Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dry Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 423 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 25, 2014

I have had the best experience with Dry Creek. I have seen such a great improvement academically in my child. His love for learning has gone through the roof! I am so happy I brought him to Dry Creek. This is a GREAT place with awesome teachers and the best principal EVER. What a wonderful environment for learning and development. -My child is in the first grade at Dry Creek and the Fox Creek teachers are the BEST! They do a tremendous job -the level of faith, respect, and appreciation I have for them and what they do, is indescribable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2014

We recentely moved here from a small rural town in Kansas. We have been very impressed with the school, teachers and all we have met. Everyone very helpfull and extremely friendly!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2014

We have been very pleased with our experience at Dry Creek. The teachers are hyper aware of our child's strengths and weaknesses. We had a minor bully situation and all of the teachers including the aftercare program were on it immediately. We love Principal Sigmund and appreciate him greeting us every day in the parking lot. We are lucky to selected this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2013

Huh, interesting review below with the "suffers from overcrowding." In fact, there are three classes going on in each space when you get beyond kindergarten. For those of us who understand the Dry Creek model and are part of the Dry Creek family, this isn't an issue. In fact, it is part of why this school is so successful. If you are concerned about this as a parent, you should come for a tour. The organization of children into "Creeks" is a real strength and I've found the classes to be quiet and orderly, even in the lower grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2013

This school suffers from overcrowding. They have two classes going on at the same time in the same room. Then they turn around and question why kids can't focus. What a joke.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2013

Wow! Six years with a child at Dry Creek is coming to an end, and it's overall been a wonderful experience, for our child and for us as parents. They offer many extra choices for kids' activities, they seem consistent with their teaching philosophy from year to year, they seem to work well with the kids at all levels, so everyone has equal opportunities for success. Every kid is different, every teacher is different, and they really seem to make it the best learning experience possible. This is a big span of a kid's life/learning development, and they seem to take that into consideration at each level. They keep the kids interested as much as possible, and accountable. Our child has always wanted to go to school and to meet teacher expectations. We have been pleased with the learning experience of our child, and we would recommend this school as a wonderful, safe, happy place to have a child in public school. Thank you Dry Creek Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2012

I wish I could give this school a higher rating than 5. My daughter was previously in the Aurora district, which you could tell they lacked the education. My daughter came to this school last year in November and they tested her levels, which she was a little behind in some areas but this school cared to catch her up to where she should be. She loved her teacher and he was wonderful. She is back for third grade and she is just so excited to be back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2012

Amazing school! My kids have been at Dry Creek since pre-school. The teachers are amazing! The building is very safe, secure and clean. We love being a part of the Dry Creek Community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

5280 Magazine lists Dry Creek as a top public school in Colorado! This is a result of superb academic preparation and a caring environment. My daughter was blessed to have attended Dry Creek for 4th and 5th grade. She went on to middle school and is in all the advance classes and is doing great due to her education at Dry Creek!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

I have been very happy with this school for my daughter. All of the teachers have been wonderful for her academic growth. They understand children and meet their needs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2011

I agree with the post of December 30,2010. With one exception, the teachers are top notch. However, not a lot of welcoming parents. If you are in with the PTCO good for you, if not, they certainly wont extend themselves. It boasts of Spanish, any exposure is good but a native speaker should be teaching. Sadly, after one year of excellent media teaching and guidance from a passionate person with a teaching degree; we will again go back to" here is your SRA card, hope you learned something kid." Searching for another school home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2010

Dry Creek was our 1st of 2 top-rated schools in the Cherry Creek School District and we left CCSD and went private for many legitimate reasons. Our feelings were not simply hurt, nor were our children s feelings. And our children did not have any special needs. The problem with such a forum as this is it does not allow for complete reviews with tangible evidence being able to be supplied. My husband and I both have EXCELLENT graduate-level educations and very successful careers and neither CCSD nor DC lived up to our standards or the standards that every child deserves in education. To sum our experiences with them up, CCSD and DC did not give our children the learning foundation they needed to be life-long learners and successful citizens in the myriad of situations they could face in life. BEWARE of DC and the Cherry Creek mystique. If CCSD is the best school district in Colorado and DC is one of the top-rated elementary schools in CCSD, I fear for Colorado s future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2010

I have had kids in Dry Creek for the past 6 years and it has been an awesome school for both. They have resources to help those who need extra support, not just volunteers but actual reading specialists and educated teachers assistants. Parent volunteerism is high also. The goal of the school is to prepare ALL of the kids to take college prep classes in middle/high school. My son in middle school is now in advanced classes likely due to his strong foundation in elementary school. The teachers are top notch, they truly care about the kids. We drive across town to attend Dry Creek through School of Choice, though now we are trying to move to the area. The principal is very professional and very approachable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

This is my first year at the school. I would rate Dry Creek as a A++. My son is thriving and tells me how much he loves to go to school. The school is warm and inviting and the teachers work as a team. We are lucky to be here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

We drive from out of district to go to this school and are very happy. The team approach and open classrooms have a great learning opportunity. Even with the open classroom, the children are focus and on task. It is a welcoming environment. The school is masterfully lead by the principal who is seeking continual improvement and consistently providing high quality education for the teachers and the students. Children are rewarded for positive behavior. Children are given several way to excel. It is worth taking a tour to learn more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2010

I drive 8 miles each way to send my son to this school. He loves it here. The teachers are extrememly knowledgable, and caring. They have GT available, and Spanish is a rotation for all kids in all grades. It has a warm family environment that reminds me of going to school when I was a kid. We really love it there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2010

After having one child enrolled in a different CC school and not being happy with it, we applied to Dry Creek. It's now a few years later and we have 2 children attending Dry Creek and we could not be happier! This school offers a private school education in the public school system. My children are challenged and pushed to be the best they can be. The teachers are outstanding and experienced and take such an interest in the kids. The parent involvement is amazing, the media center rivals no other, and the principal is a constant presence. Having taught in another state myself in a school where the principal was a paper pusher always behind closed doors, Mrs. Roybal is a welcome change. We are blessed to have our kids attend Dry Creek.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

After researching CC schools, we landed at Dry Creek for a tour one day and have not left since. The kids show up every day excited to learn and ready to be challenged. There is a real sense of community that is palpable as you walk down the hallway. The teachers care about each and every child. It is great for GT learners but there is a great emphasis placed on creating a whole child, not just a smart one - we love our school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

Dry Creek Elementary School is an excellent school! Students are challenged to learn and grow above grade level expectations. Staff is happy and friendly and willing to take the extra step to makes students successful! Dry Creek is a great place to be!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 10, 2010

Dry Creek is the best place to be. I couldn't imagine teaching anywhere else in the world. The staff is extremely cohesive and has the desire to help every child be the 'best they can be'. My own 2 children attended Dry Creek and both of them were extremely prepared for middle and high school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female79%
Male94%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%

Reading

All Students83%
Female79%
Male88%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%

Writing

All Students59%
Female61%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English62%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
Female95%
Male97%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch98%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant96%

Reading

All Students96%
Female95%
Male97%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch98%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant96%

Writing

All Students86%
Female88%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English87%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female95%
Male93%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant94%

Reading

All Students97%
Female97%
Male96%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch97%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant97%

Science

All Students85%
Female84%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%

Writing

All Students95%
Female100%
Male89%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch97%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 56%
Hispanic 11% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 3%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7686 East Hinsdale Ave
Englewood, CO 80112
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 554-3300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT