Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Englewood High School

Public | 9-12 | 621 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, April 20, 2014

This school saved my child's life. She was a victim of bullying at her previous high school, not only causing her grades to drop but instilling a fear in her that no child should ever have to experience. I had countless meetings with counselors and school officials who did nothing. Because the school failed to protect her time after time I had no choice but to remove her from the situation and pull her out for good. That was when I found CFAHS. Although my daughter was not the typical alternative student, she was accepted and has thrived ever since. She is set to graduate 6 months early with 100% in every class. She is concurrently enrolled in college, which the school is paying for, and maintains straight A's in all 3 of those courses as well. CFAHS curriculum includes requirements for things like CPR & First Aid, Community Service, ACT Testing, Resume' Writing, Applying to College & Career Portfolio, just to name a few. These things are not required, and are rarely even offered, at other public schools. The kids are taught responsibility and accountability and are judged by their peers if they mess up. I would give CFAHS 100 stars if I could!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2014

Englewood has it's good aspects and a few stigmas. The education I received during the four years I spent there was fantastic. There are a lot of different electives to choose from along with higher level/college courses available. Like it's said about everything else, you get out what you put in. Administration did everything they could to help students and staff achieve their true potential. The teachers put the students ahead of everything else. If you didn't get anything educational out of the coursework, you did learn the hidden curriculum of hard work and societal morals. All in all, it wasn't a bad school. The students who didn't care categorized it as a bad place. Most of the stigmas included that EHS students are incompetent, lazy, and deviants. This was the earlier EHS and those stigmas were deteriorated with our band winning first place at state, numerous scholarships won by our students, and well... we have a twenty-first century STEM program. The old Englewood lives on with the alumni and community. The new Englewood will thrive another century as well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 17, 2011

I am very happy with our experience at EHS. They haven't lost the community concept. They offer several upperlevel classes and a good variety.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Englewood is a small community with a small school district. My son has been attending Englewood Schools for 6 years. While not a top rated distrct the classes are generally small and the teachers are very involoved with the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2008

I am a former student of EHS. I loved this school! I went to Arapahoe High School (a top rated CO school), my freshman year and chose to return to Englewood schools because I just wasn't cutting it at AHS. And it wasn't the school's fault by any means. The atmosphere at EHS was just a better fit for me. I graduated with a 3.9 GPA. I enjoyed Englewood because it's on block schedules. In my opinion, that allowed for more time to really study and learn about the course we were taking. Also, due to the school being a bit smaller, I personally feel that students are given more one on one attention then at the bigger schools. I also feel that I was better prepared for college due to EHS and it's teachings.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 11, 2007

I am loving Englewood! I would never switch to another school if I had the chance to. If you are a parent I would definitely look in to this school and its academics. The teachers are great and so is the environment
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 14, 2007

I am currently attending Englewood High School and I can honestly say that I detest it here. As soon as the semester comes to its closing, I am certainly transferring. There are many students there that think they are 'the toughest kid on the block', and are sent into a frenzy when given the slightest wrong look. The environment is acidulous. While its base academics are on par with many of the other schools, that is all it has going for it. Englewood recently decided to cut many electives. The fact is, colleges want a well rounded student, not just academic wise. Judging by what I see from my peers at this school, there is a vast majority that just don't want to try. If you want your son/daughter to enter an average school and get an average job then think Englewood.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 18, 2004

The school is a very good place for all the children. They are provided with a save learning environment, and teachers that get along with the students on a friend to friend basis. My daughter had never been excited about math until her sophmore year when she got the best math teacher ever(in her own words), Mr. John Lawless. In my oppinion Englewood High School is the best school you could possibly send your child to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

the atmosphere that the student body and the teachers make in this school is really accepting. its a fun and easy learning environment.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
1%

2012

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
44%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
13%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
26%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students1%
Female30%
Male23%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic2%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)1%
Free lunch eligible0%
Reduced lunch eligible6%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch1%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities2%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English1%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant1%

Reading

All Students49%
Female60%
Male38%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligible65%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch52%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities56%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant49%

Writing

All Students38%
Female48%
Male28%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)48%
Free lunch eligible30%
Reduced lunch eligible53%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch41%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities44%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English39%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students18%
Female15%
Male22%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic14%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)23%
Free lunch eligible6%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch29%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities22%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English20%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant18%

Reading

All Students54%
Female58%
Male49%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Free lunch eligible37%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English56%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%

Science

All Students33%
Female35%
Male32%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)39%
Free lunch eligible19%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch42%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities40%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English37%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant33%

Writing

All Students30%
Female32%
Male27%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)33%
Free lunch eligible15%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch38%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities35%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English31%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

97%

Average ACT score

17

Graduation rate

72%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 57%
Hispanic 29% 32%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3800 South Logan St
Englewood, CO 80113
Phone: (303) 806-2266

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Mary's Academy
Englewood, CO



Humanex Academy
Englewood, CO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT