Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Englewood, CO
Students enrolled: 700
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Mary's Academy 5

Posted August 28, 2014
- a parent
St. Mary's Academy is absolutely outstanding. Even before our family welcomed our first child we discovered so many positive attributes about this school from those who either attended or knew of St. Mary's excellent reputation. The teachers, principals, leaders, staff, parents, alumni, and many others affiliated with SMA strive to foster a strong sense of community and caring. They are passionate advocates for realizing students' academic and personal potential. What's more, they stay well informed regarding the lastest instructional techniques, technology, culture trends, and other significant issues that impact educational quality. Our daughter has attended SMA since kindergarten. As she begins high school we are incredibly proud of the young woman she has become and anticipate GREAT things ahead. As with all educational environments, it's critical that parents stay engaged, proactive, and communicate constructively when concerns arise. Our family highly recommends St. Mary's -- celebrating 150 years; the first school to award a diploma in Colorado "Territory"!

St. Mary's Academy 5

Posted August 28, 2014
- a parent
Truly a "GREAT" school with a robust history and amazing faculty. The caliber of education at St. Mary's Academy is unequaled in Colorado. Though a few parents have expressed concerns, I believe these issues are isolated and rare. St. Mary's is special. It is an inspiring place to learn. The academics are top-notch. Sending our child to St. Mary's was the best decision of our lives.


St. Mary's Academy 1

Posted August 22, 2014
- a parent
Run, don't walk, away from this lower school. We are spending thousands of dollars on counseling for our son after being severely bullied in the lower school. They could care less that he was traumatized there. Do not be fooled by promises of "happy day". Horrible on so many levels, but especially when considering the damage they've done without blinking an eye.

St. Mary's Academy 5

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is in the lower school and it's awesome. She's in the 2nd grade and reads at a 5th-6th Grade Level. She does all kinds of multiplication and beginning division problems. In comparison to her peers at other schools public and private she is further along academically and frankly she is kinder socially. I love the teachers and the Principals and most importantly they love my daughter.

St. Mary's Academy 5

Posted March 11, 2014
- a parent
I love Saint Mary's Academy lower school! Teachers concentrate not only on what children learn but how children learn. The curriculum entails an integrated approach which emphasizes the active learning process. The process, which encourages cooperative learning, includes problem solving and decision making. Young learners are provided with essential learning skills, cooperative social behavior, appreciation for the arts, good study habits and physical coordination, these are sequentially developed for each grade level. My child wakes up on the weekends wishing that it was school day!


St. Mary's Academy 5

Posted March 11, 2014
- a parent
We LOVE St. Mary's Academy! Our child has been thriving at this school for 4 years. She is in 3rd grade and reads at a 6th-7th grade level and excels in math as well - all from what is provided at school along with normal reinforcement at home (reading before bed, counting change back, etc.). The teachers go out of their way to present material in creative, hands-on ways which is engaging to the children. They also spend time engaging and challenging each child. Additionally, the classrooms are organized in fun, creative ways which keep the kids moving around and blood flowing to their brains. Our daughter has experienced social struggles but they are normal struggles we would expect her to encounter at any school. From our experience, St. Mary's is keeps a finger on the pulse of education and strives for excellence from every angle. We are extremely happy at St. Mary's and plan to have our youngest child start there in the fall.

St. Mary's Academy 5

Posted March 11, 2014
- a parent
I absolutely disagree with the negative comments I see posted regarding the level of education provided by St. Mary's. My daughter can go up against any public or private school gifted and talented program! I understand not every school is for every child. But the results of a St. Mary's Academy education are confident, independent, values driven, future leader that attend great colleges and go on to do great things with their lives!

St. Mary's Academy 2

Posted March 09, 2014
- a parent
We had high hopes for St. Mary's and even turned down a last minute invite from St, Anne's to keep our daughter there from Kindergarten through 3rd grade. We knew that we had utterly lucked out with our 1st/2nd grade teacher and team. But we had been warned by other parents on their way out to keep our eyes on the curriculum. We tried. Many promises were made - things would be different! The only thing that was different was that the bullying was coming from the teachers instead of being stopped by them. Educational testing showed that there were "great glaring holes" in her education that ought to be but weren't. Predominantly in areas like civics, vocabulary, and, math. Compared to someone taking the same test from public schools? St. Mary's kids couldn't identify 3 branches of government, what a myth was, or how to memorize the multiplication tables rather than just rapid-adding. We pulled our daughter mid-year and placed her in a nearby school that nurtures kids who are gifted but might face challenges. She blossomed right away I hear the high school is different - but I wouldn't recommend the lower school except for average middle-of-the-road students.


St. Mary's Academy 5

Posted December 16, 2013
- a parent
What I like most about St. Mary's Academy is the academic standard, the family atmosphere and the caring of teachers and administrators. Not only are our children prepared academically but also socially. As independent thinkers they are given the tools for leadership. The relationship between student and teacher continues to set us apart from other area schools. Both small class size and flexible schedule allow these great bonds to form. St. Mary's Academy provides the best education in the region and among the top schools in the country.

St. Mary's Academy 5

Posted December 11, 2013
- a parent
During the last year we moved from Australia to Denver. Like a previous reviewer we thought the small environment of SMAS might make the transition of our 3 children ages 8, 10 and 13 easier. And we were right! Remarkably all of our children have made many friends and have been welcomed and included with open arms. There were transition issues with academics and friendships but we feel the teachers worked very hard with us and our children to work issues out to enable the children to adapt. The community is very supportive and inclusive. Could not be happier.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Mary's Academy
4545 South University Boulevard, Englewood, CO  80113
(303) 762-8300
Last modified St. Mary's Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
St. Mary's Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top