Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Denver School of the Arts

Public | 6-12 | 1043 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

100 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 14, 2009

Hello!! I go to D.S.A and right now i'm in 6th grade. The most heard rumour outside is that this school is for preppy kids. That is not true. i have many friends who don't even get enough money to liv ein a small house. The elctives and teachers there are great too. Especially Mr. Mediatore, the math teacher. if your kid never liked math like i did, they will when you get in 6th grade math. Mr.Mediatore is a very generous person. He is funny, and every body at our school thinks he is awesome. The electives can teach great things too, like piano or typing. Those are just one of many electives. If your kid gets in ti D.S.A, Congrats!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 14, 2009

My student has been at DSA for 3 years and will graduate next year. I would not recommend DSA for every student. What I usually tell friends who ask is, 'If you are happy where you are and feel you are being academically challenged, then stay put.' Otherwise, DSA is a good option. Academically it is adequate and AP classes offer some challenge. What makes the school special is the environment. Nobody is considered 'popular' because everybody is generally accepted for who they are. The diversity prepares students for the real world. My student has loved it and wouldn't want to be anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2009

hi, i'm a student at DSA and i've been attending since sixth grade. although things are kid of disorganized at school once your in the rhythm of you students and teachers you know your way around. Fitting in isnt hard at all because in the end you always have something in common with everybody in your major. Although as a student, we complain its really the best school you can attend if your passionate about your art form. There is rumor that the acedemics are weak because of our arts but i've had a pretty great education because the teachers acknowledge our demands of our art major and try to encorporate the majors into their projects and classwork. When in your major they can be pretty demanding because all the majors have some sort of deadline or another but when you love your art it doesnt seem like school work anymore!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2009

Great school for the artistic. My granddaughter attends with a dance major. My concern is that at DSA they are required to pick up so many dance class outside of the school. She just participated in the International Association of Black Dancers and the more proficient performers attended schools (i.e., Duke Ellington and Cleveland Schools of Arts) where all their requirements were met in the school. They took their academics during regular school hours and they danced three hours at the end of the day. This frees up students to do homework and be kids as well. Maybe DSA could incorporate this into their curriculum.


Posted December 31, 2008

I attend this school and believe that im not challenged at all! The teachers seem to all have issues and i dont enjoy it at all
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 16, 2008

just commenting on the comment made on Nov. 26 DSA is an amazing school. I am a new student this year, and it is weird. It took me a month to adjust to the diversity and freedom. It does not lack disipline! they just alow use to be ourselves. also passing period is a time to socialize and let extra energy out, because we work llyrea hard during class, and can't be to crazy during that time. Also you are correct most kids wouldn't be accepted socially in 'normal' schools, but give me a definetion of normal... its common... like everyone else... but 'normal' people don't have exciting careers. They work at stores and restraunts. DSA is a fabulous school for anyone wanting to pursue a vigorous career in the arts!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2008

I can't imagine going to any other school, I've always struggled academically, and through DSA I have been able to really except my education and become motivated to make good grades. My major, although very demanding, has taught me so much about who to achieve and meet my deadlines. I've met the greatest people at DSA: the most wonderful teachers and lifelong friends :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 5, 2008

I am a recent graduate of the Theatre program at Denver School of the Arts, and I could not have asked for more out of my education. Having attended the school for 5 years, I experienced many changes that took in the program, but through these adjustments, I was continually pushed by both my academic and acting teachers. I now attend one of the top Theatre Performance schools in the country, on a high talent scholarship, and am achieving much success here, due to the training I received at DSA. I can only talk about the Theatre Major, but know that it is not for the light of motivation and skill. For those looking to audition, be extremely sure that this is not just an extracurricular activity for you, rather a life / career choice. If so, grow for it! It is a wonderful place to grow and learn!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 6, 2008

I having experience of cheater school, public and this school is the best school that I ever meet and I love that my douther could be attend in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2008

I have been going to Denver School of the Arts since 6th grade and I am in 8th now. If you are looking for a safe, diverse, artistic school accepting all walks of life, D.S.A. is the place to go!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 17, 2008

I've gone there for years and have never been tired of my major. We do different things every year!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2008

I am a former student of DSA and recently left in the middle of the year to attend my local middle school because of DSA. They failed to meet my academic needs and the teachers were really mean and very rude to me and my peers. Along with the teachers being rude the students were also extremely mean. They bullied me and made my life very hard. I would come home everyday and cry. It makes me sad that I tried so hard to get in and then find out that I hated it. Overall I had a really awful experience at Denver School of the Arts.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 3, 2008

When I heard about this school, I immediatly wanted to audition. Violin has always been my passion so I tried out, and got in! I love this school. The teachers, both academic and major teachers push you to do your best. That's just what I needed. Before being here, violin was many times annoying, but now I have friends that do the same. I love being around people who want to pursue their dreams. I've seen the most amazing kids here who have done so much just to be here. This is my favorite school ever! Plus, you can dance or sing in the hallways and you won't get yelled at!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 8, 2007

I'm a third year vocal major at DSA and that school is my life! This is the best school i've ever been to. I will be going into Highschool next year and i cannot leave this school. It is my home.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2007

This is our daughter's 7th. year at DSA. For a student who has a desire to pursue the arts, this is the place to be. Academics are equal to any of the best schools. These kids are very busy, and on the whole they love it. Great school spirit and loyalty. Great parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2007

I have two children who have attended DSA. We have had overall positive experiences. The school has very high expectations of students, in both their academic work and their art work. There are no sports programs at DSA, however students can elect to participate on their 'home school' sports teams. This school is leaps and bounds better than the 'home school' that my children would have had to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2007

I go to DSA, and I find it an extremely good program. It is a magnet school, so be prepared to audition for you spot here. Sometimes I do feel that the academics are lacking, but I have still managed to get a quality education. The school is separated into 9 majors, Visual Arts, Theatre, Band, Orchestra, Piano, Dance, Video Cinema Arts, Stagecraft and Design, and Creative Writing. Most parents are involved and most students are dedicated. It truly is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2006

Having one child there who just matriculated into the school, I think that DSA academics are overrated. It is also very difficult to keep up with the posting of class assignments, as some teachers use their website spots and some don't. Summation: DSA has alot of in-house work to do to make it a truly great school. Parents should push hard for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2005

As an alumni of DSA now attending a major conservatory for music, I can assure you that the quality of education DSA has to offer is phonominal. It's not for everyone, but if your child fits, encourage them. DSA alone will not make them great, but it provides amazing opertunities and a chance to experience a semi-professional setting. DSA students are well prepared to compete in both academic and artistic fields after graduating.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 29, 2005

As parents of a 13yo girl, middle school is scary. For many years we heard fantastic things about this middle/high school but what we (and our daughter) looked forward to most was the small size and devotion of students to the arts. As DSA became the top rated school for academics, more and more parents pushed kids to audition for fewer openings. There is tremendous pressure on the school to expand beyond the size that made it wonderful, and to incorporate two opposing missions. There is controversy over whether DSA should remain a special facility for those with an unusually stong creative drive or a much larger and more typical urban school that offers ambitious parents a highly touted curriculum, even for children who have not previously felt compelled to explore their creativity enough to develope 'demonstrable' talent at auditions. There are frequent charges of elitism. For my child who is obsessed with Shakespeare it has been a bitter dissapointment to spend 90 minutes a day in an acting class with more than 50 other middle schoolers when half of them make fun of her more serious interest in learning. Far too many parents freely admit to me their child is there because there are no other acceptable district middle schools. Current graduating seniors in theatre have taken my child under their wings to mentor her and assure her it will be much better in high school, but they freely admit the school is losing much of what they loved most about it back when students begged their parents to let them go there. Now they claim even suburban parents pay professionals to identify and package any sort of 'DSA worthy' talent for bored, reluctant kids. We remain optomistic that other schools will finally improve options for those students who are less passionate than their parents about DSA. The academic programs are quite good, and parental involvement is reportedly higher than at any other school, but DSA risks being a victim of it's own success if it has to become all things to all ambitious parents, who in many cases would really hate to see their kids end up as actual artists.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female84%
Male93%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English87%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant87%

Reading

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch98%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant97%

Writing

All Students92%
Female92%
Male93%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female81%
Male76%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%

Reading

All Students96%
Female97%
Male94%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch97%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant96%

Writing

All Students94%
Female98%
Male88%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female69%
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Free lunch eligible39%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant70%

Reading

All Students90%
Female93%
Male84%
Black (not Hispanic)69%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant90%

Science

All Students77%
Female81%
Male71%
Black (not Hispanic)31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligible44%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%

Writing

All Students85%
Female90%
Male76%
Black (not Hispanic)69%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligible70%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Female58%
Male64%
Black (not Hispanic)18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant61%

Reading

All Students89%
Female91%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)59%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Free lunch eligible72%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Writing

All Students83%
Female87%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)65%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Female44%
Male59%
Black (not Hispanic)19%
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Free lunch eligible38%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch50%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English48%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant49%

Reading

All Students94%
Female95%
Male93%
Black (not Hispanic)95%
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Free lunch eligible94%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant94%

Science

All Students76%
Female73%
Male80%
Black (not Hispanic)29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligible56%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%

Writing

All Students79%
Female83%
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)52%
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

94%

Average ACT score

24

Graduation rate

97%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 57%
Hispanic 17% 32%
Black 9% 5%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Asian 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Patti Bippus
Fax number
  • (720) 424-1845

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Media arts
  • Computer animation

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Student council/government
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7111 Montview Blvd
Denver, CO 80220
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 424-1700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT