Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 48 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


50 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


D'evelyn Junior/Senior High School 4

Posted September 12, 2014
- a parent
Two different results for our family because kids learn differently. The first, not fond of the school - but was a kid that likes to work hard - and is now in a top tier University. Second, needed more freedom, disliked the school and EVERYTHING suffered - transferred and within two weeks did a 180 in all facets of life. My believe it is a one size fits all school, if your kid fits - great, if not a grinder for work - not much attention, help and no compassion. Do not hesitate to pull your kid when the GPA starts to matter. One last note, despite the opinion of the school that college admissions is aware of the THEIR caliber of student - in my opinion is drinking from your own kool aid. Spoke to admissions at top tier schools out of state - "GPA is KING, congrats on the great ACT score but why a GPA of only a 3.5 - we received 45,000 applicants and not familiar with your school." To be clear - great school for the right kid - my advice, competitive world, your kid can study like a rock star - that does not get them into the right college. Yes, they may need to learn those skills when they get in - but is that not what most of had to learn at that point as well.
1 person found this helpful

D'evelyn Junior/Senior High School 5

Posted August 19, 2014
- a community member
Oh, I got your standard, the so called "Student growth rating" so a school with average 95-100 in 2012 will never get a 10/10 rating by greatschools.org because you can not improve from that score anymore, so you will always get 5/10 on that criteria. But a school with a 70 get to 72 will get a 10/10 on "Student growth rating". Anyone in their correct mind will think a school with an average score of 70 should be rated 10/10 but a school with average 95 should be rated 8/10? This is BEST standard someone came up with that I ever see in my entire life


D'evelyn Junior/Senior High School 5

Posted May 31, 2014
- a parent
Unmatched academics! If you are lucky enough to get drawn in the lottery (7th grade, as other grades are almost always full) you are blessed enough to have gotten into the best program in the area. Their remedial rate is 2% (state average is almost 40%) and their ACT scores are the best in the state year after year (average 27). Do they teach to the test? NO, they just have a rigorous program and expectations are high. The teachers, administration, parents and kids are on the same page and that is really the key to success. It's not for everyone, as the academic standards are high and your child either needs to be motivated or positively influenced by his/her peers being motivated. The homework expectations are high, but manageable, especially since they give a 7th hour study period daily to keep up. As far as the growth rate, their scores are really high, so you aren't going to see as high of a TCAP growth when they already have kids either proficient or above proficient. Their scores are amazing, even though they never do test prep or change their curriculum to do well on the test, as most schools in the area do.

D'evelyn Junior/Senior High School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
D'Evelyn is a fantastic school for our daughter. The staff are wonderful and truly care about the education of their students. Yes, they do expect a lot from students. Our daughter works hard in her work, but has also taken advantage of the many activities the school has to offer. We are also very pleased with the administration team as well this year. Mr. Edwards has done a lot to make D'Evelyn a more welcoming environment and a safer place for students. As our daughter ends her 10th grade year, we are looking forward to two more years and she is excited to have Mr. McKellips for Physics, we hear he is also an outstanding teacher. It is a lottery school and we still feel lucky to have gotten called.

D'evelyn Junior/Senior High School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
Love this school. Teachers are very caring and involved with kids, solid administration, and outstand curriculum. Rich extracurricular activities across both sports and the arts are available, and it's not unusual to see the star athlete singing with the choir. Ample opportunity for parent involvement across a number of committees.


D'evelyn Junior/Senior High School 5

Posted August 31, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has attended D'Evelyn since 7th grade and is now a senior. Yes, the school has been tough, but I have found most of the teachers to be outstanding, kind and caring. Parents are very involved. Guidance office has been very helpful to my daughter. I am sure her grades would have been much better at another school, but she is learning so much here. I feel very fortunate to be a D'Evelyn parent.

D'evelyn Junior/Senior High School 5

Posted August 30, 2013
- a parent
How sad that someone wouldn't even look at a school because of a handful of internet postings. If you are looking for a rigorous liberal arts and college prep program at a public school price, then D'Evelyn is it. Expectations are set high for everyone, but the school provides a great support network for kids who need extra help. Behavioral standards are set high too - yes, some bullying / teasing occurs at the middle school level. But show me a middle school anywhere in this country where that doesn't occur. In our case, it was dealt with satisfactorily. Overall the high behavioral standards and clear rule structure creates a safe and engaging learning environment. Work load is heavy, but who doesn't have to manage a heavy work load to get ahead in life. It's great preparation for college and life beyond. D'Evelyn is a great choice school, particularly for kids who are college bound and/or really motivated learners.

D'evelyn Junior/Senior High School 1

Posted May 29, 2013
- a parent
Staff tolerates bullys. Twice in two weeks my son was harrasssed in P.E. class and the teachers response was dull. They thtow students under the bus to protect their awards. If your child is driven and has no life then send them here otherwise run & run fast.


D'evelyn Junior/Senior High School 5

Posted May 19, 2013
- a community member
im going here next year 4 7th grade! cant wait! its gonna b really epic

D'evelyn Junior/Senior High School 4

Posted May 09, 2013
- a parent
I need to meet the families of the other two reviews posted in February 2013. We are in the same boat as we definitely don't lean right. My child is getting a great education at this school, and has been very happy. He's embraced his teachers, and has learned to manage his homework well in 7th hour, so the long nights are only occasional. The curriculum is top notch. But there is a strong right wing, conservative culture, and its the only thing I don't like about the school. I find it a bit disturbing that there are bible study groups as electives - it would be less disturbing if non-Christian groups were also represented but the school is small so limited population to pull from. The small size is a huge bonus compared to all the other public school options in the area. I do agree that all the negatives do lend to some great dinner time conversation, and have actually led to considerable learning experiences. I hope to raise children who can look at all sides of an issue prior to making a decision, and regularly being exposed to alternative points of view goes a long way towards that end.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

D'evelyn Junior/Senior High School
10359 West Nassau Ave, Denver, CO  80235
(303) 982-2600
Last modified D'evelyn Junior/Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
D'evelyn Junior/Senior High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 50 reviews. Top