Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

The Pinnacle Charter School Elementary

Charter | K-5 | 1041 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 22, 2013

There has been a total staff change and it has seemed to do the school no better. The before and after known as the CUBS DEN is about the only saving grace this school has, that and it is one of the few in this area and district that offers all day kindergarten. This year it dropped half day and lowered cost of all day to simple student fees. That was a nice change since I have one in kindergarten and one joining next year. I have multiple students in this school and it has been a decent school until this year. There have been many "accidents" this year involving students and they don't get handled the same each time, it seems to be on preference of the household income. Which they require at the beginning of every year. If I could find a better school that had the before and after that is also opened all summer long and all but the major holidays I would consider changing schools, I fear that it is only getting worse and many of the better teachers and staff have left for better schools. I would not recommend this school to anyone and am actively looking for a better school for my children. This school is under staffed and you can tell by the way children behave and hurt others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2013

Terrible school now, a pitty it once was a better place for kids to learn. Do not bother complaining, admin will open de door for you and your kid to leave. What a waste of tax payers' money...Pick up/drop off, terrible. Teachers' quality, not too good either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2013

This school is very poorly run and managed. It has some great teachers. Proceed with caution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2013

Not happy here at all. The teachers seem more interested in tattling on children, theres rules that are only followed by people that speak english, everyone else can do as the please, the drop off pick up procedure is utter chaos. One of my daughters is falling further and further behind in reading, and the school just says to "read at home more" because the 45 mins a night that we already read together to help her is not enough.... OVERALL - bad pick up and drop off procedures - principal screams at parents during drop off and pick up - Rules that only apply to english speaking parents - Do not offer reading help to kids that need it We have been there for 2 years now and its only gotten worse... I do not recommend this school .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

LOVE this school! I have two children who go to Pinnacle and next year I will have another one. Teachers are great. Nice campus and library.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2011

I am very happy with this school. My sons first year here was in 1st grade he needs extra help to learn. I am so amazed of all the help that the school started to offer including teacher, other teachers and principal. It is not true that they refuse to help because I didn't even ask for the extra help and they started doing everything they could to help him catch up! My son seemed to be failing. Thanks to their help my son got better grades and he got to go on to be in 2nd grade! Pinnacle really cares about their students. Its a great school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2011

I had to pull my son from this school since they refused to help with his special needs. He was failing yet there was no extra help offered. My daughter graduated from here and it seemed to work great for kids that do not need any extra help with learning. I put my son in public school and he was instantly given a 504 plan and the extra help that he so needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

I love this school. There learning techniques are great. My daughter is in 2nd grade and was already reading full chapter books in 1st grade. We have never had a teacher that we didnt like and my daughter didnt get along with. I volunteer once a week since she started there i really enjoy spending time and seeing the children grow...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2010

This school was great as long as my son was "mainstream" but as soon as he needed extra help due to illness that caused excessive absences he was pushed away. I was never given anything extra that my son needed to learn in part because the teachers were too new to anything not usual. I was upset that we had to remove him from his school from K-5th due to this but he is now in an online school that fits his needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2010

My two children attend Pinnacle. They have a team of teachers that are supporting their individual needs. They have made lots of friends and have a sense of care and safety when they are in school. They have homework each evening so I get a chance to see what they are learning each day. The projects they are asked to create are very enriching and helps to build a strong foundation of knowledge. I would recommend parents visit the school to learn more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

My Daughter attends this school and loves it. The teachers care and help more than anywhere I have ever run into. The school is all about the kids and their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

I like this school. My daughter is in kindergarten and she is already reading small books that they make in class. She is al so learning about the american flag and lots of other things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

This school has seen good turnaround. The teachers are very helpful overall and test scores are improving! I am hopeful of good things to continue in the future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2008

This school has a lack of effective leadership. Students are at a disadvantage, it is not a healthy learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

This school lacks patient teachers and the concept of modern teaching guidlines. I am disappointed in the administration for their lack of attention to detail and bypassing some more serious issues for minor issues. I hope next year we see more focus on why our children's test scores are so low instead of focus on fundraisers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
22%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
9%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
32%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Female54%
Male69%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligible72%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)56%
Proficient in English67%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant61%

Reading

All Students59%
Female60%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligible51%
Reduced lunch eligible72%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)49%
Proficient in English68%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%

Writing

All Students35%
Female39%
Male30%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic34%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)36%
Free lunch eligible32%
Reduced lunch eligible36%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch38%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities38%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)32%
Proficient in English37%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students56%
Female58%
Male54%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)51%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligible60%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)53%
Proficient in English55%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant56%

Reading

All Students52%
Female53%
Male51%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Free lunch eligible45%
Reduced lunch eligible75%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch54%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities53%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)40%
Proficient in English58%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant52%

Writing

All Students43%
Female42%
Male43%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)47%
Free lunch eligible37%
Reduced lunch eligible60%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch45%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities44%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)38%
Proficient in English44%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students54%
Female51%
Male59%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Free lunch eligible46%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities56%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)37%
Proficient in English59%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%

Reading

All Students62%
Female66%
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligible54%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)44%
Proficient in English68%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%

Science

All Students42%
Female33%
Male51%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic34%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Free lunch eligible35%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch56%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities42%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)19%
Proficient in English53%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant42%

Writing

All Students53%
Female63%
Male40%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)53%
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities55%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)43%
Proficient in English53%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 63% 32%
White 28% 56%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A41%
Male 50%N/A51%
Female 50%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1001 West 84th St
Federal Heights, CO 80206
Phone: (303) 450-3985

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Upper Room Christian Academy
Federal Heights, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT