Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Kent Denver School

Private | 6-12 | 663 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Englewood

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $219,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 7, 2012

KDS not only provides excellent academic preparation but they also provide excellent life preparation w/ their core values. I have a graduate & a current student. Each have their own unique talents, & abilities & KDS provides wonderful opportunities & support . They have unsurpassed college counseling that really allows for the individuality of the child. My grad is attending the U of Chicago which is known to be a highly selective and academic school and feels she was well prepared by KDS to work at that level. My children have explored many outstanding opportunities like the fabulous art and drama departments, athletics, speech and debate and clubs. As a parent I feel equally lucky to be a part of this community. The parent education programs provided by the parent assoc are of the highest quality. I have grown as person as well as a parent through these opportunities. I have made life long friends with other parents here and feel the atmosphere is more of a family If you are looking for a school that provides rigorous academics, phenomenal extracurricular activities while ensuring the growth of the whole child through the core values, then this is the school for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2012

I am also a student at kent denver and it has been amazing. The teachers always make sure that everybody know the material and I completely disagree with anybody who doesn't think that Kent Denver a great school. This school has challenging academic programs and great school leadership.


Posted August 6, 2011

Kent is an excellent school where students won't be allowed to be unsuccessful. The teachers know each student very well because of the small size, and there is the feeling of being in one of the most beautiful locations around. The academics are rigorous, and the students are challenged to be well rounded in their studies, fine arts, and sports. The few negative things I can say are regarding the lack of diversity within the school; they have a very large endowment and could definitely do a better job of having a more diverse group of students. The financial commitment of a Kent education shouldn't be taken lightly by any means. The athletics program is very strong in the larger sports (i.e. lacrosse, football, etc) but lacking in things like cross country. Lastly, it would a welcome and appreciated change to see the girls' sports locker rooms/showers upgraded so they are at least somewhat close to that of the boys' quality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2010

I am a recent graduate of Kent and would highly recommend it. The academics were excellent, and I found that my intellectual capability excelled tremendously in high school (I graduated cum laude and a national merit scholar). I believe much of this is due to the small classes and the close relationships students can develop with their teachers. Furthermore, my grade certainly had no physical bullying and I can't even remember an incident of psychological bullying. I am always shocked when I hear people from other high schools talk about the "mean girls" at their school, as I never witnessed anything like that (and that's not because I was in the "popular" group). While I am white, I had many friends ethnically and socio-economically diverse friends, and I never felt the need to have an expensive car or clothes, unlike many people I know at public high schools.


Posted April 5, 2010

I am a current student @ Kent and am thrilled with it. I totally disagree with the last entry. Kent is a great school with great values. The teachers go out of thier way to help you and are very friendly. If you want your child to have great academics and go to school in a great enviornment this is the school for you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 16, 2010

I was a student and it was by far the worst experience and worst seven years of my life. To all the other teenagers who do not get rewarded mercedes or BMW's for their 16 th birthday, this is not the school for you. This school has its' morals completely backwards. DO NOT allow your children attend this school unless you want them to be completely misguided in life. Several other students will agree with me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2007

I have had two very different children attend Kent. It is an absolutely extraordinary school, with a caring faculty providing a peerless education. Diversity is a great strength. I cannot say enough good things about this great school. My children are African American. Kent has an advisor system, so there is always one teacher who knows each child very, very well. Sports have always been exceptional, and arts are on the rise, with a state-of-the-art arts building. Kent discourages snobbery and 'mean girls' (and boys) and does a truly fine job of creating a place where kids have a happy, challenging adolescence, with close relationships with teachers and peers. The school provides huge amounts of support in college selection. I have a profound respect for the administration and faculty. I am grateful to have had my children attend Kent, and will always be a supporter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2006

Kent Denver School is amazing for devolping students. Whether your child likes sports, academics or the arts Kent Denver supports and nurishises their interests. THe new performing arts building is beautiful and will definetley encourage the arts. It teaches not only academics but it encourages intergrity and it helps form opionions.Kent Denver serves a wide varity of interests. With an amazing sports program and outstanding academics, Kent denver is the best school in Denver for future leaders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2005

Kent Denver has amazing academics, great teachers, and a wide range of activities for students. Best school in Denver, in my opinion.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 2, 2005

Kent Denver offers an oasis of education in a city where academics and character in the schools varies greatly. KDS nurtures creativity and excellence in their students. The student:teacher ratio is low, allowing for teachers to keep in close touch with the students both scholastically and developmentally. The school prides itself on developing students' interests, whether on the playing field, behind an instrument, or in academic competition. Each year, the school wins accolades for its academic achievement and a handful of teams win state championships in a broad offering of sports programs. Currently, they are adding onto their campus with a new Performing Arts facility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2005

Kent Denver is an amazing school for anybody to attend. The academics and teachers are all incredible. there is also tons of Art and athletic focus as well. Any student that attends Kent Denver school has the benefit of an undoubted successfull future.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 14, 2005

Attemding kent was an overall great experience and truly prepared me for college.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 62%
Asian 7% N/A
Black 5% 5%
Hispanic 3% 29%
Two or more races 3% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Todd Horn
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4000 E Quincy Ave
Englewood, CO 80113
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 770-7660

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

West Middle School
Greenwood Village, CO


St. Mary's Academy
Englewood, CO


Beacon Country Day School
Greenwood Village, CO



Aspen Academy
Littleton, CO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT