get along with the students. by my being here all my three years going on to fourth i think you should send your students to Montbello High School!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 14, 2009

I feel as if we are judge by all the wrong reason we are not disrespectful I do think we need changes and as a Senior I do not want to leave me school the way is it.....I feel as if everyone has gaven up on us and we have nothing to look forward or atleast move forward to. It hurts to see my school go down when we work so hard to keep it togather...I haven't seen nothing good come out this year and its depressing we need someone to step in. The principle is great but we need some motivation to help us go on.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 9, 2009

Well i think this school has change alot from back in the day. My child gets high grades and has lots of fun at the same time. Send your child to montbello!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

this school is not recommended by me at all. the students are disrepectfull and we never learn anything because we have to focus on them getting on task
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 22, 2009

Montbello needs to bring in a high quality leader with a strong vision that includes high expectations for students and staff.


Posted October 13, 2008

Montbello is not a bad school is actually a very good school, montbello offers alot of accelerated classes (ap). Also montbello has alot of different clubs. It has a good enviroment and theres help offer in every corner you turn into. I would sent my child to this school anyday. People judge montbello for what they have hurd of it, you dont know unless you walk the halls over all montbello is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2007

I am currently a student at Montbello High School.I came from Nebraska and I came from a college prepatory school (Omaha Central High). How I feel about the school is it is not really challengeing.They change their curriclum alot which does not let students learn to their full ability.As far as education their test scores are really low.Mr Wilson is trying to get the school intact with uniforms and all.They dont have a lot of clubs they have the basics clubs that every school has. Montbello does have issues.Is not a terribly bad school but its not the best school.They mainly need a base of structure either their is definitely alot of room for improvement.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2007

I was a student at Montbello when it was an okay school. It has progressively gotten worse. The students that do manage to escape Montbello are grossly unprepared for college. I was in the AP program with a 3.7 GPA, and still needed to take remedial math courses in college. The AP courses were not challenging, and they chased away the good teachers. Do not send your children to this school, they will spend the rest of there adult lives playing catch-up.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 28, 2005

Despite the negative image the media portrays of Montbello HS, I personally know that this school is actually a great school for students and parents. They offer more Advance Placement classes (college courses) than any other Denver Public School. My daughter was one of many sophomores who were the first in public schools to start taking AP courses. Many of their teachers love their jobs and therefore will go to any extent to make sure that all their students continue their education after high school; whether it's a 4 year college or a 2 year community college. People shouldn't judge a book by its cover.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2004

A lot of people judge and criticize Montbello because of either what they heard or saw on the news. Nobody really knows the truth unless you have walked the halls. Montbello is not a bad school. Every school has fights or students drinking and smoking. That's high school. I am tired of hearing people say Montbello is a bad place to go to school or frown at me when I say I am a graduate from Montbello. There are a lot of good students who come out of Montbello. There are a lot of good programs with in Montbello. We have students on the honor roll; we have students with 4.0 or higher GPA's; we have students taking accelerated classes; we have students continuing on to college; we have students doing an excellent job, but you never hear about that. 'You think you know, but you have no idea.'
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
7%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
23%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
9%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
3%

2012

 
 
5%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
16%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
3%

2012

 
 
5%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
6%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students0%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a

Reading

All Students25%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a

Writing

All Students0%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students3%
Femalen/a
Male5%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic0%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible3%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities3%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English5%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant3%

Reading

All Students29%
Femalen/a
Male20%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible28%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities29%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English40%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant29%

Science

All Students3%
Femalen/a
Male0%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic0%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible3%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities3%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English5%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant3%

Writing

All Students9%
Femalen/a
Male10%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic0%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible10%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities7%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English15%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant9%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

99%

Average ACT score

15

Graduation rate

65%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 69% 32%
Black 24% 5%
White 3% 56%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Antwan Wilson
Fax number
  • (720) 423-5801

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5000 Crown Blvd
Denver, CO 80239
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 423-5700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Options School
Aurora, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT