Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Falcon Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 339 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

4 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 6, 2013

This year I have 3 kids at FESoT. My oldest is now starting her fourth year here. The overcrowding issues discussed in previous years no longer apply, in my opinion. The new principal and vice principal make it clear that they are there for each student and work tirelessly to continually improve. They have made a clear objective of hearing suggestions, complaints, etc from parents and have taken action to fix these when necessary. I have spent much time getting to know the staff and teachers and can say that they are of superb quality and integrity. They care deeply about my kids' success and are very open to working with me as a parent. One of my children has had some learning issues (concentration, possible ADD). The teacher kept in regular contact with me and came up with a reward system to help. The behavior and issues improved. Also, the principal and vice principal stay involved and know each child by name. I couldn't be happier with this school and am thankful to have my kids attending here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2013

The school is overcrowded, but the teachers (both resource & primary) are amazing. Our son has ADHD and we've struggled finding the right fit. He was moved into Falcon mid school year and within a month we saw his reading, math, and overall comprehension sky rocket. His teacher has a large class but she's very organized. I'm always aware of what is going on in class. The best part is--she's able to adjust to the different needs of the child. Our son's desk is in the back of the room so he can stand/move around while doing his work without distracting the class. Both his teacher/resource instructor have worked aggressively to make sure we figure out what works and what doesn't work and document those things in our son's IEP. The principle is one of the most genuine, caring individuals I've ever met. My son regularly got referrals at his previous school for things I considered minor (playing tag at recess) so the first time I received a call from Falcon's principle I expected something like that--but it was because she was giving our son a positive referral for his hard work. It brought a tear to my eye and my son was so happy. I thank heaven we made the choice to go to Falcon Elem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

Verbatim from the D49 official Falcon Flyer received 8/30/2011: "Overcrowding has been a hot topic in District 49. Falcon continues to be one of the fastest growing districts in the state. We currently serve about 14,000 students. This is perhaps the first year that our overall student population has not increased, but that does not change the fact that overcrowding continues to plague our district. Eight schools in District 49 are currently over-capacity. They include Woodmen Hills Elementary, Falcon Middle School,Falcon High School, Evans International Elementary, Springs Ranch Elementary, Odyssey Elementary, Ridgeview Elementary, and Skyview Middle School. Of the remaining schools, not a single one of them is less than 75% full..."


Posted December 9, 2010

Over the past two years, I have found that, top to bottom, this school has excelled in not only making my child accountable but also showing that they genuinely care about each child in their charge. Despite challenges on a day to day basis, they have always looked at the best qualities and promote academic and social growth. All I have come in contact show me that they love what they do, are good at it, and are not in it just for a paycheck.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female72%
Male73%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligible70%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%

Reading

All Students79%
Female79%
Male78%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%

Writing

All Students47%
Female59%
Male35%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Free lunch eligible39%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English45%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female100%
Male79%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant90%

Reading

All Students68%
Female91%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English67%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%

Writing

All Students48%
Female67%
Male35%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)46%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities55%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English46%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female58%
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant65%

Reading

All Students67%
Female67%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Free lunch eligible63%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English68%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant67%

Science

All Students50%
Female33%
Male63%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)51%
Free lunch eligible38%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch56%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English51%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant50%

Writing

All Students48%
Female50%
Male47%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)49%
Free lunch eligible38%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch56%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities52%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English49%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 57%
Hispanic 19% 32%
Black 6% 5%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12050 Falcon Hwy
Falcon, CO 80831
Phone: (719) 495-2256

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Banning Lewis Ranch Academy
Colorado Springs, CO


Imagine Indigo Ranch
Colorado Springs, CO


Ridgeview Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT