Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Rivendell School of Northern Colorado

Private | PK-6 | 150 students

Individualized instruction in multi-age classes

 

Living in Fort Collins

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $227,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted April 30, 2012

Rivendell communicates closely with the public school system in order to assure our students preparedness for middle and high school. Placement tests are administered as well as standardized tests. Parents are given all information and test results for their children. The feedback from the public schools is that our students are well prepared, and better still, personally invested in their educations.

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 2, 2014

Love it love it love it! A recent move to the area brought us to Rivendell and it has been a life-changer for my kids. Small, intimate classes with really smart, caring teachers was just the beginning. The program philosophy of "individualized academic education" allows a child to pursue each subject at a pace that is appropriate to their development instead of trying to shoe-horn all of the kids through the curriculum at the same speed. Kids gain confidence because they are not comparing themselves to others and master a subject before moving on. The program fosters creativity and tolerance. A reasonable price for private education in any case and worth EVERY penny when your kid comes home and says "I love it here!"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2013

Rivendell is an amazing school. The teachers are highly qualified. The ratio of students per teacher is very low...which means much more care, encouragement and academic success! The results from the annual Iowa Tests prove it! Love Rivendell School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

Rivendell is about mastery-based learning. Giving a grade, good or bad, and moving on to the next topic is not an effective way to determine if a student has mastered the content. With the individualized curriculum offered at Rivendell, each student is moving forward at his/her own pace, and so the teachers have really committed to understanding each student and his/her needs. Grading is not necessary when students have frequent one-on-one check-ins with the teacher and various forms of feedback that all contribute to the student having opportunities to truly master the content at hand. Teachers do not assign letter grades, but students do get their work evaluated frequently and thoroughly. Feedback in the learning process is much more effective than a grade. Opportunities to revisit material are more effective than a low grade or being forced to move to the next topic when a student might not be ready. Rivendell not only has a philosophy of individualized education, but they also have a structure in place to offer it. The school is deeply committed to the philosophy of individualized education, and one can see evidence of it in all aspects of the students' learning experiences.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 17, 2013

Yes it is a private school, yes it is expensive and yes it is so completely worth it. My son had already done a private KG the year before he started at Rivendell. He was a year early (started at 4 in KG) and public schools were not going to take him in 1st grade because of age limits (he was too young). I had already been through what happens when he is in a class where he is not challenged enough and was not about to embark on this nightmare again, so Rivendell was the best option for us since it is a completely individualized program. I was skeptical about it until I actually observed it in the classroom. The school is extremely well organized, the teachers are very dedicated and competent and there is very low turnover because everybody loves it there. They also have spanish and german, music, computer science, art and PE. There is a real dialogue between staff and parents (and kids), you work as a team. Class sizes are small, they had 13 kids at the beginning of the year and ended with 16 in my son's class after a few joined mid-year. Kids love this school to and there is a real feeling of community. Don't hesitate if you have your eyes on this school, you won't regret.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2013

Rivendell is a wonderful place for children to be nurtured with a well-rounded education. They are treated with respect by a multi-talented group of educators who deliver a first-rate individualized education. While every child has unique needs, Rivendell is THE place for my child. Very happy there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2012

WRONG to the last entry. Rivendell does NOT grade assignments. Ask the staff before you enroll.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2012

I am a proud Rivendell parent, and have never seen a teacher NOT provide grades and feedback on anything that our children work on at school. It is important to remember that you can stimulate the minds of our youth but motivation is intrinsic. I think that some parents spend money at a private school, and they might have unrealistic expectations from the educators. I m very pleased with this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2012

This school is not worth the money. They do have an excellent student/teacher ratio and the curriculum is loaded with extras, like German and Spanish, but your child will learn very little of these languages. The basics (math, reading and writing) are mostly self paced or done independently, and NEVER graded, Be careful about this school. It is no better, and sometimes worse, than the public schools in Fort Collins.


Posted April 27, 2012

As with any school regardless of Public or Private, it starts with good management (The Principal), and that sets the tone for the culture, and quality of the teachers and learning environment... We have two kids at Rivendell, and if you are looking for the best of the best and can afford the cost of sending your children to a Private school, such as Rivendell, you will be providing your children with the academic foundation they certainly deserve... Rivendell has always kept us informed and been very candid about any behavioral or motivational issues with our children, and we as parents have the responsibility to deal with that... It's our job to be parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2012

We have our oldest Son in Rivendell and couldn't be happier with the quality of the education and the wonderful learning environment. Trust me, we spent a great deal of time researching and interviewing the large number of schools in the Fort Collins area. Although there are some good public schools to choose from... Rivendell provides the quality that we were looking for in a private school. The foundation years are so critically important and the staff of seasoned educators at Rivendell met all of our requirements. In fact, all of the Iowa test scores are well above the Standard State scores and kids are more than prepared to handle the testing requirements in the public school system. No worries for those parents having concerns about the test scores. All of the results are also posted on the school's website from 2007 to 2011. We are planning to send our youngest Son to Rivendell as well starting next year. It is well worth the investment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2012

If you're looking at this school, ask alot of questions and read between the lines when you receive the answers. The limited testing the school does will not benefit your child when they move into a middle school that requires regular testing. Their IOWA test scores aren't made available for a reason and you need to ask for the results and then UNDERSTAND them.. This little school was a local gem for many years, but hasn't been treated with the love and care to keep it flourishing. There are still a few really good teachers here, but they're slowly leaving for greener pastures. With the plethora of great local schools consider your options carefully.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2009

All three of my daughters have attended Rivendell and we are delighted with the results. Rivendell's individualized educational approach helps each child stay challenged and achieve mastery across all subjects. Rivendell students are engaged in their education, confident in their abilities, and extremely well-prepared for a lifetime of learning. Hands down Rivendell is the best pre-school through elementary school in northern Colorado. This school is definitely worth checking out before you choose a school for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2009

My daughter started first grade after chemo therapy, bald and shy. We wanted a school with smaller class sizes and one which focussed on love of learning. Frankly, we also wanted a nurturing environment. This kid had been through enough! She has thrived socially and scholastically. My parents were teachers. Three of five kids in my family, myself included, are teachers or have been teachers, in public and private schools. The teachers at Rivendell are exceptional, and the inclusive educational environment has made a significant difference to me as a parent, and to my daughter. We love this school, and are grateful to have found it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2009

Our four children have been educated at wonderful public, private and parochial schools in various areas of the country and in Canada. I wish my three oldest would have had the opportunity to attend Rivendell! This school is a shining example of what school should be: challenging, culturally diverse, tolerent, and loving. The children work their brains, their bodies, and their imaginations in an environment that encourages success and self-reliance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2009

Rivendell is an incredible school. All three of our children attend Rivendell. The quality and commitment of the teachers and staff is second to none. Rivendell provides a truly individualized education environment, ensuring excellence in academics as well as ensuring each student is well rounded by offering foreign languages, physical education, art, and music. I would never send my kids anywhere else. They absolutely love this school and so do we.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2008

I'm going to echo this year's sixth graders and say that if you send your kid to Rivendell, you are awesome. Here, things are never too easy or too hard. You set your goal and work as hard as you want to get there. At normal schools, there's no incentive to work any more than you have to. The Spanish and German instruction is also great, and has been a huge advangate for me in the IB program.And the art class is fun. Really, there aren't may schools that could be better than this.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2008

Rivendell is the best! The individualized learning is wonderful, and each and every staff member at the school knows my daughter's name- try getting that at a public school! The before and after school care is also excellent. Highly recommended, and well worth the price!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

Wonderful, caring staff. Great student:teacher ratios. Family-like atmosphere. Student-centered learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2006

An incredible private institution. Kids are grouped by age for social reasons but progress at an independent pace. Classes max out at 20 students per teacher. With all the individual attention it is amazing what they learn, at the depth they learn it and how much fun they have learning it! The principal and staff are so incredibly caring and dedicated. The 'love and Logic' principles guide discipline and consequenses. The kids can't wait to go to school and always want to stay late! Every child who has applied to an IB program from this school has been accepted, an unheard of precedent. This truly is a most incredible place. Go meet the principal Kate and check it out for yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 56%
Two or more races 10% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
Hispanic 4% 32%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • ClimateWise (2012)
  • Pennies for Peace (2009)
  • Sustainable Schools International (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Non-English speakers are welcom
Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Yoga club

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:20 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mary Nichols
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • private, secular
Fax number
  • (970) 493-9056

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Montessori
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Non-English speakers are welcom
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Poudre School District
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Gymnastics
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Gymnastics
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Odyssey of the Mind
  • Yearbook
  • Yoga club
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Rivendell School is the oldest, secular school in Fort Collins. Founded in 1976, it has a rich tradition of individualized education. Student are very successful after leaving and love to return after graduation to visit teachers and see facility updates. The most recent project is creating a natural area on the expansive playground. This involves removing asphalt and creating a variety of areas to spark the imaginations of children at play. There is very little turnover among faculty.
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
104
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
104

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$7000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Poudre School District
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1800 E Prospect Rd
Fort Collins, CO 80525
Website: Click here
Phone: (970) 493-9052

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Laurel Elementary School
Fort Collins, CO


Psd Global Academy
Fort Collins, CO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT