Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cherrelyn Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 16, 2014

Cherrelyn offers a great community feel. The children and the teachers connect well with one another. The principle is really nice. She may not always have a minute right then to talk to you, but if you work with her and the office, time will be made. Sadly, I think most of the complaints made in these reviews could be solved with more parent envolvement. As a parent who has both been the drop and go, and the volunteer and help sort, if you can participate in the school, experience is better. They are working on improving state test scores, but also, working to ensure the kids understand. I have noticed from personal experience with my own children currently attending, that they don't wait for the kids to fall behind before they have an intervention, rather they try to catch the students back up prior to them failing. Overall, as with any school you receive what you put forth into it,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2013

All three of our kids love this school, in fact our oldest has done better here then at field elementary! The teachers here care and really work with the kids and parents
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

Very disappointed, especially in the administration. The principal is cold and anti-social, she will find just about any excuse possible to avoid sitting down with a parent to discuss any issue. Additionally, it appears the admin is more concerned with keeping teacher salaries in check than they are in keeping strong teachers on staff. Some very well respected teachers were non-renewed and replaced with teachers right out of college this past year, and with such low scores and students below grade level, how can you afford to not have strong teachers on staff? All in all, Cherrelyn is a mediocre school with poor administrative leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2012

Speechless- just speechless. Unpleasant experiences caused my family to find a different district to call home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

Great school!!!!!! my daughter is in kindergarden and her teacher is wonderful. all the staff is always so nice and helpful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

Cherrelyn Elementary is where 5 of my children have attended and I like the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

My son went there and he was happy at that school. Everyone cared about each other there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2009

My kids currently go to this school. They both have done really well. I think the rating of this school is reflected more by the lack of parental involvement than error on the administration's part. I volunteer on a regular basis and have noticed that a lot of parents just don't take an active part in their children's education. Of course there are exceptions, as we have some very dedicated parents. I don't want to discount their hard work. But I have noticed that a lot of parents don't really work with their children inside or outside of school, which is fundamental for learning as well. I do agree with another reviewer that the CSAP is really pushed on them. I feel that this has to do with the rating. CSAP affects that, so it's something they want to improve, naturally. But they do push it more than I would like.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2009

My son went here for 2 1/2 years. K and 1st grade were great. He had wonderful teachers. At the 2nd grade the CSAP started to get pushed down his throat. He has was showing signs of being G/T. We asked the teacher and principal about what programs the could offer him and we were told they have a great program for 4th and 5th graderr, but nothing for 2nd. We pulled out our son and enrolled him at Charles Hays for the first time since he started 2nd grade he has not said 'School is boring, I don't learn anything.' He tells me about other Countries he is learning about and what he can do to help other people and the enviroment as well as learning reading, writing and math all at a challaging level. I was very dissapointed with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2006

I've been pleased w/ this school. I appreciate all of the effort that goes into the many variety of extracuricular activities, the attention to giving back to the community, and the excellent teacher leadership. I have also appreciated the teacher and principle's attention to concerns I have had, as well as the cutting-edge labs available for students and teachers. My kids have had some struggles w/ a few bullies at this school and I also feel there is too much focus on CSAP preparation but we try to make changes where we can. If you go to any PTSO meeting you will see the sincere desire to keep this as a high-quality environment for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2006

I am also dissapointed in this school. They focus too much on csap in the second semester allowing their students to fall way behind in school.Focus too much on personal gaines and do not allow students to be kids ie;Halloween Parties, Valentines, no ribbons on Field Day. This might not sound important to adults, but look back to your school years and remember how you looked forward to them.They will not take into consideration of your complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2005

This elementary school has escellent teachers with many years of experience and offers a high standard of eduacation. The K and First grade teachers offer an excellent focus on reading and math. They offer art, PE and music weekly and have other extracurricular activites such as chess club. The level of parental involvement varies but is not at a very high level.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 18, 2005

this has very limited extra curricluar acctivities. I am very disappointed wtih this school. I believe that most of the students are academically behind other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
27%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
29%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students32%
Femalen/a
Male17%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)48%
Free lunch eligible19%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities43%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English38%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant32%

Reading

All Students31%
Femalen/a
Male25%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)41%
Free lunch eligible25%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities38%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English40%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant32%

Writing

All Students16%
Femalen/a
Male8%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)24%
Free lunch eligible5%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities21%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English21%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant16%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
Female56%
Male53%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Free lunch eligible57%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English56%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant56%

Reading

All Students58%
Female63%
Male53%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Free lunch eligible55%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%

Writing

All Students35%
Female46%
Male21%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)37%
Free lunch eligible27%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch56%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities43%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English38%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students22%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)26%
Free lunch eligible16%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities30%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English27%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant22%

Reading

All Students36%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)33%
Free lunch eligible29%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities47%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English43%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant36%

Science

All Students19%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)21%
Free lunch eligible11%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities25%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English23%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant19%

Writing

All Students24%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)22%
Free lunch eligible12%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities32%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English29%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant24%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 56%
Hispanic 28% 32%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4500 South Lincoln St
Englewood, CO 80113
Phone: (303) 761-2102

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


All Souls School
Englewood, CO




St. Mary's Academy
Englewood, CO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT