Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Imagine Charter School

Charter | PK-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 2, 2013

We have been at ICSF for more than 6 years now, and we've seen lots of change and growing pains. Some change has not been as welcomed as others by many parents, but most are for the benefit of the school and students. We've only had one teacher over the years that was not a good fit, but that teacher has moved on. Our other experiences have been positive and rewarding for our entire family. This is our last year in the preschool program and the first year it has really blossomed. This school year offers a new director for the preschool program as well as new teachers and for the first time ever, my preschooler is is coming home telling me what was done at school in exciting fashions. I was sad to see the Love and Logic program disappear for a few years from the school, but it seems to have returned without all the L&L media. Our oldest will be starting middle school soon and is already excited that many of the teachers know her by name and know many of her interests, showing us, as parents, that all the teachers care about all the students, not just those in their classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

We stumbled upon Imagine Firestone purely by chance. We toured the school and it had a welcoming environment from the moment you walk through the doors. Lots of smiles from various people and the front office staff is actually friendly (unlike most schools we have been in). My son had a heartbreaking start at another school within the district which prompted us to check out this school. After touring and visiting with staff, we transitioned him into this school. He is now thriving! He loves his classmates, his teacher is kind and the school still feels welcoming. We drive 30+ minutes everyday for my son to attend this school. There are struggles for the school such as not having any athletics for the middle school and the traffic around the school is terrible! I feel sorry for the new neighborhood that has to share the area with the school! It is manageable if you are willing to be patient dropping off and picking up your kid or if you park a few blocks away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

Imagine is a good school following core knowledge and fostering a culture of respect and dedication in their students. The teachers are dedicated and enthusiastic in their roles in guiding their students to succeed. Imagine needs a new principal for Imagine to excel. A principal who shows a dedication and interest in Imagine and its teachers/students/parents.


Posted May 29, 2013

Middle School is poorly run, preschool is glorified daycare. The school lacks adequate facilities to support what "real" schools can. There has not been a consistent teacher retention since it has opened (possibly 1 has continuously taught). Administration urges teachers to lie to parents about enrollment. When you read how Imagine teachers are giving the best resources to teach, it is a lie. Here is an idea, keep good teachers by getting some administrators who respect the staff, got there by their credentials and not being a "yes" person, and maybe the teachers will stay. I cannot comprehend why a small school needs 3 administrators. Only 32 percent of Imagine at Firestone s revenue is spent on instruction. The school s 2010 audit showed $1.3 million of its $4.3 million revenue going to instruction. The audit shows that Imagine at Firestone is paying its educational management provider Imagine, Inc. about 23.6 percent of its revenue, or $1 million, for the lease on its building and other equipment, and another 14.6 percent, or $625,000, for services.They need to spend more money in the classrooms


Posted March 22, 2013

Love this school, love the values, the teachers, the teaching style, they know how to bring out the best in our kids. Very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2013

I absolutely LOVE this school! My son is in third grade and this is his first year at Imagine. I love the curriculum and feel like my son is challenged and grouped for instruction appropriately based on his ability. The other think I love about Imagine is the sense of community/family. Teachers, Administrators, Students, Parents all seem to really come together and support the students at this school whether it be volunteering, fundraising, task forces for educational improvement, etc. My son loves his school and his teacher and is really thriving here! Great job Imagine!!! Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2013

Both of my boys have been going to Imagine since it started up and my oldest daughter transferred from Adams County schools this year. I have been so impressed by the school and the staff. My middle son has had excellent teachers every year, and that makes a huge difference in getting them excited to go to school. I tell everyone I know how much I love our school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2013

The teachers and staff take the time to get to know you personally. I am on a first name basis withe nearly every staff and faculty member. Others have mentioned the core knowledge but forget to mention the discipline that is integrated into the curriculum. I agree the first year was a rocky one, but the staff has made changes to better the school ever year. My only complaint is that the teachers' pay is low and this may cause some good teachers to look elsewhere. I think communication is excellent in my kids' grades; I can't speak for Pre-K and K.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2013

We have been at Imagine for 5 years and we have had a wonderful experience. The teachers are wonderful, my kids are receiving a wonderful education. I am always amazed at what they are learning, the Core Knowldege curriculum is excellent. I know they will be prepared and ahead of where they should be when the time comes to go to High School. The principal is wonderful, along with the other administrators. They are very responsive to any questions or concerns that may arise. I would highly recommend Imagine to anyone! I hope everyone keeps in mind that there are no prefect schools, every school has their of unique set of challenges!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2012

This year is our first experience with Imagine and I am not all that impressed. There is a definite lack of communication and I'm not sure my daughter is receiving the best education. She is in the preschool program and, although the teachers are nice, I'm not sure they are preparing her for kindergarten. She does enjoy going though and I am grateful for that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2012

I am very disappointed in the pre-K program at this school. The teacher seems to pick favorite students and is flat out not nice or warm/caring to other students. My son was top of his class last year in preschool and we never had a complaint, this year at Imagine the children are rewarded with stickers and he has only received 2 all year. The teacher has never confronted me on my child's behavior, and the 1 time I asked why he did not get a sticker I was told "his voice was too loud today"... he's 4 years old. Yesterday, I spoke with another mother of a little girl in his class and she told me the same experiences, we both felt that our children's spirits were being crushed at this school and we were going to start the process to move them to another program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

This is our school of choice for one simple reason - they sincerely care about the whole child. It's a great place for my kids and I look forward to keeping them all here through the eighth grade. My kids have definitely been challenged, but most importantly the teachers take time to get to know my kids and work with their individual learning styles. I'm always welcome as are grandparents and other families to come on site and see first hand what is happening in the classroom. I'm informed well of how my children are doing and communication is a top priority here. I can't IMAGINE taking my kids anywhere else for their schooling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

This is my child's 3rd year at Imagine and we are very happy with the education that she is receiving. We like Core Knowledge, as well as the ability grouping that we feel that it really helps the kids to make significant gains, whatever their ability. We have found the teachers to be helpful, caring and truly vested in thier students. We are always greeted warmly and love that the staff knows us personally. We would recommend Imagine to anyone who is looking to play an active role in their child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2011

We have been at this school for 2 years so far and I have been very happy with the school. I like the classical core knowledge, the character education, and that they do ability grouping for reading and math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2010

We are into our second year at Imagine. We have experience here in both elem. and middle school. Most all of our teacher experiences have been wonderful. Communication is awesome. We always know where our kids stand in their academic progress and we always feel encouraged to approach any of our teachers with a concern or issue. I find the front office staff to be informative, friendly and engaging. Both my children are athletic and I feel we have plenty of opportunity in our community to address those needs. We have not missed the "lack of electives". The quality education my 8th grader has received is more than worth it. My 8th grader will be very advanced upon transitioning into a main stream HS and ready for any honors/AP program. Those study habits and high expectations have already been established with the help of core knowledge and a great group of teachers. The students are held to a high standard of behavior and some of the nonsense you hear about at larger public schools is simply not tolerated. I have even felt it too strict at times, but the students adapt. Bottom line is, the bar is set high and the overwhelming majority of students will strive to meet it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2010

I have very mixed feelings about this school. My child was in Kindergarten here, and there was absolutely 0 communication. He was never sent home with newsletters and I never got emails, etc, so I did not have any idea what was going on in the classroom. Homework abruptly stopped without warning. When I asked why, it was because the teacher was "testing" and "didn't have time" to assign and grade the work. My son also was supposed to receive speech therapy here and the teacher and receptionists never got their acts together enough to enroll him in it. The receptionists up front are unhelpful and can't answer the simplest of questions regarding the school. (When I asked if this was trivium school, they could not answer.) I am so disappointed because I was hoping to have my child in a core knowledge school. But this one just isn't very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2009

This is an amazing school, even though the first year was a little rocky. I have seen an amazing change in the way my children learn and act. The morals and respect that is taught and shown at this school is better than any school that I have seen. The teachers and parents, of Imagine, actually care about students and their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2009

My daughter attended Kindergarten & 1st grade at Imagine and I am impressed with this school. I would say it's definitely the best school in Firestone and we have experienced them all. This school school does ability grouping which has done wonders for my daughter, she is in the higher ability groups and it helps not having to wait for her classmates catch up to something she might already have learned. It also helps with the slower kids, since there is low, average, and high ability groups - they are tested at the beginning of the year so see where they stand. Great system, challenges your child to his/her ability, and fantastic teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female69%
Male73%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%

Reading

All Students81%
Female84%
Male78%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%

Writing

All Students59%
Female69%
Male51%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female91%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Reading

All Students81%
Female100%
Male65%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%

Writing

All Students68%
Female94%
Male47%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English68%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female78%
Male64%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%

Reading

All Students83%
Female92%
Male73%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%

Science

All Students63%
Female62%
Male64%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant63%

Writing

All Students74%
Female84%
Male64%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female76%
Male35%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant63%

Reading

All Students84%
Female91%
Male71%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Writing

All Students67%
Female79%
Male41%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English67%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female50%
Male78%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English65%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%

Reading

All Students77%
Female81%
Male74%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%

Writing

All Students62%
Female62%
Male63%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English65%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
Female47%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch56%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities56%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English56%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant53%

Reading

All Students64%
Female74%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English67%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%

Science

All Students49%
Female53%
Male46%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch49%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities54%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English51%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant49%

Writing

All Students55%
Female68%
Male47%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch54%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English58%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 56%
Hispanic 13% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A41%
Male 50%N/A51%
Female 50%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5753 Twilight Ave
Firestone, CO 80504
Phone: (303) 772-3711

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Carbon Valley Academy
Frederick, CO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT