Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Colorado's Finest Alternative High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 8, 2013

Our daughter just graduated from CFAHS. This school is a gift . The teachers exemplify the true spirit, intent and goal of their profession. We moved from NH is February of 2012 when our daughter was in her Junior year at Bedford High School. While BHS might rate higher than CFAHS, it failed my child and impeded her education. If we had remained, she probably would not have graduated despite thousands of dollars spent on our part on an Educational Advocate. Our daughter drove 45 minutes each way to attend CFAHS because we recognized the gift of this school. This school recognizes and accepts different learning styles. The teachers care about educating and making a difference and not about prestige . Everyone on the staff is a hero our my minds. They helped my daughter recognize and cultivate her potential. She always had the ability to succeed but never the confidence. Not only did she graduate on time but she also received a scholarship from the Englewood Foundation. Her old HS had written her off, CFAHS helped her write the ticket to her future. There are not enough ways to express our gratitude! Jackie & Brian - Parker, CO.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2013

CFAHS has a unique mission to re-engage students that need extra support. The relationships with teachers make all the difference. These students are individuals with great potential, sometimes they just have barriers to overcome. Attend the Rose Ceremony if you have any doubt about an alternative program and your mind will be changed!


Posted January 8, 2013

Horrible school. Have been attending CFAHS for the past year now, and in that year the school has changed my attitude about school twice. First, I absolutely loved it! Enjoyed going to school, loved the enviornment. And now? I hate it. I'm scared to go to school due to the amount of fights, too many people in too small of a building, and I the teacher don't genuinely care about the students like they once did. I DON'T RECOMMEND THIS SCHOOL AT ALL.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 2, 2011

Love this school!! My son transferred from a High School in the Cherry Creek School District due to his lacking grades and motivation. Since he has been attending CFAHS he has talked about college and his goals after graduation. He has made an AMAZING turnaround in his outlook on school and also in his attitude. I'm so excited for his future and so is he!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2010

My son transferred to CFAHS his senior year from a Douglas County school of about 2000 kids and loved it, he actually enjoyed going to school and the teachers were excellent and actually wanted to see him succeed, he has moved on to a 4 year college and earned a scholarship for his gpa, this never would have happened at his other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

My daughter now attends this school and I think it is fabulous!. All schools should have this type of program. My daughter now loves getting up and going to school. I highly reccommemd it and it's staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

My brother graduated from this school. So when my daughter started feeling negative about her High School we decided to look into it. My daughter had given up on school completely and I feared she would end up a drop out. Thanks to CFAHS she is feeling positive about school again she loves going and she appreciates the atmosphere. The best part is that she is held acountable for her attendance and grades so we have to put very little pressure on her. The way this school functions w/ a no tolernace policy she is held accountable for all of her actions including skipping class. I also love that CPR certification and community service are part of the graduation requirements. Thank you for thinking outside of the box and moving away from the one size fits all approach! Now my daughter is flourishing in school again!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2008

I was a student at this school, and loved it the teachers where wonderful and talked to students as if they where people. If it was not for this school, i doubt that i would have ever graduated. I became a teen mother but still managed to graduate with there wonderful flexible hours.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 14, 2008

I love this school! We find so many ways to connect with students who have not succeeded in other schools. We provide the support, but the student still needs to put in the effort! I would not want to be anywhere else.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
3%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
27%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
15%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
2%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
10%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
9%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students11%
Femalen/a
Male16%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic0%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)19%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch13%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities11%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English11%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant11%

Reading

All Students46%
Femalen/a
Male45%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)46%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch40%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities44%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English46%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant46%

Writing

All Students33%
Femalen/a
Male32%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)35%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch27%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities31%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English33%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students5%
Female0%
Male10%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic0%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)9%
Free lunch eligible9%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch3%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities5%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English5%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant5%

Reading

All Students48%
Female48%
Male47%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Free lunch eligible44%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch49%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities46%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English47%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant48%

Science

All Students20%
Female16%
Male23%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic4%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)29%
Free lunch eligible26%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch16%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities19%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English20%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant20%

Writing

All Students13%
Female13%
Male13%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic4%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)21%
Free lunch eligible4%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch19%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities12%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English13%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant13%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 56%
Hispanic 41% 32%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 1%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2323 West Baker
Englewood, CO 80110
Phone: (303) 934-5786

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Humanex Academy
Englewood, CO



Summit Academy
Denver, CO





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT