Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mountainside Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

Mountainside School has a principal, who talks a good game, but does not follow through on promises. Standardized test scores are not impressive. My child is not happy there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2012

Mountainside is an awesome school. They have a wonderful staff and supportive teachers. Mrs. Zupans, the principal is very approachable and is usually on the school lobby to greet the children in the morning when school starts. They have a lot of great after school clubs for grades 3-5. Not only that, but they bring in the Missoula Children's Theatre where my son has participated each year they visited. Academically,they have ALP for children who is advanced and needs to be challenged; they also have the Gifted Children program that guides the development of gifted learners. We will miss Mountainside. Thank you for all the good times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2012

We moved to Mountainside with kids ahead of their grade levels and have been pleased with the way their teachers have been able to challenge them. We've been given challenge work in lieu of regular work to keep our kids still moving ahead, as well as their teachers making sure they remain interested. Plenty of after school options for the older grades (3-5), math, spelling, reading, science clubs, plus art, basketball, etc. Our children's teachers have been outstanding in communicating with us and helping our children adapt to a mid-year move. In terms of other "complaints", it is common knowledge that FFC-D8 only offers free half day kindergarten and must be paid for if you want full-day. Complaining that you did not pay your bill for an optional program is not a reflection of the school or its quality. The rates for military families are excessively reasonable for a full-day kindergarten with great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

I have 3 children that go to this school. Me and my children personally dislike the school and how they treat the children. We are a lower income family and my son was attending full day kindergarten because i felt he needed more than a half day because he has a learning disability, when i was unable to make the payment for him to stay in kindergarten they immediately moved him back to half day not even caring that he was doing better in the full day. They would not work on a payment plan with me. They were very rude! I am counting down the days until i move away from the district...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2010

I've had nothing but great experiences dealing with the staff at Mountainside for my autistic son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2009

My daughter really really really loves this school. She goes to it everyday with a smile on her face!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2009

My son attends Mountainside Elementary School. We are somewhat new to Colorado and after coming from Virginia I find the level of education here to be somewhat subpar. They seem to be more concern with what the kids are eating and drinking in there packed lunches than the level of education that they are providing. My son has had a very had time adjusting to this school and He complains every morning for the last two months about going to this school. I hope to see some changes in the next three years we are stationed here in the way this school goes about it's leaning process.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2008

Unorganized, poor communication between school and parents...My daugthers have been there for 2 months and is the worst school they have been.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2008

They are a very unorganized school that wait till the last minute to notify parents as to what is happening in the school then they say the we the parents aren't responsible when even report cards are given out this month but the parent/teacher conferences don't happen until the following month I have never heard of such a thing. I think they need to be more concern for the students well being and what can be done to help them excel in school instead of what is best and more comfortable for the staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

I am proud to say that i went to Mountainside elementary when I was a child. I am now in college and still go back to volunteer so that way I can get experience so that one day I too am able to become a teacher and hopefully teach my students as well as I have been taught.


Posted July 28, 2007

Fort Carson, Colorado schools are some of the finest schools my children have ever been too. There is not one bad thing I can say about their schools. The teachers are excellent and the staff is great as well. Our kids got good grades and made lots of nice friends. Some parents didn't appreciate the schools for some unknown reason, but there are people who are rude like that. My children miss living in Colorado and the schools that they attended and the teachers they had. Thank you to all the teachers and staff at Fort carson schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

Most teachers have a Masters and experience. The leadership is too focused on CSAP not lifelong learning and it seems too structured and not allowing teachers to 'teach'. They don't teach enough science and social studies/world/current events. Parent involvement is difficult since most of us are living without a spouse as they are deployed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2006

The school was unhelpful with my daughters special needs. They did not offer help and ignored the advice from her counselor. They did not offer an IEP which would have helped my daughter get the education she had a right to. The class size was 24+/- to 1 teacher. The management is less than helpful. They leave the parents to figure-things-out on their own without any help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2006

This school is way too 'CSAP based'. The teachers teach for the test, thats it. Parent involvement is good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2006

Great new school. Teachers are very nice. Very cool playground. Has a small area to drop off and pick up children though!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female66%
Male62%
Black (not Hispanic)56%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligible64%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English64%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%

Reading

All Students80%
Female77%
Male85%
Black (not Hispanic)75%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligible77%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant80%

Writing

All Students58%
Female66%
Male47%
Black (not Hispanic)56%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Free lunch eligible61%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female74%
Male76%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligible73%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Reading

All Students69%
Female70%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Free lunch eligible64%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%

Writing

All Students64%
Female74%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English64%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female57%
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English65%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant63%

Reading

All Students63%
Female64%
Male61%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English64%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%

Science

All Students53%
Female54%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch45%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities55%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English55%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%

Writing

All Students39%
Female54%
Male25%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)39%
Free lunch eligible24%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch50%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities46%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English40%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 56%
Hispanic 19% 32%
Black 12% 5%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5506 Harr Ave
Fort Carson, CO 80902
Phone: (719) 382-1430

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Pinon Valley Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Abrams Elementary School
Fort Carson, CO


Otero Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO




Weikel Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT