Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

D'evelyn Junior/Senior High School

Public | 7-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

43 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 4, 2011

D'Evelyn gave me the opportunity of a lifetime. Thanks to committed teachers and a rigorous curriculum, it has set me on a focused path and prepared me for both college and future career endeavors. Teachers here develop intellectual students who enjoy learning, rather than students who go to school merely for the diploma. Indeed, D'Evelyn teachers make the students actually interested in the material. Also, having played a sport here for 4 years, I will undoubtedly vouch for this school's extracurriculars. Our teams have improved significantly each year, and are no longer the weak 4A teams we have been in the past. But remember, the most important aspect of the school is indeed the quality of learning. Oh, and if you're a kid, not a parent, don't worry about any lack of partying. Nuff said.


Posted October 30, 2010

We have two kids at D'Evelyn and they have really excelled. Yes they work hard and it appears to have bostered their own self-esteem. Their attitudes are terrific, excited about learning and working hard ... ignited their competitive spirits. It is a competitive world out there and for them this is good preparation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2010

I really do not know who is writing all these reviews, but I guarantee they are rigged like everything else in this school. My child is in 8th grade and I cannot wait to get her out of this place. She has had some good teachers but she has had some awful teachers. The ineffective teachers in this school are lazy, burned out, and only here for a free ride. This school is ONLY interested in test scores! There is no interest in developing the entire person. The homework load is from the time they get home until they go to bed. Homework is also loaded up on the weekends. Yes, this school does have good test scores, but at what price? If you want a positive educational experience for your child, pass this place up.They will be burned out by college, many are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

I've been a student here since 7th grade and am now a Junior. D'Evelyn is the absolute best thing that could have happened to me! Yeah, I'm sometimes jealous of some of my friends from other 'easier' schools; but I would never want to trade places with any of them now that we're all starting to look at colleges. If you're fortunate enough to get 'lotteried' in here, you will definitely walk away with an AMAZING education when it's all said and done! As for the few sour grapes below; in the 4-plus years I've been here, the D'Evelyn faculty have always been very respectful and fair to me and all of my friends. As for the students, I'm very proud to say that we're among the nicest, most helpful people you'll find ANYWHERE!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

Best school in the district, and one of the best in the country for a public school. Even if your child does not make it to higher education, every lesson taught there is a positive thing stays with them for life .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

D'Evelyn will definitely prepare you for college and encourages you to be whatever you want to be. The vast majority of the teachers are great, they offer help and make sure you understand the topic. Sure, we have alot of homework. But you can get alot of it done in a study period at the end of the day, and its really not that bad. However I agree some people below me, the administration is unorganized and too overpowering. Our assistant principles tend to pick 'favorites.' Administrative staff cannot seem to listen, if you have to talk to them about something. And you can be criticized. Lack of communication between the school and parents can be a problem too. Also, students are not given alot of independence. Upperclassmen are not too friendly to the lower, especially Jr. High. But otherwise D'Evelyn is a challenging but rewarding school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2009

Most of the teachers are good to excellent and buy into the concept of challenging students to live up to thier potential. All three of our kids received college scholarships to top schools due to their high school preparation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

The academics at this school are superb. The biggest problem is with the current principal who singles out and bullies students and treats them like they belong in a correctional facility, not like the hard working, over acheivers they tend to be. This creates serious attitude problems within the school. Difficulties tend to be of the lesser variety such as dress code violations, which are met with punishment not fitting the infringement. If you want your child only to get a good education, this is a great school. If you want your child to get an education and enjoy school, pick another one. This one instills good work ethics but leaves the student with many bad memories of their high school years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

My Daughter attends D'Evelyn. She was fortunate enough to get picked through the lottery as an eighth grader and is in her second year. Before D'Evelyn she attended a small private school. The transition has been seamless. Academic load and student pride remains high, if not higher. Do not be fooled by the rumors that these kids are 'Nerds'. They bully larger schools on every court and field in Colorado, as evidenced by CHSAA, the District and State Championships that they have won in their young existance. Any parent who would not want this high standard of Excellence for their child both in the classroom and in extra curricular activities has to be nuts. I for one am grateful for the structure for which the school is ran, including the strict disipline. It simply is the best Junior/Senior High School in Colorado.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

I am a D'Evelyn parent and I have to agree with the posting from December 27, 2008. Both my children received an excellent education, were well prepared for college, and received scholarships. I am glad they went there, but as stated the atmosphere in the school could be improved greatly! The conservative Christian majority of the school tend to run things. There used to be a 'diversity' club; no more. My own children were criticized by other students because they believed in evolution, harassed because of their political beliefs and at times made to feel unwelcome. For the most part the teachers are great; think the administration could do better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

I am a parent of four children that have attended D'Evelyn and I couldn't be happier. The best thing about the school is that it fosters a good work ethic. There is a lot of homework but since almost all of the students are college bound most students do the work. That makes for interesting dicussions in class where most participate. It really prepares the students for college. Many other schools have poor participation both by parents and by students but that isn't true at DHS. The amazing thing is that even though it is a lottery school (it doesn't get to select the smart kids like IB) we still have the top ACT score in the state, but we also had the top track and field runner last year (Kevin Williams). This year we have won the 4A golf finals and were in the final four for the state football.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

I am a D'Evelyn parent and I love most everything about the school. Great student body, great administration, many great teachers! Sports and extra-curriculars do not suffer from the academic rigor, and enhance the overall educational experience. I have to comment on the perceived 'lack of diversity' commented on by previous reviewers. This is a lottery school, and a public school, it cannot favor students based on religious beliefs, nor can it push a particular religion. All students and parents are welcome to participate. The 'overpowered administration' is actually overseen by a steering committee and a very strict series of rules and regulations which were part of the school's charter. The lottery system makes this school difficult to get into. One would think Jefferson County would see the results of this program and model more schools after it, so that more students would have access to this level of excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

I am a teacher at D'Evelyn. I have never worked in a school with a better prepared and knowledgable staff. Most of the staff is also continually striving to improve their teaching and their knowledge base. Our students graduate extremely well prepared for college if they put forth an effort to succeed. There is a lot of homework but it pays off. We have very strong languages, arts, music and theater. Many of our athletes also participate in these activities. Our athletic program is successful and as a smaller school, a greater percentage of kids get to participate. I have taught at several other schools and D'Evelyn is by far the best place I have taught. The facility is outstanding, the kids are great and I feel I am a part of an intellectually exciting and caring community. I plan to be here until I retire.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 15, 2009

I am an extremely happy camper. Both of my kids went to the elementary feeder school, Dennison. We experienced no hazing in the junior high/middle school years and my kids feel (felt) welcome and safe every day. The school has a closed campus, so kids are not out getting into trouble on their lunch hours. The teaching staff is very talented and cares about their students greatly. There are plenty of resources at the school for kids that fall behind or are having trouble grasping a subject. My family has not really experienced any of the conservative christian influence mentioned in other reveiws nor have we had to listen to the global warming/save the planet fanatics on the other side of the political isle. We consider that a positive on both counts. If you can get in to D'Evelyn, go for it! It's a private school education at public school prices.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2008

I am a D'Evelyn alumni, and thought the curriculum was first rate, the teachers are great, and the sports and extra-curricular activities are a great place to mature as an adolescent. However, the overpowered administration creates an oppressive atmosphere, and struggling students are often ignored and discouraged from attending the school. Furthermore, the Christian Conservative demographic dominates all aspects of the school, and creates a uniform atmosphere in which diversity is hard to come by. Great school, terrible environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 18, 2008

teachers think they know every way of teaching when they only know how to teach good learners
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 17, 2008

I am a student at Develyn and I love it. Although there is a lot of homework the nice atmosphere and teachers creates a great learning area for seventh greaders and 12 greaders. Develyn is great for preparing students for the exciting world of college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 29, 2008

D'Evelyn is helping me so much with college. When I was in High School I felt like a lot of pressure and work was put on me that other students didn't have in Jeffco. Now as I am more than a month into college, I am finding that I excel over other students and that I am not working nearly as hard as them to keep up.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 16, 2008

Bottoms up D'Evelyn is one of the best schools in the state! The kids there are polite and are not rude like some of the kids at schools in lakewood like Lakewood High school. My son went to Lakewood and it was the biggest mistake i have ever made!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2008

We are proud to be the D'Evelyn Nerds!! The kids are like any other school. You have the kids who dont and wont ever do homework, and the extremely talented sports people, and the extreme nerds. The kids dress like normal kids. We have a great volleyball program, sucessful football team and so much more. I didnt chose to go here but now I wouldnt leave if I had to. It is a big adjustment but the teachers are willing to help you anytime. Seniors often help kids also which is nice because it is sometimes easier to learn from someone who is more your age!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students97%
Female99%
Male95%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch98%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant97%

Reading

All Students96%
Female97%
Male96%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian100%
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch98%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant96%

Writing

All Students93%
Female95%
Male91%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian100%
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female95%
Male96%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant95%

Reading

All Students96%
Female100%
Male93%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant96%

Science

All Students86%
Female83%
Male89%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant86%

Writing

All Students91%
Female98%
Male85%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female82%
Male92%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant87%

Reading

All Students95%
Female96%
Male94%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant95%

Writing

All Students90%
Female90%
Male90%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female90%
Male94%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant92%

Reading

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch98%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant98%

Science

All Students93%
Female90%
Male97%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant93%

Writing

All Students88%
Female93%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English87%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

98%

Average ACT score

26

Graduation rate

100%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 56%
Hispanic 9% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Cross country
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10359 West Nassau Ave
Denver, CO 80235
Phone: (303) 982-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Havern School
Littleton, CO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT