Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Humanex Academy

Private | 6, 8-12 | 50 students

Individualized instruction for students with learning differences

 

Living in Englewood

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $150,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

Great school for kids with special needs. My son just never was able to make it in the public .He is thriving and thinking about college now,that would have never happened with Humanex I am very thankful we found them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2013

I am so happy that we found Humanex Academy. Our son is very smart but was unable to sit still and produce quality work. His primary school teachers each found a way to work with him. However, once he started middle school and had to deal with 7 different teachers he was lost. Humanex is the perfect place for him. We are on day 6 and our son feels both supported and challenged. I will write again once he has been there for a few months.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2013

The teachers are great, the program is great, but the bullying needs to ne under control. There was so much bullying at that school


Posted February 8, 2012

My son currently attends this school and I love how they honor WHO my child is, his disability and still expect the best from him. This is a school where my son who has Asperger's, Mood Disorder and Anxiety can be himself, work as fast or slow as he needs, and feel a sense of belonging. On his bad days he always has a choice to work or not. One bad period doesn't ruin his day, he has choices. He is learning more here because the setting is right, the support is there, the knowledge and respect he gets and the comfort level he experiences. A true GEM of a school. I have my hopes and dreams back for my son that were all but given up on by his "home school". If mainstream school ISN'T working for your child, IT WILL WORK HERE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

Humanex Academy is a fantastic school. I am a former student and I still visit whenever I can. The class sizes are small, the teachers work individually with students, and it is a fantastic choice for those students who are not your "typical" public school students. Humanex helped me through some of the most challenging parts of my teen years, and without the amazing staff I do not believe I would have a high school diploma, nor would I have gone on to college and have a college degree. My brother also recently graduated from Humanex - the staff has helped my family more than they will ever know. Humanex cares about the actual students and their success, and any family looking for an excellent alternative school for their child should consider Humanex.


Posted July 2, 2008

It can be difficult to know what your child is capable of, then to have their school and teachers tell you that they deserve nothing more than a D or F. Humanex Academy connects with your child and finds out the best way that they learn, and teach them based on that. The teachers are incredible and very involved in the student's education. The administrators are extremely supportive, and they use a Love & Logic approach (I had not heard of this before, buy a book, it can do amazing things if you power struggle with your child). They offer tours and students to shadow before enrollment decisions, and their tuition is less than Denver Academy, and they offer so much more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

Our son's learning style did not work in the public school. Humanex Academy was a great match for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2006

Without Humanex Academy my daughter would never have graduated from high school. They stuck with her through thick and thin even when she was at her most challenging. Now that she has graduated she still stops by occasionally to ask for support in job hunting or college scholarships. It doesn't matter that there is a new principal--he takes just as much interest in helping her as the former principal. They don't succeed with every student, but they will give each one every opportunity and support to make the choices that will lead to a diploma and a future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2006

I just heard about this school from a social worker. I have one son with mild autism and one with ADHD. He said this school as great with only 7:1 ratio and lots of different ways for kids to learn, not just auditorily. They focus on the individual learning style of the child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2004

Finally, teachers that can relate and communicate on a level my son understands. Even though he was in special-ed with the public schools his whole life, they were failing him in more than grades. They only know one way to teach children. Humanex Academy stepped in and found what made my son tick. He went from D's and F's in public school to A's & B's. The teachers and staff at Humanex are the most caring and giving that I have ever run across. The class sizes are incredibly small for one on one help. Within months my son starting turning things around. It's the most exciting thing to see happen in front of your very eyes. My son has confidence in himself for the first time. Thank you Humanex!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 62%
Hispanic 5% 29%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Local District Public Schools
Local Private Schools
Denver Academy
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 40% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 20% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 10% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 10% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 20% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Arapahoe Community College
Auraria Tri-Campus Schools
Red Rock Community College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Pave and Janus Foundation Safe School Community Award (2004)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Therapeutic
School facilities
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 2:50 pm
School Leader's name
  • Daniel Toomey
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (303) 783-9159

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Direct instruction
  • GED
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
  • Therapeutic
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special education
  • Special eduction
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • District Placement transport
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Recycling club
  • Social Skills Building
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
More from this school
  • As a fully-accredited, alternative high school serving grades 6-12, Humanex uses an alternative educational approach that helps students to experience genuine accomplishments. One of our primary premises is that different people learn in significantly diverse ways, and our teaching accommodates these variations.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
55
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
60
Students typically come from these schools
Local District Public Schools
Local Private Schools
Denver Academy

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$18000 - $19000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Arapahoe Community College
Auraria Tri-Campus Schools
Red Rock Community College
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 40%
4 year college - 20%
Military - 10%
Vocational - 10%
Workforce - 20%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2700 S Zuni Street
Englewood, CO 80110
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 783-0137

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT