Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Florence, CO
Students enrolled: 501

3 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Florence High School 1

Posted January 20, 2013
- a student
This High school needs to stick to one curriculum because it switches pretty often and now, the Honors English Freshmen are being taught things they've already learned in second grade (as an example). My brother was not going to be able to catch up with his credits, this year, because they switched from four blocks to seven period classes, so he had to take online classes, which have done him more good than the actual school. I have no doubt that we students will not at all be prepared for college. Aside from that, the school is falling apart. the back half is sliding down the hill, causing damage to the sports fields.

Florence High School 1

Posted November 24, 2011
- a student
I graduated from this school then went to a big four year university and I wasn't prepared at all. I don't think I learned hardly anything all four years here. Almost all the time here was wasted either trying to get the kids under control or doing pointless busy work that just killed time. I honestly don't think the students or teachers really take education seriously because most of these kids won't ever go on to graduate from large universities.


Florence High School 2

Posted September 29, 2010
- a student
A great school if getting a high school diploma is your only goal. However, do not expect your children to be prepared to attend a four year university. Honors, IB,or AP classes are not offered, and students are not challenged by the curriculum offered, especially in the sciences. Teachers will do whatever it takes to help students graduate even if it is not merited. Overall, FHS is a great place for those who seek an easy diploma, but for those who dream bigger for themselves or their children I would suggest looking into other options. Even if it involves attending a school further away.

Florence High School 1

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
School is only 4 yrs old and falling apart. They put rugs over the large cracks in the floors and you can see through the cracks in the walls right to the outside. There are a few exceptions but teachers dont seem to go the extra effort for the kids. Poor acedemics. Success in sports are due to talent of kids and not the quality or effectivness of the coaches. Would not recomend Florence to any family coming into the area. the scholl generally disregards parent invovlemnt except when it helps them reduce workload.

Florence High School 1

Posted January 20, 2009
- a student
Kids at Florence high, grow up together. So, if your moving here from a diffren town and are going to go to Florence. I recomened not going. They are very self centered around the friends that they already have, and are not easy to make friends with. Try going To The Canon City high school. Its not too far away, and they kids there are alot nicer.


Florence High School 5

Posted November 06, 2008
- a student
This school is an amzing school. It's a wonderful inviroment for us to learn in. Had great teachers, trcak & field, sports programs. Beautiful campus. Lots of extra programs like welding, wood work, farm, cooking & more. Plus, it's great location makes scholling a good inviorment. With winning school teams such as our Champs The Huskies! GO BIG DOGS! The school spirit is good aswell. This is a wonderful school for anyone to attend.

Florence High School 1

Posted July 29, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Florence High School 1

Posted July 25, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Florence High School 5

Posted January 19, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Florence High School 1

Posted January 11, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Florence High School
2006 State Hwy 67, Florence, CO  81226
(719) 784-6414
Last modified Florence High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Florence High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top