Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

The Pinnacle Charter School High

Charter | 9-12 | 448 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 12, 2013

Excellent school. I am now a graduate student at Colorado School of Mines, thanks to the skill sets acquired while at The Pinnacle. Although the school may be small, the teaching quality is amazing.


Posted March 11, 2013

My children have been attending this school for two years now and they will not be returning the next year. The school offers no additional academic help for children who struggle nor do they offer a solution. There are middle school children surrounded by the younger children and there is so much inappropriate language that goes around but the staff does nothing about it even though they hear it. Academically speaking, my children have not advanced as they should. I would not recommend this school at all for any parent that is considering this school. There are far too many students (six 4th grade classrooms each with 30 children) for the staff and teachers to be able to give children the attention they need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

I started out at Pinnacle Charter School in kindergarten. The academics & teachers were amazing, even at that young of an age. I was there from the beginning when we started in the Pinnacle shopping center and moved to a remodeled King Soopers. Pinnacle was known for its academics & its competitve nature of having to test in to attend this prestigious school. I was always proud to say I attend the Pinnacle Charter School and had for over a decade, not very many people can say that. However, things started taking a turn for the worst. I was a student that was well known at the school and always was above average with my grades and very close to countless teachers, teachers that would confess their frustration with the school. Parents now send students to Pinnacle as a punishment, as if it was an alternative school, there are no longer tests to attend the school, the board is controlled by the administration, the discipline goes to extremes, teachers that have worked there for over 4 years up to 6 or more have resigned because of their frustration, and many more reasons. I hoped to be a 13 year student, but I could not take it anymore and switched schools my junior year.


Posted February 1, 2013

My daughter stared attending Pinnacle when she was in 3rd grade. She is now a senior, and has moved schools due to the lack of challenge in academics, and because of the lack of leadership and care from the staff. She sat in all her classes bored all day, even though they were honor classes. She endured bullying and the school became aware of the situation, and their solution was to keep her separated from the rest of the students and have her sit in the counselor's office all day. When the school was made aware of the fact that she was harming herself, the only course of action they took was to have her sign a contract saying she wouldn't harm herself. The school's academic program isn't challenging, the rules are ludicrous, and the most of the staff present themselves as rude, uncaring, and inexperienced. I would not recommend this school if a quality education or a quality environment are being sought out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2012

I'm a parent and volunteer at Pinnacle and have been for over ten years now. We've moved twice in that period of time but each time we first made sure that the Pinnacle bus operated in that neighborhood. I feel very strongly that Pinnacle is the right choice. I raised five sons in the schools and have worked in that environment (not pinnacle) over the years and (other than private schools) I'd choose Pinnacle over the other schools any day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2010

The Pinnacle Charter school, it is a Pinnacle of the all stars (teachers,students,principals,stuff) We love " The Pinnacle" ! Yesaulov family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2010

I have two children that graduated from The Pinnacle and three that are still attending. Our family has seen the school grow over the years. The school has been constant in providing an excellent academic program for our children 1st through 12th grade. They compete with the Frontier League in Football, Basketball, Soccer and Volleyball. They have a terrific art and drama program. Students are involved in the Key Club, Honor Society , and Student Council. I strongly encourage parents and students to tour the school and see the positive atmosphere and students that are truly learning each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

I'm currently attending my senior year at the pinnacle and this is my second year there. this school is very competitive when it comes to academics to the nearby schools, im proud to be graduating from this school. at the pinnacle they make it so easy to get into college from what past graduates have told. It is a small school but its a great atmosphere for learning. If you are intersted about your eduacation this school should be on your list.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 5, 2009

I'm currently going into my junior year at pinnacle. I have to say that this is a good school.Teachers care about students Disciplen is pretty good here. The only thing that i do not like about pinnacle is they dont offer many extra curricular activities. They have been trying to get us a brand new high school to be separated from the middle and elementry. They promised the class of '09 to have them graduate from there but nothing has happened. In my opinion if like to be stuck with only 300 other hig schoolers then go to pinnacle but if not then dont go here. Oh and also they have a very though dress code.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 5, 2009

I'm currently going into my junior year at pinnacle. I have to say that this is a good school.Teachers care about students Disciplen is pretty good here. The only thing that i do not like about pinnacle is they dont offer many extra curricular activities. They have been trying to get us a brand new high school to be separated from the middle and elementry. They promised the class of '09 to have them graduate from there but nothing has happened. In my opinion if like to be stuck with only 300 other hig schoolers then go to pinnacle but if not then dont go here. Oh and also they have a very though dress code.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 18, 2009

its a great school i have learned alot and the teachers always stay on task and are alot of fun
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2008

this school has great graduation requirements. and a bunch of friendly students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2007

There are very limited choices are far as classes go and fewer for extra curricular activities. Would not recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
35%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students24%
Female20%
Male28%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic16%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)45%
Free lunch eligible24%
Reduced lunch eligible14%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch27%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities25%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)4%
Proficient in English27%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant24%

Reading

All Students59%
Female60%
Male59%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligible46%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)23%
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%

Writing

All Students43%
Female41%
Male44%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic34%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Free lunch eligible34%
Reduced lunch eligible41%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch52%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities44%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)15%
Proficient in English48%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students23%
Female19%
Male29%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)26%
Free lunch eligible17%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch29%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities24%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)0%
Proficient in English23%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant23%

Reading

All Students69%
Female72%
Male64%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligible61%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)29%
Proficient in English70%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%

Science

All Students39%
Female34%
Male46%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Free lunch eligible24%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch47%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities40%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)0%
Proficient in English42%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant40%

Writing

All Students49%
Female56%
Male39%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)29%
Proficient in English48%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

93%

Average ACT score

18

Graduation rate

82%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 60% 32%
White 30% 56%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A41%
Male 42%N/A51%
Female 58%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1001 West 84th St
Federal Heights, CO 80206
Phone: (303) 450-3985

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Upper Room Christian Academy
Federal Heights, CO



Upper Room Christian Academy
Federal Heights, CO





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT